Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Heaviest Sounds Around
"When you get into one of these bands, there's only a couple of ways out-death, or a mental institution..." The intro to this CD sets the scene for an onslaught of bass, feedback and torpid mayhem. I wasn't hugely impressed on the first couple of listens, but that's usually a good sign as far as I'm concerned and, sure enough, the tunes (no that's not a typo)...
Published on 4 Dec 2000 by Gordon George Dallas

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some kind of extension ?
seems to me they are some kind of echo / mirror extension of 'black sab' ; where the original is heavy and loud, and this material seems to be its background / shadow eg this artwork-frontcover seems inspired by a 'the wizard / master of reality' combo ; as to the music itself, although listened twice-over, still can't seem to 'get it' yet...
also, would feel more...
Published 5 months ago by paula


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Heaviest Sounds Around, 4 Dec 2000
By 
Gordon George Dallas (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dopethrone (Audio CD)
"When you get into one of these bands, there's only a couple of ways out-death, or a mental institution..." The intro to this CD sets the scene for an onslaught of bass, feedback and torpid mayhem. I wasn't hugely impressed on the first couple of listens, but that's usually a good sign as far as I'm concerned and, sure enough, the tunes (no that's not a typo) started to emerge. I've had the chorus to 'Vinum Sabbathi' lodged in my brain for the last week. The rest of the album has a similar delayed reaction, even the initially annoyingly protracted third song becomes worthwhile. As an established stoner fan, Electric Wizard to me are the masters of crafting head-crushing and enduring soundscapes out of deceptively simple musical components......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cripplingly Heavy, 14 Aug 2007
This review is from: Dopethrone (Audio CD)
This is a monumental release from Electric Wizard, by far their finest work and one of the high points of the whole doom metal genre and metal in the 21st century.

Musically 'Dopethrone' occupies a sort of middle ground between doom bands who just try to sound like Black Sabbath e.g. Witchfinder General and the bands who tend to see just who slow they can play and how long their songs can be (e.g. Khanate). Because of this 'Dopethrone' is pushing the boundaries of the genre but not without influence of classic metal bands.

The first thing which struck me about this album was the crushingly dense guitar sound that sounds as if its coming from a tube amp pushed to melting point which is pretty much the polar opposite of the standard polished lifeless modern metal sound. Musically, it's hard to tell whether Electric Wizard can actually play or not, but all things considered I don't care whether they can because this album is about atmosphere, and it has it in spades, so whether or not Jus Oborn can sweep pick is irrelevant. For instance 'Funeralopolis' has a wonderful bluesy atmosphere (think Blue Cheer blues not B.B. King) that matches the apocalyptic images of the lyrics very well.

Lyrically, this album shifts from themes of drugs (really? I thought these boys had nothing stronger than a pint of bitter), general hatred to all humanity ('We Hate You') and more fantasy themed lyrics inspired by the likes of Robert E. Howard and H.P. Lovecraft, which makes for a lyrically varied listen. Also of note is the very loose jamming feel dominant throughout the album that is evident in the albums shortest track 'Hills Have Eyes' which is just a short jam and in a lesser record could be considered filler but it somehow forms a integral part of the record.

This album also proves to be very consistent containing many of the bands finest songs (and yes, most of them have actual songs! Choruses and everything). Even the bonus track 'Mind Transferral' is a keeper, meaning Electric Wizard have not only delivered a heavy and atmospheric album but a consistent one with memorable songs.

So if you like the idea of Hawkwind played way too slow (see 'I, the Witchfinder' for the most dominant Hawkwind influence) and Black Sabbath pushed to melting point, I can strongly recommend this masterpiece. Easily one of the best albums of the last decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic, but avoid the unlistenable remastered versions., 17 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dopethrone (Audio CD)
This is one of the heaviest album Ive ever heard and also one of the best! I got into The Wizard through this album, and along with Come my Fanatics and Let Us Prey, this is their best work. SOOOOO Evil! Soooo sinister! Sooo Slow!!! Theres not enough good things to say about this band. If, like me you love Horror Movies, Black Sabbath and pure drop tuned sludge stoner rock....buy this record! You may end up playing it FAR more than you imagined. Its inspiring to hear a band who can be as overwhelmingly claustrophobic and frightening and at the same time be so chilled out and soothing! Hail!

As I said though, purchase the original CD pressing as the remastered versions all sound terrible. The mastering is so in the red it makes listening to on headphones unbearble and ruins the true heaviness of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Snail paced Doom from a misty forest, 20 Mar 2004
It’s a wonder this great British Stoner/Doom metal act haven’t embedded themselves deeper into the mainstream music scene, as I think they are the kind of kick up the backside music in this country needs. With gut crunching slow-mo guitar work, thumping sub-bass and devastating grove drum patterns, this power-combo pack a punch. If you like you metal to hark back to the glory days of ‘Sleep’ this album (or any Electric Wizard album for that matter) is a must.
With near all the tracks being standout the album has a pace and tone to it that transports you to a dark and beautiful place, with Jus Oborn and Tim Bagshaw’s spiralling riffs and finger work begging the listener to stand up and pay attention.
I can recommend no other Electric Wizard album higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate doom album?, 30 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Dope Throne +1 (Audio CD)
Heavy, heavy, heavy; this is the album you want if that's what you're looking for. From pseudo-accessible opener Vinum Sabbathi to the crushing final track Mind Transferral this album is a dark masterpiece of modern music. Thunderous guitar, pounding drums and gargantuan bass tunes all combine with heavily distorted vocals to produce a uniquely awesome experience, an epic journey carried out at snails pace. "I, the Witchfinder" could well be the best track in this genre yet, and that's saying something. Pure class that needs to be bought.
You also get 9 minute bonus track Mind Transeffal with this, a great jam session that really is very good. It brings the album length to 75 mins, a hefty slab of music indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pray at the alter of the riff, 23 Jun 2007
By 
J. M. Ashe "Jo3" (sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dopethrone (Audio CD)
Electric Wizard have always been held in high esteem in the doom rock, down tuned corner of the music world. They are often heralded as the ambassadors of doom rock and Dopethrone is widely regarded as their master piece. A flawless album of staggeringly heavy and hypnotic grooves, peppered with b-movie samples and drenched in dark, psychedelic atmospheric effects. It is hard to believe a three piece band could achieve such an overwhelming sound whilst maintaining a blues like groove that is quite accessible to fans of less extreme music. The lyrical content is intriguingly derivative of H.P Lovecraft literature, occult worship and horror movies. This brilliant album is untheatrically dark, mindalteringly trippy and severely heavy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legalise Drugs and Murder!, 5 Aug 2012
This review is from: Dopethrone (Audio CD)
Aside from containing what is surely one of the coolest album covers ever, and featuring some brilliant sleeve notes, this album is phenomenol to listen to as well. It may not be the most ambitious metal album, or the most elaborate, but as far as doom metal goes this is surely the pinnacle. The atmosphere is even more suffocating and intense than its predecessor, 'Come My Fanatics', and the overall experience of listening to it is almost hypnotic.

It is very distorted and heavy, as one would expect, but also conveys some classic licks and riffs, like the bluesy intro to 'Funeralopolis', or 'The Hills Have Eyes' for instance. Having held off reviewing this for the past couple of years I can now say it is truly definitive; tracks such as 'Weird Tales' and 'I, The Witchfinder' were difficult to listen to at first, but the latter in particular is now one of my favourite tracks ever. Whilst I loved 'Wizard In Black' and 'Return Trip' on their previous LP, I have to say that Dopethrone is a more impressive and consistent release without a doubt. The sound is also better; it is perhaps slightly less psychadelic, but overall is much improved (the bass and drums are more audible). Whilst I liked the fact that Jus Oborn seemed to be drowning in a wall of sound on 'Come My Fanatics' his vocals are mixed well on this album; he sounds more volatile in most places, which suits the material undoubtedly.

Now that this album has truly grown on me it is very difficult to pick highlights. 'Barbarian' is probably the weakest track in my opinion, but I don't think I have ever skipped a track when listening to this CD. The lyrics are suitably dark and the music really embodies the subject matter of the occult, horror movies, the apocalypse and, of course, drugs. I won't claim to be an expert on doom metal, I own relatively few releases by bands other than Electric Wizard and Kyuss (I really must pick up something by Sleep!) but this album is one of my absolute favourites of any genre. Listening to it is a smothering experience, but an experience I enjoy every time. A classic release by a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smoke em if you got em!, 6 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dopethrone (Audio CD)
Had to write a review about one of my favourite albums of all time. Dopethrone is such a powerful, heavy, doom-laden album that you can't help come away impressed. From the sleazy, drop-tuned guitars, the slow, methodical drumming and the distorted vocals Electric Wizard found a new sound that projected their sci-fi/slasher horror style.

Funeralopolis is one of the Wizards best riffs and is so poundingly brilliant that I would class it as one of my favourite all time riffs. It's so slow, but head-bangingly great and the vocals slash through the song with real passion. The rest follow suit in what can only be the best drug-fuelled metal album ever released (Sleep's Holy Mountain is a very close second though).

There have been plenty of bands that have supped from the Sabbath font, some come away sounding too much like the band (Sleep, Saint Vitus), however others have branched off enough to keep the spirit but remain unique. Wizard fall into that category, and Dopethrone is their masterpiece.

Recommended to anyone who loves metal. This is a great album and will open you up to so many other good doom/stoner bands out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heaviest album ever. Period., 1 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Dopethrone (Audio CD)
This is the greatest psychedelic doom record ever mad. End of. Forget the rest. Every track is essential and every track has one of the heaviest riffs ever. Gets better and better with every listen and guaranteed to shake the walls. Buy now or regret forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Album, 28 Oct 2009
By 
H. Moss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't say anything more detailed than whats been said below, this is an essential purchase/download that is just cripplingly heavy, amazingly atmospheric and great to relax to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dopethrone [VINYL]
Dopethrone [VINYL] by Electric Wizard (Vinyl - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews