Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introducing the Band
Sonic Youth have been associated with a bewildering number of styles and movements over their 20 year history and whilst it a near impossible task to pick a favourite album out of their rich and varied oeuvre, ‘Goo’ is probably the best place for the uninitiated to start.
The last of five indispensable albums Sonic Youth released in the late 1980s, they...
Published on 20 Dec 2002 by Mr. James A. Hinks

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOO special edition
I always felt Goo was a patchy record - Sure it has some killer toons esp. Dirty boots. But it also has some pretty forgettable toons as well - Which is why I don't rate it anywhere near as highly as most fans.

Let me now say that I do like Sonic Youth & this is a good record..

I don't think it has the same cohesion that Daydream Nation had which in...
Published on 18 Jun 2011 by jman jr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best served with lashings of volume!, 4 May 2006
By 
Mr. A. J. Davies (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goo [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I have to completely disagree with the last reviewer. Nirvana fans will hate this record. They'll buy it and realise that Kurt Cobain wasn't that iconic after all. SY were the movers and shakers!

This album is aggressive youth, but not in a Daydream Nation proggy/punk way. This is a different aspect completely. Somewhere between the metallic drone and the beautiful noisecapes they create, they found a place on this record that is constantly surprising and re-defining their own style. A truly marvellous record.

Stand out tracks.. Dirty Boots -simply for the most catchiest riff SY came out with, Tunic (song for Karen) - the only record that could give a tribute to Karen Carpenter, slate the media and sound so cool in the same song, Mildred Pierce, for scaring the life out of me just when I was comfortable!

Great album, but not necessarily a good buy for a Sonic Youth virgin. For a good intro to SY I'd recommend getting Daydream Nation and Sonic Nurse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MY FRIEND GOO HAS A REAL TATTOO......, 5 Nov 2006
This review is from: Goo [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
After the release of their masterpiece Daydream Nation , SY return with this amazing album . Energetic , loud , aggresive and emotional .

From the moment it opens up with the classic Dirty Boots , it never looses its energy and its sheer amazingness . Tunic is an extremely emotional song featuring some of those much loved Kim vocals . Mary Christ and Kool Thing make u dance around and WOO-HOO and Lee's Mote doesnt spoil the party as it features an amazing tune , complicated lyrics and that good old feedback which made SY so famous. We move on to My friend Goo , a cheecky sort of a tune , very silly but gets u into that dancing happy mood i said before . Dissapearer and Cinderella's Big Score are simply excellent , simply brilliant i just dont know what to say about these songs . Titanium Expose is a great tune too , nice guitar work from Lee and Thurston .

My only complaint is Mildred Pierce which is ok but the album could do whithout it and Scooter and Jinx is kinda pointless , its just noises delaying Titanium Expose .

Otherwise an amazing album which although SY'S most accesible , doesnt manage to sell out and ROCKS

buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOO special edition, 18 Jun 2011
This review is from: Goo [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I always felt Goo was a patchy record - Sure it has some killer toons esp. Dirty boots. But it also has some pretty forgettable toons as well - Which is why I don't rate it anywhere near as highly as most fans.

Let me now say that I do like Sonic Youth & this is a good record..

I don't think it has the same cohesion that Daydream Nation had which in my opinion is along with Sister Sonic Youths finest records.

It's all a matter of opinion - I know.

The extra disc is prob more than I needed - but I was keen to hear it prior to purchasing.
Many of the versions on the 2nd disc sound mightily close to the final versions.

If your a fan of this record - You couldn't ask for more - The booklet & presentation in general is a 5/5.

Sound wise it is excellent.

I'm giving the music a 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album + great bonus track etc, 20 Jun 2007
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goo [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I would disagree with the critics of Scooter+Jinx and Mildred Pierce, both tracks being an exciting part of a great and thrilling album. I also think that the original album would have been even better if the bonus track Tuff Boys had been added on the end of it. It was great to find this. If you are looking for songs and tunes you won't find them in it though. The alternative versions of the album's classic tracks are interesting but it took a while to like them and I still think that the album versions are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE starting point for Sonic Youth, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
For me, my first Sonic youth album and still the best ( "sister" coming a very close second ). The Parents of countless Lo-Fi, Alternative, Grunge bands they have been pluggin away now since around '82 (yeah, I know- that puts them, like, in their 40's or something!). Its not even a matter of being ahead of their time- no band was really close to their sound then and short of a few pretenders today (the dissonant but rather on-dimensional Placebo) they are still a unique treat. Along with 'Sister' (also highly recommended) this album seemed to herald a turn away from the looser, more wandering early stuff (Daydream Nation- many peoples favourite) towards more punchier, scratchy and raw sound. At the same time their songwriting blossomed into a true cooler than cool phase.
Get some headphones, turn out the lights and wallow in the deep, rich layering of guitars and distortion this album contains.
A great place to start for the sophisticated 'alternative' mind looking to flex those aural muscles a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Youth at their all round best, 27 Jun 2001
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
This is a wonderfully crafted album that sets Sonic Youth apart from all other bands of the same genre. It was a model for other bands to copy and has never ever been rivalled. Today, it still sounds fresh and relevant and many many bands owe a lot to this sound. "Tunic" shows just how harrowing and beautifull Sonic Youth can sound, while "Kool Thing" is about as catchy as any song they ever wrote. If you are tired of the same old grungy stuff from the same era then buy this. The early nineties never got any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy for a deluxe C.D.!, 16 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Goo [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
This is my 4th favourite 'Sonic Youth' C.D...you really don't have one dodgy track on this one..a real must for fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goo [Deluxe Edition]
Goo [Deluxe Edition] by Sonic Youth (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews