Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedy mini-series
Sir Giles Lynchwood, Conservative MP, schemes to have a motorway extend over his houses and get rich in the process. His wife with the help of Blott fortifies the gatehouse to repel the construction crew. It is much more complex with subplots. You have to see to believe and them you may not.
Many videos do not live up to the expectations of the book. This one may...
Published on 29 Jan. 2006 by bernie

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money & time.
Very very disappointing. We'd just seen Porterhouse Blue which was excellent, and from that went for BOTL. From the start it didn't view well, not sure what method of filming they used but it seemed 'cheap' ?? The acting from the start is atrocious, especially Geraldine James who over acts to the point I felt embarrassed to carry on looking! Its just badly done all ways...
Published 15 days ago by Daisymoo


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedy mini-series, 29 Jan. 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Sir Giles Lynchwood, Conservative MP, schemes to have a motorway extend over his houses and get rich in the process. His wife with the help of Blott fortifies the gatehouse to repel the construction crew. It is much more complex with subplots. You have to see to believe and them you may not.
Many videos do not live up to the expectations of the book. This one may even surpass the Tom Sharpe's book. All of the characters fit and all the irony hits you in the face. This was my first encounter with David Suchet (Blott). And you will recognize all the other major players including Geraldine James (Lady Maud Lynchwood). Now the complete series on DVD. You need to carve out the better part of a day before starting to watch because you will not be able to stop until the end.
A man’s home is his castle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revenge, best served with Tate+Lions!!, 4 Jan. 2006
By 
K. Wheeler "hughjampton" (Swanage, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Utterly fabulous rendition of Tom Sharpe's book. Geraldine James is wonderful as the very forthright Lady Maud, determined to have a child to carry the family name in her ancestral home - but George Cole, as husband Sir Giles, is equally determined that this will never happen, simply by refusing to bed her.
Trying his best to get a motorway put through the 'wretched place' for the compensation money, he has to play everyone against each other to save his own face.
Up steps Simon Cadell (the weedy entertainments manager from Hi-De-Hi), as the man from the ministry - the ministry desperate to give him any job away from them, particularly after his idea to speed up the underground by having conveyor belt platforms, that way the tubes need never stop as people can 'just' jump on to the train as it passes!
And amidst all the fuss and scuffles is Blott, the odd little gardener and odd-job man from somewhere in Europe (clearly his pre-Poirot performance). Calm in a crisis, full of ideas - some of them towards Lady Maud - of how to save Handyman Hall from the bulldozers.
Buy this, and save the family name from falling into disuse!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blott on the Landscape, 1985 BBC series - The best adaptation of any of Tom Sharpe's books, 30 Aug. 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
For years I have been a fan of the works of Tom Sharpe, whose style of comedy where seemingly incredible and funny happenings result from seemingly everyday situations is screamingly funny on the written page. But for some reason it has never really translated well onto screen. Apart, that is, from this little gem.

The story centres around conniving Politian Giles Lynchwood (an in form George Cole) and his attempts to have his wife's ancestral home demolished to make way for a motorway. Lady Maud (Geraldine James) is a formidable woman and will have none of it. Backed by her handyman, Blott (David Suchet) she starts to fight back, and hilarious chaos ensues.

Filled with a cast of the cream of British talent, this is a classic farce full of plot, counter plot, blackmail, sexual shenanigans, riotous destruction and zoo animals. It's a cleverly constructed plot that just ratchets up the humour and the scale until we arrive at the final, shattering conclusion.

Six fifty minute episodes are presented across two discs. There is mono sound and 4.3 picture aspect ratio. The Picture and sound are decent quality, and it looks pretty good. There are no extras.

A decent release of a comedy classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedy mini-series, 20 Oct. 2002
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sir Giles Lynchwood, Conservative MP, schemes to have a motorway extend over his houses. His wife with the help of Blott fortifies the gatehouse to repel the construction crew. It is much more complex with subplots. You have to see to believe and them you may not.
Many videos do not live up to the expectations of the book. This one may even surpass the book. All of the characters fit and all the irony hits you in the face. This was my first encounter with David Suchet (Blott). And you will recognize all the other major players including Geraldine James (Lady Maud Lynchwood).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BBC at its best, 16 Sept. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
The 1985 film (which was broadcast as six episodes of 53 minutes each) was filmed mainly in South Shropshire. Handyman Hall was filmed at Stanage Park, near Heartsease, Powys. Ludlow stood in for the fictitious town of Worford, and Deddington near Banbury became the village of Guildstead Carbonell, where several mock buildings were demolished in the market place for the film. Ludlow's Butter Cross, in the busy and constricted town centre, was used as the courtroom. The Lodge, where Blott lives, was built on land at Blaise Castle Estate near Bristol.

The original broadcast was between 6 February 1985 and 13 March 1985.

I did see the Original Broadcast in 1985 { when I was 32 } and I am in my third viewing of the DVD and I am surprised that someone Claims this version has been edited { although they do admit they were only two when it was first broadcast which may explain their confusion } because as far as I can see it is the Uncut Original.

Its easy to do the Maths - on the DVD each episode { with credits run for 54 minuets } so the total DVD Box set runs for 324 minuets if it had been censored { edited call it what you will } it would have been shorter so where are the mystery edits that don't remove any space ?

It is true there is no extras but that is true of lots of the BBC Content a few years ago.

Geraldine James - David Suchet and George Cole are all on fine form and its just as enjoyable today as it was back in 1985.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this the best-ever BBC comedy drama?, 9 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Over 20 years old and funnier than virtually anything that has been in the cinema or on TV for the past decade. Absolutely brilliant with David Suchet striding through the story as the manic, demonically ingenious and yet devoted servant of 'Lady Mowd'. There isn't a single character in this wonderful drama that doesn't work -with Simon Cadell perfectly cast as the neurotically pedantic government minister.

Right from episode 1 and the courtroom riot, right through to the end where the army tries to storm the manor gatehouse, the farce is built up with relentless energy.

A total triumph and absolutely unmissable - it makes all the current TV comedy drama series look insipid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an unappreciated comedy, 13 July 2009
By 
Mr. A. Gorton "tony gorton" (western australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
think of mp influence,blackmail,deaths,beauacratic bungling and lions ,throw them all into a comedy with an ex berlin wall guard and a soft porn model and you have this progamme of rare brilliance
a good interpretation of the tom sharpe book with a terrific george cole epitomising a country property developer who is an mp
great supporting roles from david suchet and the others and the site of sir giles in a tree with a giraffe alongside will always stay in my memory.
forget the slightly unreal elements like the clean ups in the town and blotts attempt to convert a drunken bunch of men into a choir and remember the lions
happy viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blott On The Landscape, 2 Oct. 2009
By 
E. Taylor (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Well, I remembered this from the original T.V. series, took the book on holiday with me, and roared with laughter all the way through, and I ordered it when I returned home. The dvd story sticks very close to the book, set in and around Ludlow, featuring the famous Feathers Hotel. This is a great work from Tom Sharpe, featuring his usual eccentric cast of mayhem. Fun all the way through, poking fun at beurocracy, with political scheming at it's comedy best. The cast were fabulous throughout and the screenplay adaptation romps along. Classic British comedy, I thoroughly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Suchet, you are terrific, 15 Oct. 2009
By 
K. A. Newton (North West England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I bought this dvd set back in 2005 when I worked nights and had missed some of the original tv showing and since then have watched it again and again.

I cannot remember anything a ten year old should not be seeing.

Each time I watch it I notice silly little things I did not see previously.

Each time I laugh at Blott's planning and guile but it was the lions getting the best of the husband off camera that amused me most.

Each time I watch it to the end knowing it won't be long before I watch it again.

Thank goodness I've retired now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT, 19 May 2009
By 
M. WINSBY "Humour Addict." (READING. BERKSHIRE.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Blott On The Landscape [DVD] [1985]

We watched this on TV & just had to get the DVD when it came out.
The lady "of the manor" is trying to save her ancestral home as the local council want to put a motorway through it.
Her husband isn't very caring towards her, & is only pretending to help save it, while really hoping it won't be saved at all.

All the antic's the wife gets up to trying to save it are absolutely hilarious.
While the husband is partaking in some very funny goings on as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985]
Blott on the Landscape [DVD] [1985] by Roger Bamford (DVD - 2005)
£5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews