Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Debut
I was fortunate to see this band on the recent Jim Beam music tour with 'Dogs' and 'The Raveonettes' on the same bill. Having heard a promo of all ten songs on the album I would highly recommend it. Very similar in essence to The Cooper Temple Clause but a bit more mainstream. Stand out tracks include All You Do Is Talk, We Have This Place Surrounded, Lay Me Down, and...
Published on 1 May 2005

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just starting
If you are coming to The Boxer Rebellion late in the day, then I'd suggest you don't start with this early album. It's the sound of a band finding its feet. They can't decide whether they should be the new Radiohead (the scratchy bits) or Oasis (the shouty bits). For fans, you can hear the ideas beginning to form. The closing track 'The Absentee' begins to spread its...
Published 8 months ago by E. R. Hartley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Debut, 1 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
I was fortunate to see this band on the recent Jim Beam music tour with 'Dogs' and 'The Raveonettes' on the same bill. Having heard a promo of all ten songs on the album I would highly recommend it. Very similar in essence to The Cooper Temple Clause but a bit more mainstream. Stand out tracks include All You Do Is Talk, We Have This Place Surrounded, Lay Me Down, and Cowboys And Engines. If this band get the air play they deserve they could become very big indeed. The only reason I did'nt give this 5 stars was because of the lack of a few of their earlier singles which are even better than some of the other album tracks (Code Red, Empty, and In Pursuit surely should have been included). All in all an excellent debut album and a great live act. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars found this out of nowhere!, 1 Sep 2010
By 
no way.....WAY! "chris" (london,peterborough,sheffield) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
on my first listen i instantly fell in love with it.tremendous debut.

i like to keep things short and sweet so here goes.from what i listen to i can draw similarities from kasabian(early),the subways and white lies.the depth of kasabian, the powerfull guitars of the subways and the emotion of white lies. but with there own spin of course which is this whole double edged sword.incredibly mellow, dark, meaningfull slow songs on one hand and powerfull, explosive guitars on the other making for some outrageously righteous modern post punk.and being a drummer myself i can report the drumming is superb and fits the songs so well.really suprised this band havent reached dizzier heights yet.

a solid 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Glastonbury Highlight, 19 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
I stumbled into the Bud tent next to The Other stage at about 5.30pm on the Sunday at this year's Glastonbury in an attempt to escape the sun and The Bravery. I bought myself a beer and sat on a sofa. There was a band playing. They sound pretty good, I thought. Actually, they sound awesome. A glance at a poster on the bar told me they were 'The Boxer Rebellion'. But don't let a clumsy name put you off. Their sound is HUGE. Interesting that they were being watched by Alan Magee that day, as Boxer Rebellion remind me of a lot of his Creation signings in the early nineties - Ride, House of Love, Swervedriver - but with songs big enough to fill a stadium. I was instantly hooked. So I bought this album. And it sounds every bit as vital as that gig. Lots of highlights, but 'We Have This Place Surrounded' and 'Lay Me Down' are big, brooding classics that would bring a tear to the eye of Chris Martin and Gary Lightbody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars boxer rebellion - Exits, 13 May 2010
By 
Michael Rogers "60's bloke" (South coast,Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
First heard of this band only a few months ago on a Manchester tv channel.Exits has a similar feel to Radiohead in this album (in my humble opinion)which is great for me.
Takes a few plays to get into....love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB-tastic, 21 Jan 2010
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
Caught a brief overview of this band on a recent Channel 4 show, prompted me to but the album. Can honestly say they are brilliant I honestly don't know why these aren't better known than they currently are. 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Amazing., 4 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
Noise-Scapes. Yep. Dunno what it means either, but it seems to cover this debut album from TBR. The Boxer's have managed between the four of them, to create emotive sounds and stimulate the senses. Hit by a wall of feedback from intro Flight, flowing easily into All You Do Is Talk. We Have This Place Surrounded, mellows the sounds out, allowing Nathan's voice to change from a growl (kinda TCTC style for those who need comparisons) to higher softer notes. Live favourite Watermelon followed by The New Heavy show the hard rock side to TBR. Piano, voice and guitar track, World Without End then takes you back to the calm, chilled music. Never Knowing How or Why and its great drumming, Lay Me Down (another Live fave) and Cowboys and Engines all provide a great lead up to finale The Abesentee. Starting softly and quiet into an 'epic'. Great Album. One everyone should own...Get it, then go see them live. AMAZING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beg, steal or borrow..., 16 May 2006
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
Get hold of this album any way you can...it is superb. It promises so much, delivers on all fronts and suggests that The Boxer Rebellion have the potential to become one of the most enduring bands of the next five years.

It is almost as if Elbow met Radiohead on a good day, jammed in perfect harmony and produced this CD of bliss. It was then handed to Muse for a few moments who tweaked and prodded just enough to discover that the outcome was breathtaking. They are awesome live, awe-inspiring on CD and this is only the beginning. Get thee to a music shop and purchase at once...you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just starting, 18 Dec 2013
By 
E. R. Hartley "Axel North" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
If you are coming to The Boxer Rebellion late in the day, then I'd suggest you don't start with this early album. It's the sound of a band finding its feet. They can't decide whether they should be the new Radiohead (the scratchy bits) or Oasis (the shouty bits). For fans, you can hear the ideas beginning to form. The closing track 'The Absentee' begins to spread its wings and you can sense from that track what's to come. And can I stress, what is to come, is some of the best modern music made in the 21st century, so I wouldn't want people thinking this review was being churlish. You can forgive the lack of melody and the stretches of feedback when their next three albums are so special. I'd start with The Cold Still or Promises and work your way back. A great group setting out on a fantastic journey, but as I've said, if you are new to the them, it's one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET IT, 4 May 2005
By 
Mark T. Zeigler (London, UK and Tallahassee, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
I am in London and just found this disc. WHAT A SOUND! I would call it "Coldplay with an edge and meaning." It is fresh, hard, melodic, driving. For those of you wanting to be on the cutting edge of new music, I highly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Get it Now, 3 May 2005
By 
Mark T. Zeigler (London, UK and Tallahassee, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exits (Audio CD)
I am in London and just found this disc. WHAT A SOUND! I would call it "Coldplay with an edge and meaning." It is fresh, hard, melodic, driving. For those of you wanting to be on the cutting edge of new music, I highly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exits
Exits by Boxer Rebellion (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews