Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it!
One of the pleasures of music is discovering a band early in their career and watching them grow and mature until they produce the album that you always suspected they were capable of. So it is with myself, Elbow and 'Leaders of the Free World'.
For me, the highlights of 'Asleep in the Back' and 'Cast of Thousands' were 'Powder...
Published on 10 Nov 2005

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars frustrating, sometimes brilliant band.
I,ve owned just a couple of Elbow albums and they were never amongst my favourites, though a couple of tracks ( powder blue, fugitive motel ) are masterpieces. Recently, I bought The seldom seen kid which is brilliant-every track is strong and the production is fantastic, I thought they had come a long way and finally got there. After that I had to buy Leaders of the free...
Published on 1 Feb 2011 by P. Winthrop


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it!, 10 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leaders Of The Free World (Audio CD)
One of the pleasures of music is discovering a band early in their career and watching them grow and mature until they produce the album that you always suspected they were capable of. So it is with myself, Elbow and 'Leaders of the Free World'.
For me, the highlights of 'Asleep in the Back' and 'Cast of Thousands' were 'Powder Blue' and 'Fugitive Motel' respectively. So is there anything on the new album that reaches the heights those two tracks attained? Well maybe not quite, but taken as a whole, this is a wonderful album which displays a level of song writing and craftsmanship rarely seen these days.
It is some time since I owned an album in which I have felt confident enough to play every track from start to finish without worrying about 'that weaker track' or the usual 'fillers' (and OK Computer may be the last one, which gives some indication of how highly I rate this).
Highlights are too many to mention and like all good albums, keep revealing themselves with each listening, but 'Great Expectations' is pure Elbow. Beautiful melody, and heart-rending lyrics from which Guy Garvey drains every last ounce of emotion. If this song doesn't bring to you tears, then nothing will.
After years of promising so much, Elbow have finally delivered. My only worry now is how they'll manage to follow this. 'Leaders of the Free World' is their best album to date by a country mile, and although I haven't rubbed salt and pepper into my hair just yet, it's going to take a great deal of time and effort from the band to match this one. In the meantime though, this should just be enjoyed for the intimate, thought-provoking, polished piece of work it is.
An absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Repeat, 5 Dec 2005
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leaders Of The Free World (Audio CD)
Truly an album that requires repeat listenings. Many, many times will you have to listen to this before you truly appreciate it. On first listen it's pretty enough, nothing new...but the album's genius lies under it's skin.
I reccommend dimming the lights, lying down, playing this at a reasonable volume and listening very carefully to the sounds you're hearing. It's only then when it becomes apparent how unique Elbow are.
Their trick involves compiling sounds together to form a cohesive whole, held together by enthusiastic drumming and bassing. Nowhere better is this exemplified than on the stunning "My Very Best"...I don't know where most of those noises come from, but added to the mix are lush violins, delicate electronics and spidery guitar lines. The cumulative impact is a gorgeous song. It's like building a palace out of gold bricks. The end effect is beautiful, but every single brick is equally beautiful.
See, this album needs time to be picked apart. Listen to the intricate arrangements and appreciate how innovative this band truly are. Their sound is a warm, human sound, perfect for these winter months. Let it seep in and you'll find it soundtracking your life. Personally, I always hear "Station Approach" in my head when I walk through big cities these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the stops, 13 Sep 2005
This review is from: Leaders Of The Free World (Audio CD)
Regulars of indie night life were introduced to a disquieting concept last month with the release of "Forget Myself", the first single off "Leaders of the Free World". Elbow? Them drab Mancs, who can't really be called sub-Coldplay because they're too grey, bringing out a dance floor smash? But yes- with pounding drums and a shout along chorus, Elbow are back, clearly with something prove. Although there's nothing else on "Leaders..." that will satisfy the casual Franz fan, the same sense of things coming together for the Bury quintet is tangible throughout. Long-term fans will savour classic slow burners like "The Stops" and "My Very Best", but there's the sarkily spare "Picky Bugger" and the ferocious bite of the title track to consider, too. Guy Garvey's lyrics also seem to get better and better with every listen, with genius lines like 'I feel like I designed the buildings I walk past' and 'they're pacing Piccadilly in packs again' leaping out when you least expect it. "The Everthere" is a heart-wrenching take on "When I'm 64", whilst the man in "Great Expectations" is so drenched in love he imagines weddings in the most mundane of settings.
Elbow are part of a very select group of British rock acts, which include in their number Super Furry Animals, British Sea Power and Mogwai, who every few years release yet another masterpiece which their fans devour and the general public largely ignores. No doubt "Leaders..." will attract the same amount of middling interest that "Cast of Thousands" did, but those who own it will know better. Why let the general public have songs as perfect as "An Imagined Affair" and "Station Approach" anyway? This is Elbow's best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of 2005 (probably), 8 Nov 2005
By 
Dr Armani (Edinburgh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leaders Of The Free World (Audio CD)
It's hard to get excited about a band like Elbow. If you've only ever heard the odd song previously, or worse you've only ever seen a picture of the band, you might easily dismiss them as 'sub-radiohead whinging northerners'. Fair enough. This record though is hard to fault. There are not many albums that have an 'all-killer, no-filler' track list. The songs are instantly melodic with great arrangement and an earnest (if slightly miserable) delivery. Even better, the record has had no hype, no hit singles and is not remotely 'in'. There is absolutely no chance that the lead singer is going ot marry a hollywood 'A' list actress and you won't hear the songs in Starbucks or a car advert. Buy this record but don't tell anyone else - i don't want everyone to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality album from start to finish, 11 Sep 2005
By 
P. Stokes "fox2125" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leaders Of The Free World (Audio CD)
I remember seeing an unknown band supporting Muse and thinking at the time 'Sounds good live, wonder what the album's like'. Needless to say I bought the album and became hooked. This 3rd album is a pure gem. Every track has it's merit and I particularly praise 'The everthere and forget myself'. Guy Garvey should be up for a songwriting award with this collection. He leaves you in no doubt that life is a bit hard at times and love can tug at your heart strings. It's heart warming to think that the Brits can produce quality music, even if this band is never given the mass credit where it is clearly deserved and well overdue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Expectations, 4 Aug 2005
By 
"kdonn2410" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Leaders Of The Free World (Audio CD)
When you've a track record as sound and as promising as Elbow's is, it isn't wrong to have great expectations for their latest offering... It's alright, the boys don't disappoint.
Picking up from where 'Cast of Thousands' left off, this album develops further in just about every aspect. In terms of mood and general sound, their 2003 release felt a lot more spacious and hopeful than 'Asleep In The Back', this newie just opens everything up again making the tracks seem enormous and epic, but without losing the humble touch that makes Elbow songs so charming.
'Station Approach' kicks the album off as a gathering builder like 'Ribcage' was previously before exploding into a stomper of an anthem. 'Picky Bugger' seems understated and cute, but there are typically sinister tones in Garvey's lyrics showing that the band have far from given up on the more menacing songs in their backcatalogue. 'Forget Myself', the first single, soars mightily with a massive energy that I've never heard in Elbow before- another indication of the gutsy direction taken here. 'The Stops' takes things down a peg and is a fine example of the hard work that has gone into the production on this record (which I'll come to later). The title track that follows is perhaps the most un-elbow one here, and whilst you might be caught off guard by the bizarre out-of-character guitar bit, it's not difficult to notice the similarities with 'Coming Second' off their debut- marching along with a bite and a sharp tongue, its a real highlight and (hopefully) a single. 'An Imagined Affair' calms things down again, but seemed to pass me by a bit on the first listen- perhaps one of those growers as a song that needs attention. Following this, the boys push the boundaries once more with 'Mexican Standoff' which, again, feels like a combination of the first two albums ('Red' and 'Fallen Angel' this time) creating a whole new beast altogether.
From here, all the solid, cohesive work thats gone on takes a slightly different form to close the album. 'The Everthere' is a bit of classic Elbow which plods along in a unpresumtious manner, but has your attention nonetheless. 'My Very Best' is another of my personal faves which is serene, tender and fully sincere made complete with a few familiar contributions from the string section. Next up is 'Great Expectations' which is something of a pure love song Garvey-style. The vocals echo and the mood is deeply melancholic but intensely personal as is common in Guy's lyrics- you wouldn't argue with the truth in the stories being told here and in the other songs, all the while adding magic of this collection. 'Puncture Repair' follows the fine tradition of easy album closers and really makes you appreciate the quality of Guy's talent as a singer and lyricist.
What impresses me most about 'Leaders of the Free World', is the way it shows all of the best qualities of Elbow. It has the cynical rocking with a restless temper that showed on the first album, but still had all the hope and spaciousness that was achieved by 'Cast of Thousands'. A lot of this is down to the quality production that has gone on here. This might sound corny, but it REALLY does sound like you're in the studio with the band while they're playing and to complement this, in between songs you can hear the band having a laugh with each other or discussing drumming techniques. Whilst this effect is achieved, it doesn't sound live or have any rawness which sacrifices the special atmosphere of a really good studio recording.
I wouldn't be surprised if, after several more listens, this becomes my favourite Elbow record and in terms of the wider world, they'll blow everything else out of the water when released in September. It doesn't even sound like they're trying. Elbow are just one of those bands that regardless of what the fashion or the scene is, they carry on with things on their own terms and still achieve something that sounds as original as it did five years ago. Glorious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well........., 13 Jan 2006
This review is from: Leaders Of The Free World (Audio CD)
as you can see from other reviews this album is obviously brilliant.
previously i had heard nothing of Elbows work and only decided to get it because of the rave review in Q magazine and its true that it is a grower, but over the 2 months or so i have had it i have had 4 different "favourite songs" great expectations, leaders of the free world, the stops and station approach.
this is testiment to the sheer brilliance of the album: there really is no filler, its all killer.
Also all the other reviews here seem to also have different favourite songs with the most occuring seeming to be great expectations. try this song, give it a few listens and the u will be hooked.
BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elbow's Very Best, 16 Nov 2005
You would be forgiven for thinking that Elbow is simply a rip-off of Doves or Coldplay. Doves and Coldplay are more well-known, so they must be Elbow's inspiration, right? Wrong! Elbow have been together for over 10 years and they were writing songs for 'Asleep in the Back' before anyone had even heard of Coldplay. In fact, Chris Martin recently admitted that he used the Elbow track 'Grace Under Pressure' as inspiration for his song 'Fix You'. Unfortunately Chris Martin failed miserably in recreating the Elbow magic, but we can't blame him for wanting to imitate the sound of such an innovative and remarkable band.
I had been on the edge of my seat waiting for 'Leaders of the Free World' for what seemed decades and when it was finally released I was blown away. See, that's the brilliant thing about Elbow; it is obvious upon listening to their music that they spend time crafting each song into something truly special. There are absolutely no fillers whatsoever on this album.
The band's showcase begins with the brilliantly uplifting 'Station Approach'. The repetition of: "I never know what I want but I know when I'm low that I need to be in the town where they know what I'm like and don't mind" acts as a blinding build up to the explosive guitar/drum filled climax of the song. I also think the song is articulately constructed in the sense that it has the characteristics of a train: the drone of the wheels...the build up as the train picks up speed...the climax of noise as the train actually approaches the station...it's all been characterised by the song and it clearly demonstrates the band's immense talent. It's during this opening number that you either fall completely head over heels in love with the band as a new listener, or break out into a huge grin if you already think the band is incredible.
The rest of the album is much the same standard. The title track, 'Leaders of the Free World', is a blatant dig at Bush and Blair which manages to sound triumphant and inspiring rather than turning into yet another one of those anti-politician drones that many lesser bands would find acceptable to produce. Other stand-out tracks include the outstanding anthems 'Forget Myself' and 'Mexican Standoff', as well as beautiful ballads such as 'The Stops', 'My Very Best' and 'Great Expectations'. No song on this album fails to impress.
The bonus DVD which comes as part of this package is very skillfully made and is so much more than just a mere behind the scenes look at the recording of the album. Elbow recorded the album in a big space so 'The Soup Collective' were called in to record performances and add a bit of visual value to the whole experience. The bonus DVD contains a further song called 'McGreggor' which is rather dark and is perfect for demonstrating the sheer power and depth in Guy Garvey's voice.
Most of Elbow's songs contain build ups and climaxes and this is what makes them truly unique. I have yet to find another band which has managed to produce such diverse albums. Every single song on 'Asleep in the Back' makes me shiver from their sheer overwhelming beauty. 'Cast of Thousands' fills me with hope and calls out to my romantic side (Fugitive Motel will forever be the most romantic and awe-inspiring song I've ever heard). Rather than sticking with the exact same sound for Leaders of the Free World, Elbow have managed to "pull all the stops" and have successfully developed yet another unique masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Already, one of my favourite bands !, 4 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. R. Haden "hdrob9" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leaders Of The Free World (Audio CD)
While visiting an unamed record store, my ears were taken aback by a track, which happened to turn out to be " Mirrorball " from Elbow's, " Seldom seen kid "
On a whim, i decided to purchase, " Seldom seen kid " & " Leaders Of The Free World "....well, what can i say !! " Seldom Seen Kid " is superb, but i think " Leaders Of The Free World " is even better ! Amazing !
I've now ordered the first two albums, from Amazon, can't wait to receive them !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly undervalued, 13 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Leaders Of The Free World (Audio CD)
Once more, this is a pretty exceptional album from Elbow. Always hugely accomplished and brimming with invention, it is amongst those albums full of 'great bits', even within individual songs. Best of all is the gorgeous 'Great Expectations' - as good a track, musicallly and lyrically, as I've heard all year. Some band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leaders Of The Free World
Leaders Of The Free World by elbow (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews