Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Linux Perspective
This printer works happily with Fedora Core 5, especially as the HPLIP tools and driver are now part of the distribution.

However, there are limitations:
o You cannot print the bottom half and inch or so of an A3 page (this may not be a Linux driver problem.)

o 1200dpi colour printing comes out all smudgy. However 600dpi works ok with the HPIJS...
Published on 20 May 2006 by Mr. David W. Legg

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What was wrong with the old one?
Having used 2 Deskjet 1220c printers before purchasing this one, I was expecting to have hassle-free printing. Both 1220c printers were run into the ground and worked wonderfully to the end.

What's wrong with the 1280? It is so inconsistent in being able to print without jamming onto anything but standard stock. Assume you're going to go through 4 sheets of...
Published on 7 Dec 2006 by Sandy at Amberley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What was wrong with the old one?, 7 Dec 2006
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
Having used 2 Deskjet 1220c printers before purchasing this one, I was expecting to have hassle-free printing. Both 1220c printers were run into the ground and worked wonderfully to the end.

What's wrong with the 1280? It is so inconsistent in being able to print without jamming onto anything but standard stock. Assume you're going to go through 4 sheets of photo paper before one print can be made.

I for one don't expect to nursemaid a printer through every job I require of it, and sadly the 1280 demands it. HP, having had my loyalty for many years (and I have bought a considerable number of HP printers for a variety of businesses), has now had it completely undermined by the 1280. Trust me when I say check out other A3 printers before you even consider this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Linux Perspective, 20 May 2006
By 
Mr. David W. Legg (Ashford, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
This printer works happily with Fedora Core 5, especially as the HPLIP tools and driver are now part of the distribution.

However, there are limitations:
o You cannot print the bottom half and inch or so of an A3 page (this may not be a Linux driver problem.)

o 1200dpi colour printing comes out all smudgy. However 600dpi works ok with the HPIJS driver. This is claimed to have been fixed in Fedora Core 6/7, but I haven't verified it personally yet.

Colours are bright and text is clear at all resolutions.
DWL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars RE: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+, 6 April 2006
By 
Steve (Braintree, Essex, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
I bought one of these from Amazon with a view to printing reproductions of my artwork. I must admit I am a little disappointed with this printer as it takes a lot of tweeking to get the paper settings right for best quality.
This printer is best for home users who want to print out large documents at average quality.
Beware!!! This printer is also prone to the odd paper jam when using standard plain paper.
The manual feed through is good if you need it, but I found that after a few full scale prints it started to crease the paper slightly underneath. This shouldn't matter for standard prints, but makes all the difference when re-producing artwork.
I'm going to use this as a standard printer and invest in a more expensive model for my quality work. It will be worth the extra money in the end. Also the cost of HP replacement cartridges is way too much. It is worth considering these costs before investing in a new printer.
Altogether this printer is fine if you want average results, but I'd advise you to purchase someting more mid to top range if you want better quality prints. You get what you pay for I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stuart, 22 May 2007
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
[...] I have no complaints with the printer or seting it up - everything was what I would expect of an HP machine. I only use it for A3 prints of work drawings and although it is rather steady, it does save me a trip to the local print shop.

If all you want is a printer that produces reasonable quality A3 prints at a good price then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A printer for one and all, 30 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. Stephen Timney (Thamesmead, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
The HP deskJet 1280 A3+ is not just a printer for A3 but can take paper down to postcard size. The speed comes in just about right unless you want colour photo prints within seconds. It has a nice tray to hold the paper but sadly the paper does not lay flat, so don't leave it there for too many days. The ink is very easy to get hold of BUT be warned, do some research work first as to how you can get hold of the A3 paper - most places only sell it at 50 sheets a time. I had to buy 5 reams at one go from a wholesaler. But don't let that put you off, this printer is first class and for all those people that are in to 'The FAMILY Tree' this printer has been sent from about. The price is fair, the ink is available and if you have to room (check the size) then this is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars chews up paper, 10 April 2006
By 
F. Griffiths (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
I think it would be only fair to warn people that this printer tends to chew up A3 paper, almost everytime it is used. This feature tends to get annoying after the 50th time.
I use it to print presentation sheets for foamboards to show clients and when time is of the essence this printer will let you down.
I am just about to return it to the shop and buy something different. I would advise everyone to stear clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable but not record breaking, 31 Aug 2007
By 
Colin Ellis "Bookworm" (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
As a bog standard, A3 printer this unit has been fine, the quality is great for what I use it for, simple posters and signage, I would not recommend it for someone looking for a device to support high throughput or usage, as others have commented the paper feed can be a little flakey.

All in all for does what is says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whats everyone problem, 24 Feb 2008
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
i really don't get other peoples problem with this printer i've had it for 3 months now and had no problems at all its reasonably fast and is good quality for what you pay, and i print alot as iam a uni student and its perfect for what i want it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars problems when printing A3+ PRINTS, 30 April 2008
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
I bought this printer a few months ago mainly for A3+ autocad printouts and image printing. It has no issues printing A3 AND A4 prints but when it comes to A3+ thats where the problems begin.I continuously get an error message and when i did a bit of research found out its a widespread problem due to a driver error, happening since jan 2007! so i feel a bit cheated but currently troubleshooting it to rectify the problem.if all you want is standard size prints A3 A4 its a great printer and the price is good, but if you are buying it for the advanced features it promises, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about HP support, 23 Oct 2010
This review is from: HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer (Electronics)
I have had had this printer for a long time now and it is brilliant. But I have just replaced my PC and HP in their wisdom have decided not to support this printer on Windows 7. You can make it work by using the Vista driver or the driver for the HP 1220c but not all functions are available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HP DeskJet 1280 Colour A3+ Inkjet Printer
Used & New from: 95.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews