Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great CD
Reel big fish return with We're Not Happy Till You're Not Happy and its definately worth buying. The album has had pretty much no advertising whatsoever, but never mind...
If you liked the other Reel Big Fish albums, then this will offer the same, and more. Its very different to the band's previous release, Cheer Up, which was a lot more rock based than the other ska...
Published on 5 July 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible sound quality.
After listening to Our Live album is better than your live album then listening to this CD I could get over how bad the sound quality is on this,there are some great songs on here Your guts(I hate em)Awesome,Turn The Radio off,but they always did sound better live.

Get it if you like the fish and need to complete your collection but if your new to them start...
Published on 27 May 2007 by S. Williamson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great CD, 5 July 2005
By A Customer
Reel big fish return with We're Not Happy Till You're Not Happy and its definately worth buying. The album has had pretty much no advertising whatsoever, but never mind...
If you liked the other Reel Big Fish albums, then this will offer the same, and more. Its very different to the band's previous release, Cheer Up, which was a lot more rock based than the other ska based albums. However, this CD combines all the different styles Reel Big Fish have to offer very nicely, enforcing the ska style a little more than Cheer Up. Highlights include The Fire (which has a great fill in the middle), Don't Start a Band (which has a great guitar part) and the cover Story of my Life (which just makes you wanna dance, like most of Reel Big Fish's songs)
Although the album's lyrical content could hint towards a split in the near future, you can feel safe in the knowledge that it just fits in with the 'character of the album' that Aaron talks about on their Myspace website. Also, it sounds as though the band are playing live at a gig or something, which is different to the usual reel big fish sound on a record. However, you get used to it, and it just makes the album sound different and fresh.
If you're new to Reel Big Fish, i recommend you get Why Do They Rock So Hard or Turn The Radio Off, as they are perhaps the best albums they have to offer so far. But although this may not be one of their best CDs, it still lives up to expectations and sounds pretty damn good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Right Bitter Return, 6 Jun 2005
On 'We're Not Happy...', Reel Big Fish exchange the maturity and happiness of 'Cheer Up' for an angry and bitter tone. Not since 'Everything Sucks' has the band been in this kind of mood, and thankfully it has not effected the music.
Of course being Reel Big Fish, the new album contains a fair share of covers, most notably giving Tracy Chapman's 'Ain't Talkin 'Bout A Revolution' a ska/reggae face-lift. The best of the three covers is in my mind 'Story of my Life' originally by Social Distortion, with good vocals and a nice reggae groove.
From their own material, the band has managed to polish and refine the songwriting with such gems as the self explanatory 'Don't Start A Band' or the catchiest song about a broken relationship in recent memory 'Say Goodbye'.
My favourites have got to be A-W-E-S-O-M-E as it is the most uplifting song on the record and its is a great party song and the other would be 'One Hit Wonderful' as it is a nice anthem to bring us into the closing moments of the record.
As Aaron states 'We've got the fire/but does it mean anything?', well it does and believe me that fire is still going strong, hopefully this rumour won't be true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its the Fish Jim, but not as we know it.............., 15 Jun 2005
By 
RBF have produced a CD that is, well.......... different.
Contrary to popular misconception RBF have never been a 'happy' band- examine past work, remove the music and often all that is left is a jokey diatribe against the music industry. With tongue firmly removed from cheek however, this album provides possibly the biggest insight into the bands soul. The album deals with a number of changes- line up, Aaron's singing style, guitars higher in the mix, and gang vocals are brought in. There are tracks comparable to their previous highs and the rest is commendable though to me lacking direction. My biggest disappointment was the lack of Scott Klopfensteins writing (only two co-written songs) where anyone who has picked up his side project The Littlest Man Band (Brand New Hero Records) will have seen his undoubted talent; a talent criminally underused here. Another criticsm is the use of cover songs, though given the relentless industry bashing these provide welcome respite. Overall, like most long time fish fans i am left puzzled but ultimately happy that the release of a new album gives the band the chance to tour these shores once again.
Away from WNHTYNH id like to say a few things:
For those thinking this could be the last we hear of the So-cal heroes, take it with a pinch of salt. Lack of advertising on both sides of the pond, and with no video or single release on the horizon, to me goes some way to indicating the main target of this albums hate, Jive and its lack of support, rather than the band directly.
I'd also offer some positives for fans. The break up of Forces of Evil may leave Aaron to channel some 'purer' ska songs back into the fish, their recent rejuevanted live performances have attracted wide acclaim, and if Scot is allowed more input then i can see RBF bettering their previous efforts.
I urge evryone to support the band in the face of the deluge of emo ident-i-kit bands that labels are forcefeeding 'the scene', go to their shows, get their side project releases and show the band they do have something to be positive about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Reel Big Fish album to date but possibly their last?, 20 May 2005
This album is incredible. From the first few notes of 'The Fire' to the weird obscure hidden at the end. This is Reel Big Fish how they used to be, there's still the upbeat tunes and more depressed style lyrics but something is different. ok so theres not huge amount of horns but thats understandable with the ever decreasing horn section, and the songs have a more reggae note but theres something more than that. The band have been split with side projects so maybe thats had influence or maybe its just these guys aren't kids fresh out of SoCal anymore. They are more disillusioned by the industry. But in saying that if i were to compare this to any of their previous work it would be 'Everything Sucks'. It seems everyone is saying this will be their last album but hasn't that been said about every new album? alot of thought has gone into this album and the fish are showing the range of influences in the covers they have chosen though the one that to me stands out is the beautifully sublime reggae version of tracy chapman's 'Talkin' Bout a Revolution'. i have to say there's less of the harmonies between Scott and Aaron the vocal style is less varied. Although no one song stands out as a collection they are stunning. This is still the RBF you know and love just a more mature industry wise RBF. However, Finally they have written a song called 'Turn the Radio Off' so maybe this is the end......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a go..., 8 Mar 2006
By 
Rusty Shackleford (England - somewhere) - See all my reviews
Let me start by saying that if you want the classic ska-punk sound that you have heard of involving Reel Big Fish, then get 'Turn The Radio Off'. However if you have the early albums,try this one. I'll admit it is not the greatest slice of ska-punk I have heard, but it is unique. Guaranteed you will never have heard an album like this, and I really like it.
The usual horn section is here, although not as predominantly as earlier albums, but they are used effectively rather over-the-top. The rest of the band sounds great, and has a cool new sound, very different from before. Its got a sort of reggae feel to it, which is particularly catchy on 'Story Of My Life' a Social Distortion cover. The best songs are 'Last Show' and 'Say Goodbye', both very bitter but great songs. I like those songs so much I'm willing to put them in my top 5 RBF songs.
To sum up, if you haven't got Turn The Radio Off' (or 'Favorite Noise') get that, but if you want an interesting ska-punk album get this. Hey, the way ska is going these days, this might be th last ever genuine ska-punk album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The final straw, 26 Jun 2007
This album was great for any Fish listener. While not as Ska-heavy as Turn the Radio Off and Why do they Rock so Hard, it is a refreshing turn around from Cheer Up, which was completely different from all other RBF albums and the peak of them being sell outs. This album lyrically bashes their record label as well as the whole music industry more than ever before, and ultimately, finally freed them from Jive. I'd describe RBF as the happiest angry band ever, and this album brings it out entirely. These lyrics are some of the most anger-filled words ever, tied in with RBF's signiture up-beat sound. I'd recommend this album for all lovers of the RBF, young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible sound quality., 27 May 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After listening to Our Live album is better than your live album then listening to this CD I could get over how bad the sound quality is on this,there are some great songs on here Your guts(I hate em)Awesome,Turn The Radio off,but they always did sound better live.

Get it if you like the fish and need to complete your collection but if your new to them start with Cheer Up or Why do they rock so hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a new album - a new direction, 7 July 2005
By A Customer
I agree with other reviewers that this album might be the last that RBF will produce - i hope not. I admire the band for their breakaway from their usual brassy upbeat singable songs to this more dynamic sound. A-W-E-S-O-M-E is a great song. basically i have to say although different this new sound suits the band and may gain new supporters in the long run. However like the caddie's Rock the Plank this may just be a concept who knows?
in short buy this album cos a) its from the fish and b) i believe that like all the other albums its just so catchy that you want to keep listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swan songs?, 19 May 2005
By 
Mr. S. D. Allin (Enfield, Middx, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok, first off the new album is good, very good in fact, but it doesn't quite scale the dizzy heights reached on their previous and to date best album "Cheer Up". If you like melodic ska-punk then this is definitely worth the money.
All of the Reel Big Fish hallmarks are here, energetic beats, cool brass sounds and self-deprecating humour and of course the unexpected choice of covers (Tracy Chapman's "Talkin' 'bout a Revolution" & Morrisey's "We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful"). It's pretty much what you would expect from the band and none the worse for it in my eyes...but!
There are some seriously dark omens on this record, gallows humour seems to be the order of the day and this is in my opinion the sound of a band reaching the end of their tether and counting the days until their ongoing battle with record labels, promoters, radio stations,etc. is over and done with for good. The lyrics are laced with malice and resignation to failure and a fair dollop of self-loathing thrown in for good measure. I think Aaron probably needs therapy if these lyrics are heartfelt and serious and about his private life rather than the band! If not, then it sounds like a final F**k you to the music industry before they call it a day.
Shame if that's the case as the world needs bands like Reel Big Fish to combat some of the lifeless po-faced music that seems to dominate the airwaves these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm..., 1 May 2005
By 
Philip Millar "phil_millar" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After a first listen, it's obvious this will be the last Reel Big Fish album, and that saddens me. I've always held the fish in high regard. This album isn't the best stuff they've ever done, and there are no obvious singles like on other albums they've done. There's a nice little cover of 'We hate it when our friends become successful' by Morrissey, with the lyrics changed a tad ("And if its No Doubt, then it's even worse")
There are a few more tracks that seem to point at song writer Aarons ever growing frustration with both the music industry, and fan reaction to his band.
It seems like the album none of the band wanted to make, a lot of the songs seem a bit sloppy lyrically, with more than a few references to leaving it all behind, all in all it's just not a great album, unlike my favourite, 'Why do they rock so hard?'
To sum up, if you really want more reel big fish, buy it, but if you want more energetic so-cal ska-punk with Aaron Barret singing, buy The Forces of Evil album, which is a CD made of pure awesome that should leave your CD player for weeks on end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews