Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Series
This is a boxed set, comprising three DVD's, each one a complete series of Murder In Mind, shown originally on BBC from 2001 to 2003. The stories and acting is superb throughout.
Murder comes in many disguises..Revenge, an obnoxious person making life hell, sometimes a case of someone being in the wrong place at wrong time, school bullies being brought to justice,...
Published on 13 Sep 2005 by Mark Antony

versus
4 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Consistently Awful Series!
I'm not sure as to the authenticity of the "5 Star" reviews of the series, "Murder in Mind"; I can only assume those people don't watch much telly...

Yes, there are lots of familiar faces to see in this series; faces that belong to actors closely associated with quality drama; but just because we have the finest ingredients on hand, that doesn't mean the cook...
Published on 26 Sep 2011 by Uncle Lol


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Series, 13 Sep 2005
By 
Mark Antony (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a boxed set, comprising three DVD's, each one a complete series of Murder In Mind, shown originally on BBC from 2001 to 2003. The stories and acting is superb throughout.
Murder comes in many disguises..Revenge, an obnoxious person making life hell, sometimes a case of someone being in the wrong place at wrong time, school bullies being brought to justice, fatal attraction turning to hate, jealousy, many different cases are explored in the series, always using fine actors, actresses and writers.
Some episodes assume parodies; "Regrets" stars Dennis Waterman as an over stressed businessman, enraged by his way too officious bank, who take apparent delight in overseeing the death of small businesses; "Neighbours" sees Kevin Whately driven to despair by the neighbour from hell next door.
"Mercy" stars the always excellent Timothy West as an outwardly compassionate doctor helping his stricken wife, Judy Parfitt, to assisted suicide. "Teacher" shows David Suchet as a respected headmaster with a dark secret. "Landlord" stars Nicholas Lyndhurst as a spooky landlord, who's thrifty ways of staying in business lead to tragedy for a tenent. In "Contract" Adam Faith is superb as a hitman determined to teach his would be cliens a lesson. One of the most ingenius episodes stars Diana Rigg in "Suicide" as a vengful Mother, who's tragic secret dates back to 1975 and a severly bullied schoolboy.
Each episode a self contained story, making intriguing, high quality viewing. Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best 21st Century dramas is finally on DVD!, 16 Mar 2005
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
It's been a while but now 'Murder In Mind' is finally on DVD. 'Murder In Mind' was an epic drama series shown on BBC1 between 2001 and 2003 (3 series overall) and, unusually, showed murders from the perspective of the murderer. The series contained many famous faces including David Suchet, Kevin Whately and Ian Kelsey to name three plus many other great actors.
This DVD set consists of five DVDs (over 24 hours viewing time) and includes all 23 episodes plus a pilot which I don't remember. The episodes are as follows...
Series One: Teacher, Flame, Motive, Mercy, Vigilante, Neighbours, Sleeper
Series Two: Passion, Disposal, Rage, Swan Song, Flashback, Victim, Memories, Regrets
Series Three: Echoes, Favours, Stalkers, Suicide, Contract, Landlord, Justice Cornershop
Some of the episodes are dramatic, some funny (Cornershop and Neighbours in particular) and some very inventive (Flashback is shown backwards in a series of flashbacks, Vigilante has a great twist) but all are excellent.
If you want to watch a constantly great drama series then you can't go wrong with this 'Murder In Mind' box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment., 11 May 2013
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Hello,
I bought this collection of stories a few months ago and have started to explore similar items.
This is first class entertainment and I hoped to pick up some other equally good adult drama series.
Sadly, not many can provide adult scripts without providing sinister undertones and superfluous swearing.
(This is adult entertainment without too much bad language).
What prompted me to write this review was to encourage potential buyers to take note of the positive comments here.
Rather than reiterate these reviews, I would rather take issue with the negative (1 star) comments.
They are completely unjustified and cannot possibly be a true reflection on what is offered here . . .
Believe me, enjoy a week or two watching this. It is really good stuff.
Regards to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I miss this??, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a brilliant series - just the kind of drama I like, so not sure how I missed all 3 series back in the early Noughties! We only have one more episode to watch, then that's that - shame!
If you like well written crime drama, this is for you - all the stories are stand-alones and feature some excellent actors and actresses. Some of the scenarios may be familiar but many have unforeseen twists in the tail - and they're all brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughful Mysteries, 26 April 2013
By 
Perfidia (New York City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
These murder mysteries showed a side that American television rarely does. That is, the quiet desperation of good people and what can lead them to break. I found it incredibly refreshing. Characters actually have depth and reality to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping series worth every penny!, 3 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
"Murder in Mind" is one of the most gripping, well written and excellent tv dramas in a long time with super actors who are mostly well known. The storylines are very good in each episode and make compelling viewing.
Go and buy this excellent set. You wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
If you like murder mystery with a twist in the tale then you`ll love this. Little bit like the "Tales of the unexpected" from years ago but a bit more sinister and with some top names starring in them! Not sure why its never been repeated on TV. Buy it, you won`t be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved, loved, loved this, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
If you like murder mystery tv series, buy this box set. It is one of the best I have watched over the years. May be a little slow paced for some, it was originally aired some 12 years ago. I
Over the fact that every individual story is told through the eyes of the person who has committed the crime. Every story is so different. When I started to watch the first disc I thought I had bought the wrong type of DVD for me, but I persevered and am so glad I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Outstanding, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. S. Holmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
What can I say that hasn't already been said about this series?
It is truly outstanding and a gripping series of television drama
All the actors and actresses are on top form
In this age of poor quality programmes this shows how quality tv used to be
Every episode is superb and a credit to all involved in their production
There are few programmes that merit repeated viewing but this series isn't one of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got murder on your mind? Watch this!, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This has to be one of the best series ever. I particularly love Adam Faith and Jamie Theakston in a brilliant play, Contract. Although she irritates me, Helen Baxendale stars in a wonderful play with Adrian Dunbar. What a fantastic twist! Landlord with Nicholas Lyndhurst sees him in a dramatic role, and it's very good indeed. My favourite actress of all time, Dame Diana Rigg, stars in Suicide. This is writing and acting at its best. All of the programmes are on this DVD box set, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who loves crime and murder mysteries. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001]
Murder in Mind Box Set [DVD] [2001] by Jackie Fielding (DVD - 2005)
18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews