Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of 2005
A mate dragged me along to a Cut Copy show in London a few months ago at Cargo and they were quite simply the most amazing band I'd seen live for a long long time.
Their influences are pretty clear...New Order, Daft Punk, Human League, ELO and French Disco as well as the likes of indie bands like Sonic Youth and My Bloody Valentine. But they were brilliant and next...
Published on 17 May 2005 by Steve Miller

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice guy
I agree with the reviewer below that Cut Copy's influences are pretty clear; New Order, Daft Punk, Human League, Zapp and Roger, Air, My Bloody Valentine... yada yada yada... but this doesn't make it a great record. All of the above were truly original, I feel that Bright Like Neon Love is not.
I found the album easy on the ear but ultimately unchallenging. There is...
Published on 1 Sep 2005 by Mr. A. A. Brittain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of 2005, 17 May 2005
This review is from: Bright Like Neon Love (Audio CD)
A mate dragged me along to a Cut Copy show in London a few months ago at Cargo and they were quite simply the most amazing band I'd seen live for a long long time.
Their influences are pretty clear...New Order, Daft Punk, Human League, ELO and French Disco as well as the likes of indie bands like Sonic Youth and My Bloody Valentine. But they were brilliant and next day I ran out to buy their CD...but it wasn't out.
Alas, a month later they've released this debut and the CD is better than I could've hoped. Starting out with a rock based electronica track it goes on a journey that takes in pop, electro, tech and finishes off with an indie rock monster - Bright Neon Payphone. Pop electro track Saturdays is the chart hit (if they release it) although the beautifully moody Future is apparantly the new single.
Daft Punk & New Order have really disappointed so it was brilliant to find this gem...more so finally it's a CD that's come out now rather than 20 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Put on your rose-tinted Ray Bans..., 18 May 2009
By 
Colin Mccartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bright Like Neon Love (Audio CD)
"Bright Like Neon Love" is music for 1980s Saturday afternoons, or the soundtrack to a lost John Hughes film. The XDR tone-burst (remember them?) between tracks 11 and 12 exemplifies the LP's nostalgic feel.

Cut Copy have an uncanny knack for being unashamedly commercial whilst retaining an arty inscrutability (perhaps no surprise then, that the KLF are referenced in the liner notes). At the same time they manage to steer clear of the kind of self-conscious trendiness all too common amongst some of their peers.

This album is a must-hear for all fans of the vintage electro-techno sound, although its appeal is undoubtedly broader than that - given that it's a dance-rock hybrid along New Order-ish lines. It's rawer and less song-based than the follow-up In Ghost Colours and all the better for it - like a more accessible alternative to Daft Punk's Homework.

If, like me, you stumbled across "Bright Like Neon Love" AFTER "In Ghost Colours", then I strongly recommend that you check this one out too - as it's arguably the stronger release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice guy, 1 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: Bright Like Neon Love (Audio CD)
I agree with the reviewer below that Cut Copy's influences are pretty clear; New Order, Daft Punk, Human League, Zapp and Roger, Air, My Bloody Valentine... yada yada yada... but this doesn't make it a great record. All of the above were truly original, I feel that Bright Like Neon Love is not.
I found the album easy on the ear but ultimately unchallenging. There is some great production and some interesting arrangements - but the record left me feeling a bit bored. It pootles along, but never really pushes any boundaries.
If this record was a person they'd be quite 'cool' and sort of interesting, but pretty lacklustre. A follower of fashion (I think the cover is wicked) but without real style. Intelligent but not really spirited. Chatty but dull. You know - 'Nice'. And no one likes a nice guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch synth pop, 8 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bright Like Neon Love (Audio CD)
Best album of 2004. Could make loads of favourable comparisons (New Order or even Prince), but wouldn't do this justice as it is very much an original collection of outstanding nu wave pop tunes that cheer you up no matter what your mood. They are going to be huge, well, they deserve to be anyway. Whether you sway towards guitars or beatboxes, you've got to love this. Buy it, I challenge anyone to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goin Nowhere, 14 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Bright Like Neon Love (Audio CD)
Think Mylo and LCD Soundsystem, if you like either of those you'll like Cut Copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2686984)

This product

Bright Like Neon Love
Bright Like Neon Love by Cut Copy (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews