Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£6.99+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2005
The long awaited new studio release from the ex Dr Hook frontman, following up his "Out Of The Dark" album of five years ago. He is doubtless fed-up with this ex Dr Hook label but unfortunately if you say "Dennis Locorriere" to the average music fan they say "Who?" This is a shame as a listen to this album finds it full of excellent pop songs with catchy melodies and hooks, all written or co-written by Dennis. Highlights for me are "Hearts (Like Yours And Mine)", "If All It Takes Is Time", "Sure", "If You Had A Heart", "Guess Again" and "Underneath The Moon" but as others have said there are no obvious weak tracks. "I Don't Wanna Know" and "Me Too" are maybe to brassy and soul influenced for our particular taste, but nearly all the other tracks feature his smooth as honey voice, once heard never forgotten. If you liked his previous album you will like this. One small reservation is having seen him in his solo concerts three times now with just his acoustic guitars you get to like him in that format, as on the "Live In Liverpool" CD, and this new release's full band format takes a while to get used to again. One thing that is rarely mentioned is Dennis's superb diction, one of the clearest singers you will ever hear, no straining to catch the lyrics here so the lyric sheet is almost superfluous.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2005
for any locorriere fans this album is a must.his adaption to the songsIF ALL IT TAKES IS TIME,MISTY BLUE,GUESS AGAIN,have made these songs even more appealing.all 13 tracks are typical dennis, his one and only voice complements every track, his art of song writing is as good now as ever before.to my best knowledge there are 9 new songs on this album,a real treat for the fans.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2005
This long-awaited second studio album has exceeded our expectations! Every track is brilliant. I don't think I've ever listened to an album before and had a different 'favourite track' every time! Some beautiful ballads, some tracks which take you on wonderful, unexpected journeys, some more upbeat tracks - all sung as only Dennis can. The album ends with a fantastic,long version of "Hearts" (Like Yours & Mine) with sensational guitar solos. Highly Recommended. Recommend you catch a show on the "One of the Lucky Ones" tour too.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2005
This is classic Loccoriere. Every track shines and there are some real classics that can stand right up there with the Dr Hook standards....(If all it takes is time, somewhere round here).
Buy this album....Dennis is one of the greatest singer song writers of all time and that unique voice of his just gets better and better.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2006
I'll tell you who!
Me and anyone else who owns this fantastic second album by one of the greatest singer/songwriters of our generation, Dennis Locorriere.
OOTLO continues on where his first album, Out Of The Dark, left off.
Another collection of truly wonderful songs and vocal performances.
Pop (Sure), country (If You Had A Heart), rock (The Truth) R&B (Me Too) and ballads (Somewhere Round Here), all delivered in Dennis's unmistakable and passionate style.
The album includes an unbelievable cover version of the classic, Misty Blue, originally recorded by Dorothy Moore, and done here with such emotion that you will fall in love with the song all over again.
You may remember DL from his work with Dr Hook, but focus on his solo work and you will soon think of him as a contemporary artist with alot to say and go looking for the rest of his releases, 'live' and otherwise.
Like one of the other reviews said - Get LUCKY!
You can start with this album and collect the rest from there.
And you will.
It's all that good!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
So lovely to hear the voice that for me was the front voice of Dr Hook. He really is such a talent and the gravelly voice makes very easy listening. The new material allows those fans of Dr Hook to feel they have not lost the essence of them and new fans will enjoy listening to a really great singer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
The voice of Doctor Hook only started his second recording career when he was in his fifties, but it was well worth the wait.

This is a super collection - recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Brilliant! Only criticism is that I don't like the long endings in a couple of the tracks. Having said that it is only a wee bit of an otherwise marvellous cd.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
oh what an album .........brill
seeing this guy in concert made me buy this
Good Company
Would buy from them again
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
Excellent
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.