Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


148 of 150 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great update to a classic game
In our family Monopoly has always worked because it appealed to all ages, from adults competing fervently (and pretending it's all just in fun for the kids' benefit) to my youngest boy who always HAD TO BE the racing car. So my first thought was 'how can they improve on this?'. But they have.
There's a whole new load of fun to be had from just getting used to the...
Published on 6 Sep 2005 by Mr. D. J. Tyler

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars game
played it with the family and they really enjoyed it but i dont like that it token all of 24 hrs
Published 4 months ago by jenna gallagher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

148 of 150 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great update to a classic game, 6 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. D. J. Tyler "Dave Tyler" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
In our family Monopoly has always worked because it appealed to all ages, from adults competing fervently (and pretending it's all just in fun for the kids' benefit) to my youngest boy who always HAD TO BE the racing car. So my first thought was 'how can they improve on this?'. But they have.
There's a whole new load of fun to be had from just getting used to the new locations and 'movers'. Explaining to the kids the significance of The Sun (what can I say, I read the Guardian!), watching my son's eyes light up as he buys Wembley Stadium, the Oval and Wimbledon, and yes, the mobile phone, rollerblade, skateboard etc. are all good fun too (and yes, as other reviewers have pointed out, the double-decker bus is different from the other pieces - duller metal, heavier, different but not worse!).
But what gives the 'Here & Now' game a whole new lease of life is simply the fact that it's different. If you've got stuck in your ways, knowing exactly what property set you always plan to buy, a new version like this throws all that out of the window.
You really have to think again as you play - can I afford to buy apartments (previously houses) now they cost up to 2 million pounds each? Is it worth buying Stansted as well as Gatwick airports?
If you've ever wished there was a game as well thought through as Monopoly, but not quite so 'well-worn', then new versions like this are a god-send. If your family enjoys playing the original, I defy them not to enjoy this excellent variation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Updated modern version of a classic family game, 25 Mar 2006
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
The new version includes properties such as the Oval and Wembley Stadium. The houses are now apartments, and you can buy Gatwick and Stansted airports too. You can visit the London Eye and Covent garden, and there are new player pieces which include rollerblades, a mobile phone, a London bus and a cheeseburger.The rate of inflation has obviously sky-rocketed since the old classic version was released, so you have to be very careful with your money as apartments can cost up to 2 Million eachA fantastic, highly recommended family game for 2-8 players from age 8 upwards. If you enjoy playing the original then you will be delighted with this new improved version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy successor to the excellent board game, 3 July 2005
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
I initially bought just one of these to keep it, as it is limited edition (not in numbers but they'll stop producing it by the end of the year) but upon seeing the information on the box I decided to buy another to play. And I'm glad I did.
The board, cards and properties are far more professional looking than my 70s version of the game and, though it is confusing to get your head around at first, the money is a neat idea, though the ratios are the same for each property, with each price just multiplied by 10,000.
The pieces are great - though the London bus in my pack wasn't shiny like the rest, whether that was intentional I don't know - and add to the modern feeling of the game. It's the first time I've seen a burger parking in London and a plane landing at The Oval!
The only bugbear I have with it is that the apartments are sometimes fiddly to click together, but I suppose that's one of the things that will improve with practise and use of the game.
Overall a great game and a worthy addition to the rapidly expanding Monopoly franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic!, 5 July 2005
By A Customer
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
If you like the original Monopoly, this is the game for you. It has been updated with the street names different (couple are still the same, though one or two have had their places changed).
You now trade in millions of pounds, as opposed to hundrends. Much more realistic, and the great thing about this, is that because you are not used to the new numbers, you have to think about the deals you make, as opposed to comming up with the same old numbers all the time!
A must have game
I gave 4 stars for the durability, because as you all know, board games with loads of small pieces are prone to damage and loss of pieces, but if you look after them well, they will last a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
Very good time filler in the evenings if there isnt anything on TV (Which is always!). Board is very nice and has newly written chance and community chest cards, as well as pictures on the board under the house name. Very nice overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
Thanks for the wonderful service. It arrived sooner than I expected. The kids are having a grand time with the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London at home!, 22 Jun 2005
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
What an AMAZING game!! Great deal, fab new things to be like a Mobile Phone, Burger, Plane etc! Lots of big numbers on the money (if only it were real!!) Big names on the board to buy...however 1.5million is the most i've paid for the Sun!!! (not that i buy it out of choice!!) All in all 11/10 for the whole game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars game, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
played it with the family and they really enjoyed it but i dont like that it token all of 24 hrs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few small irritations, 6 Dec 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
I agree with the other reviews that this is a fun game. It's a family favourite and the new version is equally brilliant. Its downsides and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because firstly, the money is terrible. It looks and feels like it's been made out of cheap printer paper. It's got no durability and will probably tear after a few games. The other thing is the increase in amounts of money, it made it a little difficult for us to work sums out- and there were no kids involved! But that at least you can get used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pass go and collect 200!, 9 Aug 2005
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition (Toy)
great new version of a classic game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9de93408)

This product

Monopoly Here & Now Limited Edition
Used & New from: 5.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews