Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars40
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2005
The clone wars is more than just a spin off cartoon from the films, it is the definative story which tells the story of what happens between episodes two and three. We get to see who the Republic fairs against the seperatists, the Jedi command armies and fleets in battle. Oh you also see Yoda kick some more ass.
Fans of Samurai Jack will love this the fast paced action and little diologue will seem familliar, even if you've never seen Samurai Jack any star wars fans will love this. Even if your not this is well worth a look at.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 January 2006
After watching Star Wars Episode 2 and Epsiode 3, I came across Star Wars Clone Wars. To anyone not familiar with Star Wars Clone Wars, it takes place between the films of Episodes 2 & 3. Although this is only the first volume, it contains enough material to keep any die hard Star Wars fan entertained and wanting more from the second volume.
When Clone Wars aired on TV in the US, it was in the form of a 4-5 minute mini series. These 4-5 minute episodes have now been put together on this DVD as one long continuous story. Of course, you can still watch the individual epsiodes if necessary. The whole story plays seamlessly and if I hadn't have known that it was split into 20 individual episodes, then I would have assumed that that's how it was intended. It is handy however to view each chapter/episode on it's own.
The story picks up after Episode 2 where the Clone Wars begin. The story as a whole follows Anakin on his journey to the dark side and his part in the Clone Wars. It also features such characters as Jedi Master's Mace Windu and Yoda, a new Sith called Asajj Ventress, the bounty hunter Durge and a sneaky peek at General Grievous. You really get to see Mace Windu kick ass in this DVD, you may have seen Yoda at his best in the movies, but Mace Windu takes some beating over 2 episodes. Some episodes are better than others, the best ones I keep playing over and over again. But parts of the story are a little slow or uninteresting, particularly if some of these parts of the story are watched as an individual episode.
As a whole the story works and is an interesting and fun DVD to watch. As far as individual episodes go, you'll only want to watch the best ones over and over, which really is only about half a dozen in my view. But it's a good thing you can just view the best bits as individual episodes.
The special features aren't really much to shout about though. More behind the scenes footage would have been a plus, particularly for someone like myself who is interested in animation and would have liked to have seen more of how it was put together and created, etc. There is an Episode 3 trailer on the DVD which was OK to watch when I bought the DVD, but now that the film is out on DVD I don't think it's really worth much viewing now anyway.
I have given the DVD 5 stars anyway. As a Star Wars fan I simply had to get it, loved the animation, loved the story and the characters were great too. I can't wait to get the second volume now. If you're a Star Wars fan then get it, if you're not into Star Wars too much then still get it, I can recommend it. Great fun for kids and adults alike.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This is a review of both parts of the Star:Wars Clone Wars 2-D animated series.

This is fun, exciting and fresh, and the best Star Wars since the original trilogy.

Originally broadcast in 4 or 5 minute segments, this still works wonderfully as a single cut-together entity, almost entirely due to the canny filmmakers who wisely used cliffhanger devices between segments, thus providing the dramatic glue to allow the cut-together version to work well.

The animation is simple but very effective, the action is well choreographed and exciting (in Volume 1, there's a battle between Mace Windu and, well, a droid army, that's just fantastic), and it never flags. We get some important insight into Annakin's journey, Yoda's powers, and how General Grievous got where he got.

Thoroughly recommended, the crowning achievement to date of Star Wars, since Return of the Jedi.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
The original broadcast of this cartoon was a series of shorts that lasted a few minutes at most, but what kept me coming back for more was because it was the front lines of the actual Clone Wars- something we had never seen and wouldn't see until the (in my opinion) rather ropy Clone Wars reboot series.

What we have here is all 20 episodes of the cartoon edited into one hour long feature, and I love it. It may be too much action for some but I reiterate my point that these were originally shorts, and so time constraints obviously apply. It centres mostly around Obi-Wan and Anakin, but we get cameos from Yoda, Mace Windu, Kit Fisto and some Sith too.

We have no idea what a powerful Force user is capable of because of the limitations Lucas had during his original trilogy, and we get to see a better example of what he wanted the Force to be in the prequels. With that in mind it we can just about justify the amount of OTT Force battles.

Get this if you want some glorious front line combat in the SW universe, and if you like this then seek out Volume 2. There's a huge amount of Special Features, and this series was the first to completely cover the character of General Grievous.

I might sound like an avid fan boy but I remind you of the star rating I gave it, and it deserves those 3 stars. I could have given it 4 but because it is pure action, and due to the length of it overall, it loses some quality. Replay value comes in too, which is limited of course.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 April 2008
Gendy Tartakovsky's interpretation of the 'Star Wars' mythology is faithful to Lucas' original creations and injects a good deal more energy in each segment that seemed to largely elude the official prequels. Actually, watching the cartoons filled in a lot of blanks that Lucas himself appeared to have left hanging from 'Revenge of the Sith' and 'Clone Wars' brings the story together neatly.

This first installment is probably my favourite by a shade and it's highly enjoyable watching the Jedi leading the Clones into many a scuffle with the Separatist droids. Anakin's struggle with his emotions is well conveyed too and his clashes with Obi-Wan are nicely done. His duel with Sith apprentice Asajj Ventress is superbly directed and it's genuinely gripping stuff.

My only gripe about the cartoons was the slightly over-emphasised Jedi powers, for example Mace Windu taking out an entire droid battalion with his hands (oh come on...why bother with lightsabres in that case?!) But the entertainment value alone means this is a great way to while away a Sunday morning, though it's authenticity to the Star Wars canon will no doubt divide some fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2005
I first saw this series on Toonami a year or so back now. I was instantly hooked by the fantastic atmosphere, animation and plot of the series. You can clearly see the connection of styles between this series and the Samurai Jack series (also extremely good) in that so much attention is paid to creating a believeable and realistic atmosphere. So much so that it feels like you are really in the midst of the clone wars themselves. As has been said by the person before me, the Lightsabre duel between anakin and Ventress is one highlight of the series. Others include Yoda's expedition to a 'Hoth-esque' planet to rescue two Jedi (in which we get to see how lightsabres are made!), the Mace Windu episode which see's him demolish a droid army and a huge ship that squashes troops (no joke) all by himself, and the grand finale which introduces the fantastic character General Grievous. If only all people had seen this scene, there would be a lot less complaints about how Greivous was 'too pathetic' in ROTS. He single handedly kills off 6 or so Jedi, even without seperating his arms!
All in all, a fantastic buy and I can't wait for Volume 2!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2007
Then this is for you. The precursor to Ep III shows in a fantastic setting where the future for the whole franchise will be - as with Homer's Iliad - Homer left the minor poets to fill in the lesser stories - so George Lucas must be content to let others tell the stories of the minor characters. If you enjoy Japanese anime then you should enjoy this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2005
This Volume is 20 Chapters long in Cartoon style of telling the Clone Wars between the films of Star Wars II and III (three years in all). Volume 1 Starts just after Atack of the Clones and each episode is 3 minutes long. Popular in the USA, this is a very good DVD for any Star Wars fan or child who loves the films. The chapters show how Anakin changes through time but also shows how Count Dooku and Darth Sideous work together and the introduction of General Grievious in the last episode shows how he came to power briefly. You go to underwater worlds, snow worlds, secret locations and jungles for the chapters.
It is worth buying and watching over and over again. If you have not seen the last chapters from the USA you will also love Volume 2 when it is realsed which by popular demand in the US have been made longer.
Excellent entertainment and great story telling.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2005
Give in and don't see it as a cartoon. Kind of surprise-surprise for a SW fan. I started watching kind of forced by my Son but suddenly found myself waiting eagerly for the next episode. Furthermore if some characters are to be important parts of Episode III plot, than NOT seeing this would be a serious mistake ;-)
To sum up: a lot of good action, amazing fights and creatures and last but not least - the Force is definitely still there...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 August 2007
THE STORY:
The Clone Wars rage across the galaxy and everywhere, from Dantooine to Mon Calamari, the Jedi are called on to lead the forces of the Republic. Obi-Wan Kenobi is tasked with leading an army in a strike against a Separatist stronghold, whilst Anakin Skywalker finds himself the target of a Dark Jedi assassin.

WHAT'S GOOD:
These cartoons, which can be watched as short vignettes or as a single movie, do a great job of capturing the dynamic visual element of the Star Wars movies, be it the colossal space battle to the fierce lightsaber duel. Basically, what we have here is pure fun distilled from the Star Wars mythos. There's also lots of cool elements throughout from the ARC Troopers to Anakin going a little bit Darth Vader. The last episode on this DVD is by the far the best as it features a team of Jedi getting the snot kicked out of them by the cyborg General Grievous (this was made before Lucas wrote the wheezing coward seen in Episode III).

WHAT'S BAD:
The cartoons, when originally released, were only a few minutes long each. This means that they never achieve much in the way of depth of sophistication. Also, Anakin is an irritating little bugger (but we can lay that crime at the feet of George Lucas himself).

Overall, this is a great bit of entertainment and is far superior to 'Attack of the Clones' itself.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse