Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best live albums ever!
I first bought the original version of this live cd back in 1995 and enjoyed it immensely on a long car journey to Munich. It struck me at the time that this could only be a small part of the original concert at the Glasgow Barrowlands. Sure enough, here it is in its full glory, the whole concert including in-between track banter from the great Stuart Adamson. Introducing...
Published on 31 July 2005 by Martyn Hewitt

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 20 minutes too long
This would have been so much more enjoyable if around twenty minutes has been cut, but I'm not talking about the music. On the Cd cover are the words: "The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowland Show". And it means what it says. In other words it includes all the audience applause, cheering, whistling, stamping, and joining in on the songs which is often really distracting. I'm not...
Published on 2 July 2010 by Ian Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best live albums ever!, 31 July 2005
By 
Martyn Hewitt (Faversham, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Without The Aid Of A Safety Net - The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowlands Show (Live) (Audio CD)
I first bought the original version of this live cd back in 1995 and enjoyed it immensely on a long car journey to Munich. It struck me at the time that this could only be a small part of the original concert at the Glasgow Barrowlands. Sure enough, here it is in its full glory, the whole concert including in-between track banter from the great Stuart Adamson. Introducing themselves as the 'support act' Big Country launch into an acoustic set that showcases their dexterity as musicians and ability to secure their audience participitation. In the present political climate, the rendition of Rocking in the Free World is a must. What scores ultimately is the transition from acoustic to out and out electric attack from a band that can hold its with the best of them. Check out 'What are you Working For' and 'Steeltown' for sheer rock indulgence. Remember this band supported Page and Plant back in 1995, check this out and see why. One of the best live albums ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last..., 12 Jun 2008
By 
P. Wills - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Without The Aid Of A Safety Net - The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowlands Show (Live) (Audio CD)
The whole gig re-released - I could never understand the way record companies would only release half a BC gig. The gigs were epic just as their songs were anthems. Probably the best band in the world ever. Stuart probably the nicest guy ever. This electric set was some of the hottest form of their careers. STAY ALIVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Country - A Great Loss, 15 Mar 2008
This review is from: Without The Aid Of A Safety Net - The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowlands Show (Live) (Audio CD)
To lead one of the most underrated bands ever to come out of the UK, one can only imagine the torment and frustration of Stuart Adamson. And this concert, this one gig of thousands, tells you exactly why Big Country rates amongst the best guitar bands ever. Forget their pionering 'bagpipe' sound that would stir the blood of anyone, let alone the Scots, forget the rhythm section that would power a space shuttle, the sublime interaction of Stuart and Bruce. Instead, immerse yourself in the inspired renditions of their finest hour, in their granite interpretations of several classics but most of all gain insight to one of the greatest bands of our time, in their dignity whilst those with less talent than in Stuart's little finger rose to 'greater' heights, in their effortless display of skillset that is simply breathtaking and sadly, into a mindsight that gives away a little of their undeserved future. Shame on you, music industry, shame on you, facile consumer, for foresaking a band of this magnitude. We can but grasp at what was, and celebrate that we have it rendered in DTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was there - The Barrowlands - late December 1993, 24 July 2008
By 
JEB (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Without The Aid Of A Safety Net - The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowlands Show (Live) (Audio CD)
Fortunately, I was at this gig at the Barrowlands. I saw Big Country on numerous occassions including their support of Queen at Knebworth in August 1986, but in my opinion this was Big Country's finest hour eclipsing even their performance at the Glasgow Apollo in October 1984.
Everything was just right - the band played magnificently and the Barrowlands' crowd responded accordingly, and then some. My only regret is that I missed the start of the accoustic set as I was not aware Big Country were actually supporting themselves by opening with an accoustic set. In terms of the music this is a must buy if you like Big Country or if you appreciate great songs from a band that really could cut it live -2,3,4 where did the feeling go!!!!!! - well it hasn't gone and long may Stuart's spirit live on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 17 Years Too Short, 22 Sep 2010
By 
Bruno Broughton (Newport, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Without The Aid Of A Safety Net - The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowlands Show (Live) (Audio CD)
This double CD is simply divine and should rank as one of the greatest ever live recordings. The musicianship is superb, the interaction with the audience quite wonderful, and the whole performance crackles with the excitement that was and forever will be Big Country. Unique, brilliant and enduring.

Anyone fortunate enough to have not just seen (as if!) but been swept along on emotional roller-coaster that was a B.C concert will already know that this was one of the best bands ever, unsurpassable as a live act. For the curious, just buy this fantastic recording and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally blown away, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Without The Aid Of A Safety Net - The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowlands Show (Live) (Audio CD)
This has to be the best live album I have ever heard.The audience participation makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end.I think Big Country are the most underated band ever ,this recording proves they are up there with the best of them.This is worth 10 stars let alone 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best live cd....ever, 29 April 2014
By 
Giovannini Pascal (Bern, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without The Aid Of A Safety Net - The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowlands Show (Live) (Audio CD)
After releasing the best rock cd of the decade, Big Country topped it by bringing out the best live cd....this was the most fantastic time in my Big Country's fan time. Brillliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars live music as it should be, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without The Aid Of A Safety Net - The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowlands Show (Live) (Audio CD)
What can you say stuart bruce tony and mark showing these new bands what good music should sound like live and how to perform.a few new bands should listen and learn.big country were and still are fantastic live.mr adamson was king on stage a great man in every way sadly missed but what great songs he left us to enjoy and remember
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 20 minutes too long, 2 July 2010
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without The Aid Of A Safety Net - The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowlands Show (Live) (Audio CD)
This would have been so much more enjoyable if around twenty minutes has been cut, but I'm not talking about the music. On the Cd cover are the words: "The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowland Show". And it means what it says. In other words it includes all the audience applause, cheering, whistling, stamping, and joining in on the songs which is often really distracting. I'm not against this completely; it's a live concert after all, but judicious editing can still convey the flavour without it getting in the way of the music which is what most people who buy this actually want to hear.

As for the music, it's fine though I'm not as enamoured of the acoustic section as some people -I came for loud electric guitar. Unexpected bonuses are a couple of Neil Young covers, one from the acoustic and one from the electric sections, which I'm always up for.

This is a good live album but it's spoiled for me by an excess of audience contributions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews