Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
Probably the best film ever to come out of Australia!
Further to the previous review, this film is a road movie meets feel good movie with comedy and issues thrown in. The casting is inspired, (when I saw that Guy Pierce of Neighbours was in it as a drag queen......well!), but he steals the show as the bitchy Felicia. Terence Stamp as the transexual Bernadette and...
Published on 10 July 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable film
A good evenings entertainment but I would have liked more of a story line. Acting performances by the three 'Queens' were good though. Not as funny as I 'd expected.
Published 6 months ago by Sandra


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 10 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Probably the best film ever to come out of Australia!
Further to the previous review, this film is a road movie meets feel good movie with comedy and issues thrown in. The casting is inspired, (when I saw that Guy Pierce of Neighbours was in it as a drag queen......well!), but he steals the show as the bitchy Felicia. Terence Stamp as the transexual Bernadette and Hugo Weaving, (Agent Smith - Matrix & Elrond - Lord of the Rings), are also both excellent!
You don't have to be "that way inclined" to enjoy this movie. I'm as straight as they come and I enjoyed every minute. If you're feeling down - watch this film, it'll pick you up in no time.
Don't delay, buy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camp as a row of tents, 1 Mar 2006
By 
Tealady2000 (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film that will make you laugh out loud but still bring a lump to your throat. Three drag queens set out from Sydney in a bus called Priscilla to do a show in the outback - but this is much more than your average road movie. The performances are first rate, the bitchiness is unsurpassed and the cinematography is absolutely superb - it's as if the vibrant colours of the Australian outback were custom made as a backdrop for the garish costumes and make-up of our heroes. And for any Lord of the Rings fans it is worth watching this movie simply to see Hugo Weaving (Elrond) singing 'Never Been to Me'. Glorious stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two drag queens and a transsexual...., 21 Feb 2000
By 
Two drag queens and a transsexual set out in a bus named Prescilla, to cross Australia in the name of entertainment. On the way they paint the bus lavender, meet some very interesting characters who greet them with hilarity, hostility and/or comprehension, Priscilla breaks down, and they dress up in some outrageous frocks (including one made out of hundreds of pairs of flip-flops). Visually it is a treat, with the deliciously feathered and sequinned girls looking all the more outrageously over-the-top against the backdrop of the breath-taking Australian outback landscapes.
All this combined with an excellent soundtrack featuring some top disco tunes from ABBA, The Village People, Charlene, Gloria Gaynor and Ce Ce Peniston, and some excellent acting from Terence Stamp, ina ground-breaking role as Bernadette, the transexual, and Guy Pearce (better known as Mike from Neighbours) as a bronzed muscular drag queen makes for an extremely colourful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is that really agent smith?!?, 11 Nov 2003
By A Customer
Wow. Utterley superb! Watching the Hugo Weaving in a dress when I had become accustomed to seeing him in a black suit and sunglasses was an amusing contrast. Not that his character didn't have it's serious moments. He's a great agent, but he's also a great drag queen! He deserves a special pat on the back for his efforts in this film. Brilliant stuff!
This is the story is 3 Aussie drag queens heading to Alice Springs for a show. Their transport? A school bus named Priscilla. The music? Abba, "I will survive!", and other sing-a-longs. Things don't quite go to plan, however, and mishaps inevitably happen.
On the surface, this is a genuinly amusing comedy. "Just shut up and eat your hormones!" but it also deals with a sensitive topic,-acceptance of something different. The viewer will find pity for each "girl" due to the way they are sometimes treated and what they have to put up with. They give as good as they get, though, and that's what keeps us laughing.
The actors really appear to enjoy their parts (and look rather comfortable in stilletos!) Watching Bernadette and Felicia arguing while Mitzi dances around in the background kept me lauging for a while. It's great to see well established actors who can take on an entirely different roll and flourish in it. It may have been made nearly 10 years ago, but Priscilla's humour is still up to date and classic. An excellent, sensitive and moving film. A favourite on my DVD shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best queer movie ever - but not just for gays, 10 Aug 2005
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this wonderful movie years ago and yesterday I got a s gift the DVD. I loved it then and I loved it now.
The plot is fairly easy: Two drag queens and a transsexual get a cabaret gig in the middle of the desert and travel from Sydney to Alice Spring. On their journey they collide with small town citizens, aborigines and tourists.
Is this just one of these a typical gay movies? Gays in drag and a lot of hilarious scenes? Yes and NO at the same time.
Yes because you have all these stereotypes and typical hilarious scene. First one thinks that is properly all. But as the bus tour gets under way and the 3 guys travel through the desert one gets to learn more and more about them, learns about the past, their experiences as gays and drag queens, their hopes, their traumas. Steps by step one learns that under all the make-up, mascarra and fake coolness that are presented to the out-side world one finds nice and decent guys.
Maybe all this is portrait in such a great way because the three principal actors are straight, but are able to create sympathetic gays with characters
Hugo Weaving (better known for his part as Agent Smith in the "Matrix" movies and "The Lord of the Rings") plays the most "straight" part, Tick, who has a ex-wife and a little son. A father in drag? His fear how the son would react to it. Great acting when he had to confront his fears, his son and ..... no watch it how it is solved.
Guy Pearce as Adam is the most "gay" in the sense of being the most outrageous. He portraits the most of the well known clichès. But he is able to bring enormous depth and insight into his part.
My favorite is nevertheless Terence Stamp (yes, I do mean HIM!) as the transsexual Bernadette. Dignity, a great sense of humor, depth of experience and hurt, but strong come mind seeing his acting - absolutely believable. His love story with a mechanic is wonderfully touching!
and above all: great songs and music.
I loved particuarly the scene with the aborigines.
All your senses will be touched.
5 stars are simply not enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 7 May 2006
By 
RM Brown "rachmarie1611" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic film that everyone should watch! This is a classic film which will make you laugh out loud and cry. It has some great heart-warming scenes and makes you see things in a different light. The outfits are outrageous and fabulous and the three main actors are brilliant in their roles. With a fabulous soundtrack which will get you humming along, this film should not be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top film already, 24 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Although we are eagerly awaiting the release of the DVD of this movie, it has to be said that Hugo, Terence and chums excel themselves in this earthy,capitivating and witty tale of three transvestites travelling through the Outback in order to perform for an ex-wife! The eponymous Priscilla is a large (pink) coach containing a wardrobe fuller than that of the late Diana,Princess of Wales. We love it and have idled away several hours trying to imagine the outrageousness of the outakes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bus they name Priscilla, 23 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
There was a real trend in the mid nineties with films like "The Birdcage," "Too Wong Foo," "Its my Party," and "Love! Valor! Compassion!" exploding onto the screen as America began to feel more at ease with its gay brothers and sisters. And as we watched these movies, a whole `Gay Comic Genre' was really born. Also we can't forget about the popularity of gay stand up at that same time.

"Priscilla" did indeed avail itself of this trend, and every gay humor trick in the book. It also managed to slip us some really amazing visual, comic and compassionate moments. Except for rabid, card-carrying homophobes, this Australian road-movie-with-a-difference is a charmer. The three are: aging transsexual Bernadette (Terence Stamp), youngish occasional bisexual Tick or Mitzi (Hugo Weaving) and gay-all-the way Adam or Felicia (Guy Pearce), the youngest.

The trio's specialty is to appear on-stage dressed in the most outrageous, garish, feathery female outfits, undulate and sort of dance while lip-synching to 1970s disco songs, from ABBA to whatever comes close to Z. They do their lavish karaoke excellently, and the musical selections are a constant treat. Bernadette is the wisest and quietest of the three, and most serious --she hardly ever cracks a smile. Mitzi is a bit mercurial, sometimes solemn, and sometimes buoyant. Felicia, the wildest of the bunch, is full of animal spirits, a prankster who gets often on the others' nerves. But still, there is essential harmony among those divergent types.

Remarkably, their characters, with all the flamboyance, misadventures, mean hearted blokes, and desert creatures (not to mention some very musical Aborigine) kept them admirably cool, show quiet tenacity and retain their sense of humor, so that no matter what the circumstances, there is never panic or hysteria. In a peculiar way, this steadiness blends in well with the beautiful, barren landscapes which often take on a surreal look. This is an entertaining and touching movie. Recommended to anyone with a great sense of humor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragtastic, 26 Jan 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film for those of you who love high drama and lots of dancing. Guy Pearce (Mike from neighbours) puts in a brilliant performance as do the rest of the cast. There are lots of funny moments and the outtakes extra is ace. I recommned this to anyone who has or hasn't seen the film before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A many layered joy..., 6 April 2009
By 
Mrs. M. E. Collings "Amazon Junkie" (Isle of Lewis, Western Isles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Immaculate performances from Terence Stamp, Hugo Weaving and Guy Pearce (who is disarmingly beautiful as a 'lady'). This film is funny, sad, entertaining, thought provoking and a must-see.

It's one that we watch over and over again so add it to your collection. I promise you won't be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) [DVD]
2.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews