Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth your time
Back after a 5 year break since their last album, Man Made sees the band remaining on good form. There are some songs that spring out immediately to you - perhaps such as "Slow Fade" - a fast paced tuneful burst of melody which draws you into the album, others take more time. The main thing to make clear is that this is a really good album but you have to listen to it a...
Published on 24 May 2005 by S. Mills

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't get into this one
Huge fan of TFC's album Grand Prix and enjoyed Songs From Northern Britain and Howdy! but this album doesn't impress me at all. Keep going back to listen to this but none of the tracks particularly grab me. Real shame, as TFC really should have been massive in the mid-90s, but Love, Blake and McGinley appear to be disinterested in the whole proceedings.
Published on 21 Feb 2010 by Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth your time, 24 May 2005
By 
S. Mills (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
Back after a 5 year break since their last album, Man Made sees the band remaining on good form. There are some songs that spring out immediately to you - perhaps such as "Slow Fade" - a fast paced tuneful burst of melody which draws you into the album, others take more time. The main thing to make clear is that this is a really good album but you have to listen to it a few times. Having played it a week now the hooks have really got into me. If you buy a lot of CDs and find they grace your CD player for a short time then there is a chance that you may miss the underlying beauty of this album. Do so at your peril. So what of the highlights? Well if you're looking for a starting point check out "Fallen Leaves" or the fantastic "Cell" (with its heart rending subject matter but beautiful tune) , "Its all in my mind" leaves me feeling optimistic every time i hear it.

Teenage Fanclub as a band deserve yours, mine and everyones support. They have put this album out on their own label. Consistently they write great songs, are good humoured - check them out live! No-one creates harmonies like these guys and the love of guitar in their songs is always evident.

If you're new to the band then you may want to start with Grand Prix or Bandwagonesque that have some cracking tunes.

The music world needs Teenage Fanclub. Unpretentious and great songwriters. Buy this album and spread the word (further).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAN - tastic, 1 Jun 2005
By 
Martin Grace (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
Took a few listens but the quality of the songs doesnt take long to shine through.Like another reviewer in my opinion the songs written by Ray take longer than the others to catch on.
Those of Gerry and Norman however are typically melody laden and infectious. Born under a good sign is an electric guitar gem that makes you wanna get on yer feet and it harps back to the urgency of some of the earlier TFC numbers. The album is for me is probably the best since Grand Prix, listen after listen songs like Its all in my mind, Save, Time Stops, Feel - the list goes on are true classics - The best few quid I've spent in a while I pray to God it wont be another 4 or 5 years before we have to wait for the next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the return of the magnificient teenage fanclub, 27 May 2005
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
teenage fanclub have made one of the most laid back, life afirming and beautiful album of this decade, it brims with musical vitality. The highlights of this album include the beautiful songs flowing, only with you and cells which are emotional yet soothing at the same time...Norman Blake continues to be the best songwriter, however the other two contribute songs which complement his songs greatly. If only teenage fanclub got the expose they trully deserve, perhaps then though it might taint their wonderfully ideallic and peaceful sound, as long as they stick around I shall be delighted. I just wish they could have another album out tomorrow as there is nothing else briming with as much musical ability and sould as this on the market... a must have for tfc fans and all good fans of music out there.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grace and Beauty, 6 May 2005
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
It would be wrong to criticise Man-Made for failing to replicate the faster paced thrills of Bandwagonesque, Grand Prix etc. Teenage Fanclub have musically matured, as all great groups ultimately have to. The immediacy of the songs may not be as obvious - but the beauty of tracks such as Cells, Save and Don't Hide will more than compensate for a reduction in fast thrills for any intelligent music fan. If you want the latest fashions in music - go elsewhere. Nobody out there today comes close to Teenage Fanclub for simply great songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business as usual, 16 Feb 2006
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
"Something simple and unaffected" sang Norman Blake on 1995's Grand Prix album, and this could well describe Man Made. With more of a "live" sound than previous TFC offerings, the album continues their tradition of well played heartfelt songs. Possibly not as immediate as some of their releases but revealing hidden textures with every listen, Man Made was one of the highlights of 2005. Individual songs are difficult to highlight as the standard is so high, but the urgent guitars of "Born Under A Good Sign" and "Slow Fade" recall the bands early 90s recordings, while the predominantly acoustic "Cells" and Raymond McGinley's piano led "Only With You" show welcome diversity. All three songwriters: Blake, McGinley and Gerry Love are on form and the album works well as a whole. Another great record from one of Scotland - and the UK's - finest bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man Made but Godlike tunes, 2 Mar 2010
By 
J. Charles (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
Simply Fan-tastic. Their best album since Bandwagonesque.
Can't wait till next one due out this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Can't get into this one, 21 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
Huge fan of TFC's album Grand Prix and enjoyed Songs From Northern Britain and Howdy! but this album doesn't impress me at all. Keep going back to listen to this but none of the tracks particularly grab me. Real shame, as TFC really should have been massive in the mid-90s, but Love, Blake and McGinley appear to be disinterested in the whole proceedings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars disappointed at first but this album really grows on you, 21 May 2005
By 
P. J. Martin "Bonny Scot" (Highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
This album starts off well but after a first listening I was disappointed, especially when thinking of the glories of Howdy! But little by little all of the songs have really got under my skin and I'm listening to it every day now. The best tune is Fallen Leaves which owes a little to The Town and the City from Howdy! Raymond's songs aren't so good on Manmade but are still interesting as counterpoints to Gerard's and Norman's. I have to disagree with the last review about who's the better songwriter. They are pretty close but Gerard has (marginally)more heart and tenderness in his songs I think and that's why TF are my favourite band. It's a shame the new song Please Stay on the Scotland on Sunday CD wasn't included as it is one of Gerard's best.
Anyway please buy this. Keep TF in the music biz!
Forgot to say...I think this album is a four and a half star album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old Man Made, 4 May 2005
By 
Norman's Ghost (BROMLEY, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
It's been five years since "Howdy!", and TFC have drifted into even softer territory in their advancing years. The band are ageing gracefully, and "Man-Made" reflects a greyness at the temples and a creeping of crows feet around the eyes. I imagine they sat down a lot while recording this album.
Gentle, almost folky songs, a lifetime away from their meatier teenage years.
I've grown old with Teenage Fanclub too, and this album makes me long for the youthful vigour I had when "A Catholic Education" and "Bandwagonesque" were in my tape player.
Don't get me wrong, this is in no way a "bad" album, but it just makes me feel terribly old!
Norman, like the devil, still writes the best tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pipe and slippers music., 11 Oct 2005
By 
Michelle Coyle (Halifax England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Man-Made (Audio CD)
Man Made is the first Teenage Fanclub album I've bought since Songs From Northern Britain which along with Grand Prix is the band at their best. However, Man Made is music made by grey haired old men who've thrown in the towel. It's five years since they last made a record and this is the best they could do? Three songwriters with four songs each in five years, you'd expect them to have come up with something incredible in that time but all we get are tired, weary songs by a band who just don't have it anymore. There are some shockingly weak songs on this album. The best song on the album is the opener, It's All In My Mind but it's gradually downhill after that. Nowhere has a lyric that a school kid would be embarrassed to sing and Only With You has this dumb piano part that goes on for what seems like an eternity after the song is done. Plink, plink, plink, for no reason other than to annoy you even more than the song does itself. Get Grand Prix instead and if you must buy one other Teenage Fanclub album, get Songs From Northern Britain. These guys are in their forties for gawd's sake and they're still calling themselves TEENAGE Fanclub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man-Made
Man-Made by Teenage Fanclub (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews