Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a REAL grower....
I am listening to this album as I write this, and it gets better the more I listen to it.
On most albums there are songs u instantly like, then there are the growers... I have to admit there are quite a few growers on this album... but growers are what they are... they get better and better the more u listen to them... and that is exactly the case with Out of...
Published on 23 Jan 2005 by Ali Davies

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many weak tracks
I am finding this is happening to many times, that is albums that start with so much promise when you first hear the singles on the radio and when I finally get it in the CD player only to find that the singles were the only songs worth buying, its like they have run out of ideas already. Don't believe me, then why have they done a singles album after they have only...
Published on 11 April 2010 by Stephen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a REAL grower...., 23 Jan 2005
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
I am listening to this album as I write this, and it gets better the more I listen to it.
On most albums there are songs u instantly like, then there are the growers... I have to admit there are quite a few growers on this album... but growers are what they are... they get better and better the more u listen to them... and that is exactly the case with Out of Nothing.
The instant tracks for me were: Ashes, Gravity, Someday, Glorious Day and Out Of Nothing.
Looking As You Are, Wish 'Em All Away, Keeping, Spell It Out and Near Life are the growers; but now I like them all...
Glorious Day is my favourite track on the album... EXCELLENT SONG!!
Near Life to me is a really wierd/chilled out track... it sends shivers up my spine, for some reason.
There are no songs on this album that I don't like, and that is VERY rare for me... there aren't many albums where I like all the songs... but this one is an exception.
If you have any interest in Embrace at all, even the slightest interest... BUY THIS ALBUM... U WONT BE DISAPOINTED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantasic album with a brief (but very good) bonus DVD, 17 Nov 2004
The bonus DVD has a total of about 15 minutes footage of the four September '04 secret gigs in Birmingham, Leeds, Liverpool and Gateshead and 5 minutes footage of the Parma secret gig.
The enthusiasm of the Embrace fans and the sense of occasion are well presented and it is very well shot. One small negative is the footage of Liverpool and Gateshead (with Angel of the North backdrop) is limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Oct 2006
By 
S "S" (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
Right, so i've had this a while and i'd only really listened to a few songs (ashes, gravity and someday). Then I got bored one day and put it back on (a few months later) and I can't believe I havent appreciated this masterpiece earlier.

Aside from the single releases, the highlights are Keeping, Spell It Out, Wish em all Away, Near Life, Out of Nothing (half the album).

Keeping and Spell it out are decent, lyrically clever songs with catchy riffs which stay in your head. The lyrics to me seem quite poignent and memorable.

Near Life and Out of Nothing are like a revelation, they are atmospheric and intense, you can feel layers of sound within the songs which you can just escape into. The guitars are brilliant. Out of Nothing is one of the best songs ive heard, it starts off slow and chilled and then theres one word which sums the rest up and thats epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing, touching, they've-been-where-I've-been, stunner of an album, 14 Feb 2008
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
Out of Nothing is an album of beautiful balance. Years in the making, with a new producer who seems to have breathed new life into the band, with a hit single from Coldplay's songwriter, and with at least one heavy break-up weighing heavily on Danny McNamara's mind, Out of Nothing is an album to listen to over and over again.

In Ashes - the amazing, banging 'I don't need you' crowd favourite - and Gravity - the beautiful Chris Martin penned love song - it has two singles as good as anything Embrace have ever released. In some ways, they are both toned down Embrace - there's very little in terms of strings, for instance - but the lyrical poise, and the endearing openness make for something very unique these days: not one, but two massively infectious singles.

Throughout the beautiful Looking As You Are (perhaps the highlight of the album) and middle-of-the-album stalwarts Keeping and Spell It Out, I got a real they've-been-where-I've-been feeling, which made this album amongst my favourite ever. And that, perhaps, is where Embrace really lie. The lyrics - both in terms of the emotional torment and the ever-lasting optimism - mean an awful lot to an awful lot of people. These people will forever be Embrace fans, and it's probable that many more will be added as time goes by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this, I'm not pretentious, 15 Sep 2004
By 
J. Clifford (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
You'll love this album. As one reviewer below said, you wouldn't think Embrace would be able to come up with any more so-called anthems, but they do just that at least 3 times on this album.
"Ashes" is an amazing song, the best album-opener you could wish for, especially when you've been waiting a few years for this album to happen. "Someday" and "Spell It Out" are equally good. When you've listened to this album once or twice, you'll be singing it in your head for hours and hours.
This album is outstanding - buy it now, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace come of age, 15 Aug 2005
By 
Darryl Curtis "Max" (Shepperton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
What can you say about this album. It is simply fantastic. I rate all my songs on my ipod, and this is one of the few albums with 5, 5 star songs. Someday, A Glorious Day, Ashes, Gravity and Looking as you are are in my view some of the best songs of 2004. Roll on next weekend, when I will see them at the Festival. If you don't own it, and like Keane, Coldplay, Starsailor etc, then buy this NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the year, 31 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
I first bought this album simply because i heard 'gravity' and loved it, i thought there may be a few other good songs on the album. It turns out that every song on the album is suberb. This is definatly the best album i've ever listened to and i would strongly recomend it to anyone who likes Indie music. You must have this in your music collection it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumental, 16 April 2006
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
loads of great anthems on this cd! Lots of sing alongs! The power of these songs is what makes it a good cd for me though. My favourites are 'ashes' someday' 'glorious day' and 'out of nothing'. If you like indie or you just like songs with soul BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Danny, Daaaany, whoa Danny Mac, when are ya comin' back?, 26 Oct 2004
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
It's been a strange seven years for Huddersfield's finest. They arrived on the musical radar as gobby, cocky, shaggy haired Northerners, alienating their musical peers and winning no friends in the music press. Those, of course, were the days when we all still loved Oasis - so the chart-buying public lapped it up. 'The Good Will Out' - good being the operative word on an album far from flawless - went to number one and spawned several sizeable chart hits. Danny Macnamara's self-belief was paying off - all was going to plan. Then it went a little pear-shaped - answers on a postcard if you have any notion of why this happened. See, 2000's 'Drawn from Memory' was a wonderful progression. Not only did it retain the mass-appealing tunefulness of its predecessor - it also offered inventiveness and innovation. Quick fire instrumentals, long classical interludes...erm, kazoo solos....yes, the album was a bit kitchen sink-ish, but it was thrillingly eclectic. Yet it failed to make an impact, and sales were relatively modest. Poor choices of single releases can't have helped ('Hooligan' should be filed away as a comedy record and never be spoken of again). The decline continued with the following year's 'If You've Never Been' - an album intimate and undoubtedly passionate, but lacking in the anthemic qualities that brought the band to our attention in the first place. Sales were poor. They were dropped in 2002 by Hut - and, as red-faced as the label must feel now, frankly who could have blamed them at the time? A career round-up best of was tossed out lovelessly, which contained no new songs - yes, Embrace were in the doldrums. No one would have been surprised if we'd never heard of them again, and I'm sure that includes the band members themselves. Macnamara had failed to realise his dream.
Then - the musical fairytale of the year - Embrace reappeared late this summer on Independiente. Chris Martin is renowned for his charity work - and donating 'Gravity' to the band Coldplay once supported on tour certainly was an act of generosity. No mere Coldplay castoff, 'Gravity' was a stone cold classic. The single was a big fat Top Ten hit, paving the way for Embrace's first number one album since their debut. Suddenly, finally, Embrace are massive.
And what an album. Macnamara has been quoted as saying that, even if he was given another hundred years, he couldn't have written a better album. He's surely right - it's easily their best to date. To call an album 'perfect' sounds like hyperbole - but there are simply no criticisms to be laid here. Beautifully weighted and balanced, every moment of heartbreak and despair seems to be matched by one of positivity, of joy. No two tracks sound alike, and nor do any seem like rehashes of previous work - there's a freshness here. Choosing a highlight seems pointless - although the title track / album closer is simply outstanding; an enormous, lumpy-throated lament to lost love (a recurrent lyrical theme, always handled subtly and without melodrama - Macnamara is a sorely underrated lyricist). Okay, so it's fair to say that, despite improvements over the years, the band's front man is not the world's greatest vocalist (never did Bob Dylan any harm...). No matter - what he lacks in technical excellence, he more than makes up for in passion and soul. Tracks like 'Keeping' and 'Looking as You Are' are endearingly heartfelt and moving. In contrast, 'Near Life' is dark and menacing - territory not often explored by Embrace, but it works really well.
There's probably been a better record released in 2004 - but I sure as Hell haven't heard it. Where on Earth the band will go with album number five is anyone's guess - they've set the bar high with 'Out of Nothing'. Good on ya, Danny Mac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Quite A Revelation!', 21 Jun 2008
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Nothing (Audio CD)
Until the day I first heard their 'Gravity' single, I must admit that Embrace's music had failed to make any lasting impression upon me. Such was the quality of 'Gravity' however, I decided to give this album a try and I'm glad I did. While it turns out that 'Gravity' was actually written by Chris Martin and cohorts from Coldplay, songs like the anthemic ballad 'A Glorious Day' (my favourite track bar 'Gravity'), the wistfully sung 'Someday', rousing yet tender 'Ashes' and melodic 'Looking As You Are' prove that the band are more than capable of coming up with high quality songs of their own. 'Out Of Nothing' hangs together very well as an album listen (always a big plus with me) and has its share of light and shade along the way. While most of the songs have a commercial edge to them and great choruses, things do get decidedly more experimental towards the end of the album and 'Near Life' and the title track have a dreamy, quality about them (works less well in the title track's case, for me the weakest track on show here). If you like Coldplay and/or Radiohead ('Out Of Nothing' is very 'Street Spirit' at the beginning) you will like this record. Impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of Nothing
Out of Nothing by Embrace (UK) (Audio CD - 2005)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews