Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£75.38+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2005
A 3 DVD box set, containing all original NASA footage - it is worth the money just for the multi-angle shots of the Saturn V taking off.In a lot of sections, a very useful feature is you get to choose the viewing angle and commentary you want to hear (on-board astronaut voicebox recorder, ground controllers, astronaut post flight debriefs). You really feel in control of what you want to see. And, believe me - there is a LOT to see! In fact that is the only downside - this is a mammoth DVD. Historic footage which I can strongly recommend to anyone interested in the Moonshots.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2006
This is brilliant, I have hogged the lounge TV for the last couple of days working through the hours of original footage. Multi angles of the Saturn V blast off as well as the multi angle views of the lunar EVAs, landing, take off, docking and undocking many with multi sound feeds. Scenes of the delivery and assembly of the Saturn V have to be seen to see the sheer size of it all. I'm about to buy the rest in the series now.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2009
Overall this is a very good DVD set. Much of it is raw original footage, but in my opinion that adds to the drama and effect. It is staggering to see one of Man's greatest technological achievements 40 years on, via an extremely poor quality black & white TV transmission!. It's also very enlightening to see how primitive cameras, computers etc were on Apollo compared with today's equipment, as is now available at any high street superstore.

Personally I'd have liked a bit more of an overview on Disc 1 of the Apollo set up - how each module fitted together, and most particularly how the lunar & command modules docked & undocked.

But that's a minor criticism. The sheer power of Saturn V lift off is awesome, and the shots of the final minute or so of the lunar approach & descent are fantastic, and even now the tension of those moments comes across on the DVD. Then of course the finale when Armstrong sets foot on the Moon. Like billions of people at the time I can remember exactly where I was at that moment, and it's great to re-live it via this DVD set. Recommended
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
The event itself must be one of the defining moments in human history. Stepping aside from the politics that financed it, it's 1969 again and a space enchanted twelve year old can once again live the moment. What's more - in colour from those cameras that were capable. DVD technically excellent; content momentous.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
Excellent DVD, reminds me of watching the original landing on a grainy TV picture at some very very early hour.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 March 2011
A child of the sixties - I was six years old when Man first walked on the moon - this dvd rekindled my early childhood memories and brought home to me what a complex and risky undertaking the Apollo programme was. This dvd contains hours of footage that will ensure the space-geek in you is in space-craft heaven. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Apollo Mission Lovers will love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Superb!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)