Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible
I was sad to see the relatively negative reviews about this film as I found it to be incredible. The animation was outstanding and although the dubbing isn't perfect, i've seen a lot worse on Japanese animation dubs. The English voices fit the characters pretty well, although you can't beat the original Japanese voice and reading the subtitles. The storyline was great...
Published on 24 Mar. 2007 by Spider Monkey

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks great, but the plot itself doesn't build up much steam
I'm still learning the ropes when it comes to anime, which means I can't compare Steamboy to Katsuhiro Otomo's legendary Akira. I can, however, say that I enjoyed Otomo's contribution to the film Memories more than I did Steamboy. Both share the same kind of heavily industrial world of the past, cast in sepia-like tones reflecting an atmosphere of...
Published on 31 Oct. 2005 by Daniel Jolley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Akira, 27 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Steamboy [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this because it was recommended to me as "the most expensive animated movie ever produced" and because it was made by Katsuhiro Otomo, the genius behind Akira. Although I enjoyed watching it and can't fault the animation, the bottom line is that it's not as good as Akira. What I loved about Akira, other than the phenomenal, ground-breaking animation, was the setting of Neo-Tokyo and the rebellious street-punks who got involved in dangerous political, military and scientific affairs. Steamboy is more of a children's movie whereas Akira was clearly for adults. The hero of Steamboy is pretty clean-cut and one-dimensional, not like the lovable rogue Kaneda or the bully victim turned super villain Tetsuo of Akira. Steamboy is good but if, like me, you were a huge fan of Akira back in the day, dont get your hopes up too much because as I said, it's not as good as Akira.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not that good., 16 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steamboy [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
if I would have seen a video reviw, I wouldn't buy this.
not that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steamboy [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Excellent animation and a bit weird! but a good watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steamboy (Amazon Instant Video)
Ok nothing special
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steamboy [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars animation overload, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steamboy [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
this gem of animation is set in uk funny coming from Asian animators
like the title says the animation is top notch , its all about steam as the title gives away
but with an all star cast i will leave you to enjoy the film for your self trust me its worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big film, Big diassapoiuntment, 13 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: Steamboy (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
The look and the feel of this film is fantastic! the animation is by far some of the best I have seen outside of Studio Ghibli work.

The blending of 2D and 3D CGI is seamless and adds to the fluidity and dramatic appeal of the anime.

Sadly that is where the greatness ends.

Usually anime sagas are set in Japan where their cities and environment get destroyed or changed by the events of the story. For a Japanese audience the setting of this film in Victorian London on an alternate timeline, where the world has progressed in a different direction to what we know must be fascinating. Much in the same way that we find life in Japan fascinating through anime.

The problem with this film is the storyline and the audio dub. It is absolute rubbish! Its poorly acted and because the storyline is modified to fit the audio dub the whole film is tiresome and dull.

When compared to anime greats like Laputa Castle in the Sky from Studio Ghibli ( Steam boy draws great parallels on what could be imagined as the events leading up to what / why Laputa was created ) this film has everything you could want from a fairytale fantasy story, apart from the all important good story.

The attention to detail and the designs of the buildings and machines is fantastic, some really great anime. This reason alone is enough to make you sit through and endure the poor acting and story line.

I'm sure that in another 6 years when a better audio dub is created and the storyline adjusted to suit, this film will be everything it should of been first time out.

If you want a good anime story, for the children or the child inside the adult ( we've all got one ) then Laputa is the film for you.

If you want a good looking anime and your not bothered about the story then buy Steam Boy.

The whole story is marred by the fact that the technology and workings of the story are biased on real things we know cannot work in the way they are depicted. The essence of good fiction / fantasy is the fact that the technology and magic work with no need for explanation.

In Steam Boy the story is flawed before it even left the drawing board. We have developed far beyond steam power and understand the technology behind steam all too clearly for this film to be even remotely engaging on a technical / fantasy level.

For a 2 million production budget and for Patrick Stuart, far too much was spent on the anime and not enough on the audio and story...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but..., 23 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Steamboy [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have nothing to add to the previest reviews, except the fact that this version doesn't have the original Japonese language option. The US voices are ok, but nothing compares to the original Japonese voices. Ence the 3 stars rate for the DVD release. The movie itself gets a 4 stars rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but there are better anime cartoons out there., 12 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Steamboy [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
While this film is reasonable, it lacks the magic of other anime cartoons such as Castle In The Sky, Spirited Away and Porcco Rosso.

The animation is modern and crisp and I'm sure you'll recognise a few of the voices, but these features just can't make up for the poor plot and lack of character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steamboy [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steamboy (Director's Cut) [DVD]
Steamboy (Director's Cut) [DVD] by Katsuhiro Otomo (DVD - 2006)
£38.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews