Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run Lovejoy Run!
They cut Sampson's hair and he lost his power. The same parallel might be drawn in the final series of Lovejoy. McShane beautiful locks were clipped short and the show really lost a lot of it's power. While the episodes were funny, they lacked their earlier brilliance, like a song heard one time too many. They were still great fun, but Lady Jane and Eric and the long...
Published on 27 July 2005 by Deborah MacGillivray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars lovjoy series 6
i find lovejoy very good series it has some good story lines it is amazed me why they have not made any more since it finishen because it had good tv ratings
Published on 28 Feb 2009 by Anthony P. Ramster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run Lovejoy Run!, 27 July 2005
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
They cut Sampson's hair and he lost his power. The same parallel might be drawn in the final series of Lovejoy. McShane beautiful locks were clipped short and the show really lost a lot of it's power. While the episodes were funny, they lacked their earlier brilliance, like a song heard one time too many. They were still great fun, but Lady Jane and Eric and the long term fellowship between them and Lovejoy is just sadly missing. Lovejoy's relationship with Charlotte grows more serious and he finally pops the question. The wedding doesn't go off, with cameos by Lady Jane and Eric. Think they just made Lovejoy too tame at this point, little resembling the rascal divvy conjured from the twisted mine of Jonathan Gash.
Episode include:
Fair Exchange
Day of Reckoning
Somewhere Over the Rainbow
Double Edged Sword
Guns and Roses
Last of the Uzkoks
Breaking the Broker
Fruit of the Desert
Holding the Baby
The Tango in Lavenham
As will all previous episodes you get an interview with McShane discussing Lovejoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovejoy Complete Series 6, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. J. E. Murray (Adelaide Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Timeless fun in each hourly episode. You can watch these, again and again.

Bright locations, great acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sad end to a great series., 10 Jun 2009
This review is from: Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The last of the Lovejoy series is missing his main sidkicks, Tiinker and Eric are missing as is his foil Charlie Gimbert. Beth, his new assistant fits the bill perfectly. Lady Jane has been replaced by another love interest. Charlotte is attractive and a bit less gullable than Lady Jane but no less interesting. The stories are still very well crafted and the world of antiques in no less facinating. The new characters play well with Ian McShane and add a a new facet to the show. Though it is not the same it is every bit as good to watch and still very much fun to watch. The last episode brings the eniter old cast less Charlie Gimbert together again and is typical Lovejoy. Filmed in the english countryside and auction houses it is a wonderful completion to the collection. As they say always leave them wanting more. It is best that they left on a high note rather than the series becoming old and tired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovejoy - complete series 6, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I bought this as i planned a trip to long melford in suffolk , where this is filmed , and i also fancy caroline langrishe !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovejoy, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Very happy. My husband is an Ian McShane fan, so this was a perfect gift.
We now have the complete series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovejoy, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Being a big fan of Lovejoy , this copleted my set of dvds. All the stories are good . Wasnt keen on the end but I still love the character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VINTAGE TV, 30 May 2009
By 
M. M. Reed (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Really enjoyed Lovejoy. A watchable family show, both amusing and entertaining. Always liked this series as it is set in East Anglia and some filmed local to me. With the current spate of TV programmes on antiques today it is good to watch, what must have been the original series based on the antiques world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lovjoy series 6, 28 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
i find lovejoy very good series it has some good story lines it is amazed me why they have not made any more since it finishen because it had good tv ratings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005]
Lovejoy - Complete Series 6 [DVD] [2005] by Ian McShane (DVD - 2005)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews