Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars49
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
43
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2014
When Daphne is given the opportunity to design clothes for a Hawaiian company, the entire gang dcides to go along with her. As they are leaving for their destination a man warns them that there are evil spirits on the island but most of the gang is doubtful, but Shaggy and Scooby are no so sure. When they arrive in Hanahuna they are excited to watch the Big Kahuna Surfing Contest which local Manu Tuiama had won previously. The Mayor of the area ( voiced by Teri Carr ) welcomes everyone including mainlanders to the Surfing Contest but this angers the Wiki Tiki spirit and starts the nearby volcano grumbling. The gang and everyone still in the area are threatened by little Tiki demons and the much bigger Wiki Tiki. who kidnaps a local teenager.

The long list of suspects includes a sleazy real estate agent, an overambitious mayor, Manu Tuiama , and an eccentric holiday rep.

Includes the normal voice cast for the gang plus people like Don Ho ( Hawaii "goodwill ambassador" ), Dick Dale ( "King of Surf Guitar" ) and Adam West a.k.a. Batman.
.
A very enjoyable film with the usual comic entertainment. The cartoon is beautifully animated even if the story is a little weak. Yes it is much like the 1970 episode, A Tiki Scare Is No Fair, but who cares its fun.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
Another good film from the Scooby Doo Stable. My 7 year old grandson was a bit unsure about the small wiki tikis at first, so perhaps not for the youngest viewers, but he soon got used to them and now wants to have his own, (of course, they turn out to be small robots in true Scooby film style)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
My youngest (5 next week) loves Scooby Doo and this is amongst his favourite Scooby films. It has everything you'd expect from a Scooby film, lots of laughs, some outrageous characters and the gang solving the mystery at the end.

As a parent I also love the questions that this film has caused my son to ask, such as "Why do they only want the islanders to be in the competition?" or "Why does the smoke mean they are scared of the volcano?" ... he's been watching this film for years and this is a replacement copy so it was prior to the recent news items. However it did mean when they discussed the recent eruption at school he was fully armed with a range of knowledge on volcanos!

Well worth (repeatedly) watching and a bargain price.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
this is a great film that is enjoyed by both my 7 year old and 5 year old
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Since Warner revamped the Scooby-Doo franchise in 1998, the feature length mysteries have been inconsistent. The first few had real monsters, with no rubber masks, but far too many disgustingly PC mommies in America complained and the Brothers Warner folded and went back to the "guy in a suit to scare away the locals" stories. A shame.

What a surprise then that Scooby's 2005 adventure is actually quite good, despite its PC shortcomings. This time around the Mystery Inc. gang are in Hawaii, catching some rays and relaxation. Typically, this is the exact moment the local volcano starts brewing over and a big monster called the Wiki-Tiki rears its ugly head, scaring away all of the surfers from the Hanahuna resort and kidnapping a local babe. If you are incredibly sad, like me, you will realize this is a little too much like the 1970 episode, A Tiki Scare Is No Fair.

The usual long list of suspects includes a sleazy real estate agent, an ambitious mayor, and an eccentric holiday rep (Adam West). And just as soon as their mystery-solving begins, the real culprit is immediately noticeable. It's a poorly written whodunit, but what saves it are crazy set pieces and a varied atmosphere, which keep the mystery interesting, if obvious. Or, at least, obvious to a 30-year-old. It may well come as a surprise to an eight-year-old.

Locations, such as the beach, the deep jungle, the catacombs, and Auntie Mahina's cabin, are beautifully animated. The best thing about the modern Scooby is that production values are a zillion times what the original 1969 series was. Aloha, Scooby-Doo looks incredibly slick and the eye-popping color schemes would keep you interested no matter how poor the mystery was.

One could accuse the film of being slightly stereotypical in regards to its Hawaiian setting. But it's no worse than the unrealistic Scotland seen in 2004's Scooby-Doo And The Loch Ness Monster.

I was also surprised at how little of it actually relies on Scooby (voiced by Frank Welker, who also does Fred). He barely gets a chance to do his thing. Most of the laughs come from the rest of the gang. But, as it is, Aloha, Scooby-Doo is still loads of fun and proves that while the story quality of modern Scoobys remains inconsistent, the animation just gets better and better.

The Blu Ray features a lovely 1.78:1 1080p picture bursting with colors that pop off the screen and a decent DTS HD-MA soundtrack. Extras are minimal and are in standard definition.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2006
I loved Scooby Doo when I was a kid I was always so disappointed when I missed an episode! The new Scooby Doo with Daphane as smart as Velma is just as good as the old series! My daughter (4) loves this and I had fun watching it too! Set in Hawaii with its Tiki mystic makes for a nice exotic adventure - makes you want to go there too!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
All I can say is that this is another great Scooby feature length film., Me and my 6yr old love them..as I did when I was a kid !!! Great condition for a used copy too, so highly recommend this seller too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Kept the children glued to the TV while I got on with clearing up all the mess that they had made! What more can you ask?! Enjoyable enough that they watched it several times since!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
What else can I say other than if you have never watched scooby doo you dont know anything good. Frank welker is amazing and not recognised enough for his amazing voice talents
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
The kids will love this one, the length is very good and I paid a great price for it. grand children love it, keeps them quiet for ages, and you get a lot of scooby dooby doo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse