Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I dont know what your talking about
This album is the best hip hop album of 2005 (so far) without a doubt. This definately shows a madlib who is no longer listening and samplin one style of music. the jazz roots are still buried within this album however there are alot more musical styles thrown into the bag. the tracks are alot more funkier than that of the unseen and this is less of a stoners album. yes...
Published on 9 May 2005 by madlibz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars madlibbebebe
The most Madlibest of the man's albums; completely stoned, weird and everything you'd want from a Quas album. There's many moments of genius here too, but it's drowned out by loads of stuff I just can't get my head around. I have more blind faith in this guy than pretty much any musician, but no amount of weed is gonna make the backwards Bollywood mess of "Maingirl" sound...
Published on 3 May 2007 by 77


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I dont know what your talking about, 9 May 2005
By 
madlibz (MANCHESTER, LANCASHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Further Adventures Of Lord Quas (Audio CD)
This album is the best hip hop album of 2005 (so far) without a doubt. This definately shows a madlib who is no longer listening and samplin one style of music. the jazz roots are still buried within this album however there are alot more musical styles thrown into the bag. the tracks are alot more funkier than that of the unseen and this is less of a stoners album. yes the album does have alot of strange commentary cuts in it and large chunks of chorus' and that crazy van... whatever actor. These serve to add humour to the tracks and to keep you involved in the music and asking yourself just what coming next. The track with MF doom closer is a classic, with a killer hook of a chorus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars madlibbebebe, 3 May 2007
This review is from: The Further Adventures Of Lord Quas (Audio CD)
The most Madlibest of the man's albums; completely stoned, weird and everything you'd want from a Quas album. There's many moments of genius here too, but it's drowned out by loads of stuff I just can't get my head around. I have more blind faith in this guy than pretty much any musician, but no amount of weed is gonna make the backwards Bollywood mess of "Maingirl" sound good or convince me that "Bus Ride" isn't a load of random Peebles samples strung together. Perhaps that was the idea? Maybe this is the Trout Mask Replica of hip hop and we just need gushing praise from critics far and wide to make us see it? I don't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, 12 May 2013
This review is from: The Further Adventures Of Lord Quas (Audio CD)
A good listen but not at his best , raw seemingly rushed editing. Guess you could call it "real" id say he needed the pennies and the record company needed some justification to his signing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More brilliance from Madlib, 11 May 2005
This review is from: The Further Adventures Of Lord Quas (Audio CD)
Fantastic album full of great musical and lyrical moments. The beats are among Madlib's best and together with the interplay between the Madlib and alter-ego Quas keeps this album interesting throughout. After the first listen I played it straight through again; always the mark of a good album!
'Bartender Say' is the highlight for me; 'Greenery', 'The Exclusive' and pretty much anything from the last quarter of the album also stand out. The only slight disappointment is a murky, out-of-place DOOM on 'Closer', who perhaps should have been kept separate from the Quasimoto project.
Once again, Madlib proves that no matter what alias or project, his presence is a mark of something interesting and of the highest quality. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, 9 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Further Adventures Of Lord Quas (Audio CD)
Before you listen to this you should listen to 'The Unseen' cos that is a classic compared to this new one and face it, it was gonna be hard to outdo that album. Its not like this album is bad listening or nothing, i enjoyed listening to this, but it ain't better than the 1st. Madlib is still my favourite producer tho, who is a lot better than some producers out there today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Unseen.., 4 April 2005
By 
M. D. Jacobs (The UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Further Adventures Of Lord Quas (Audio CD)
Lets face it - Madlib was never going to outdo himself, the same way the Beatles couldn't outdo Sergeant Pepper, or De La Soul was never going to acheive the scary heights of originality of 3 Feet High.
The Unseen is arguably one of the best LP's of ALL TIME.
What we have now, is more of a follow-up to Madvillainy, which I hope is going to mean that sales of this will be rather good.
The problem though, is that as with Madvillainy, we have twenty-something 'tracks' filled with movie samples, noises and annoyances. The 'music' factor is reduced to an unfortunate minimum. Lots of start-stopping type tracks only serve to p*ss you off after one or two listens. Anyone thats heard Chippin' will surely agree with this sentiment.
Whereas the Unseen was a musical kaleidascope of some beautiful crate-digging, this just seems like a bit of a mess, thrown together to give us a sequel to our favourite album.
I won't list track by track reviews, I've only heard this LP twice, but its enough to form this opinion.
I'm sure you could have done better Mr. Lib.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Further Adventures Of Lord Quas
The Further Adventures Of Lord Quas by Quasimoto (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews