Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Budget Gold - the way slashers were meant to be!
Great low budget slasher flick directed by Sam Raimi's friend Scott Spiegel.
After a disasterous video release in the 'bad old days' of heavy handed censorship that was shamelessly savaged by the BBFC, we have had to wait many years. Now we are finally treated to the uncut version, and it was worth the wait!
The effects are suitably hideous (in a good way!), the...
Published on 1 Dec. 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ABOVE AVARAGE SLASHER FLICK !! !! !! !!
I love slasher/zombie/violent films and Intruder is high up on the list of great slashers!
The first thing youll notice when you see the case is the great cast of actors they have written on the front, but most of the actors stated dont have large parts (they have put on Bruce Campbell but he wasnt on screen for more than 5 minuets!) or they arent that good...
Published on 19 Feb. 2006 by M. Western


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Budget Gold - the way slashers were meant to be!, 1 Dec. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruder [DVD] (DVD)
Great low budget slasher flick directed by Sam Raimi's friend Scott Spiegel.
After a disasterous video release in the 'bad old days' of heavy handed censorship that was shamelessly savaged by the BBFC, we have had to wait many years. Now we are finally treated to the uncut version, and it was worth the wait!
The effects are suitably hideous (in a good way!), the bandsaw vs head bit is particulaly fun(!), but the things that raise this above the crowd are the interesting camera work and the fun script. The cast were clearly enjoying themselves when they made it, and this shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favorite slasher films, 27 April 2008
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Talk about working the graveyard shift down at the old meat market - and I do mean meat market. Prices aren't the only things being slashed at the Walnut Lake Market tonight. Cleanup on aisle 5 - and 7 - and 10 - and, oh hell, the whole darn place is a bloodbath. (Sorry - I thought it would be best if I went ahead and got some of those corny clichéd lines out of my system right here at the start.) You know, there's nothing like a low-budget horror movie that really steps up and delivers the goods - it doesn't happen often, but it definitely happened back in 1989 with the release of Intruder. If you thought The Mist was the first "panic in a supermarket" film ever made, you're really missing out. Intruders, even the edited version (a pox on censors and the studios that give in to them), is a gory classic. Just look at what you get here: lots of blood and gore delivered by some pretty interesting murder implements, a bit of a mystery as to who the killer really is (even though I had no trouble discerning early on just how it would all play out), a fairly hot heroine (Elizabeth Cox) sporting a classic 80s hairstyle, not one but two Raimis among the cast, and even a very funny (albeit borrowed) decapitation story. You'll notice I left the Bruce Campbell cameo out of this list - it's so short and pedestrian that it really isn't worth mentioning (except to point out how disingenuous it is of the studio to market the film as a Bruce Campbell vehicle) - heck, I didn't even notice The Chinned One my first time through.

It's almost closing time at the market when Craig Peterson (David Byrnes - not to be confusing with Talking Heads front man and all-around musical genius David Byrne) shows up wanting to talk to his old girlfriend Jennifer (Elizabeth Cox). He's already miffed over the fact that she never even wrote to him during his recent stay in prison, so it's no surprise that her face-to-face rejection of him results in him causing quite a fracas. Being the super-macho man that he is, Craigie runs off and hides somewhere inside the store. The night doesn't get much better after the night crew finally tracks Craig down and throws him out, as that's when co-owners Danny (Eugene R. Glazer) and Bill (Dan Hicks) announce that they are selling the store. Now, as if their normal post-closing duties aren't enough, the crew also has to start marking down all of the prices in lieu of their impending unemployment. They needn't have bothered working too hard, though, because the vast majority of them are about to be picked off one by one by a bloodthirsty killer. It's almost too easy for the murdering fiend; with everyone spread out all over the store, no one realizes what is going on until it's too late, and the killer has all sorts of implements of death at his disposal - meat hooks, butchers' knives, hydraulic garbage disposals, meat slicers, etc. The special effects aren't always that realistic, but there's plenty of blood and gore for the viewer to enjoy (especially if you have the uncut version of the film). When you get five whole minutes of your bloodiest work edited out by the despicable censers, you know you've done something right.

Some may not care for first-time director Scott Speigel's Raimi-inspired use of wacky camera angles here and there, but you have to admire his success at creating a slasher film uniquely his own - Intruder is in no way a by-the-numbers slasher. Having worked with Sam Raimi as well as Bruce Campbell (both of whom he had known since high school) on the first two Evil Dead films, Speigel knew what he was doing in the director's chair, and it couldn't have hurt to have Sam Raimi right there on hand as one of the actors. Inserting humor into a slasher is always an iffy proposition, but Spiegel gets it pretty close to right here. I would also have to give him my vote for most creative use of a decapitated head in a movie (which really should be an Oscar category, if you ask me).

Even if you figure out what is really going on inside this ill-fated supermarket long before the end credits begin to roll, the conclusion still satisfies with a nice little final twist. That is one of many reasons why Intruder is a true classic of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ABOVE AVARAGE SLASHER FLICK !! !! !! !!, 19 Feb. 2006
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intruder [DVD] (DVD)
I love slasher/zombie/violent films and Intruder is high up on the list of great slashers!
The first thing youll notice when you see the case is the great cast of actors they have written on the front, but most of the actors stated dont have large parts (they have put on Bruce Campbell but he wasnt on screen for more than 5 minuets!) or they arent that good anyway!
The story to this film is aleright! Its a change having the killings taking place in a shopping centre and there is a good twist at the end!
If you are one of those people who like this type of film then youll probably be wanting some good, bloody, creative death scenes! This film does not dissapoint! The death scenes in Intruder are some of the best! There is even a scene where a man gets his fore head cut off by a saw used to cut chickens in two! Plus many, many more including the best stabbing scene a film has ever had! EVER... The killer simply uses a big (and i mean huge, one of the biggest kitchen knives ive ever seen!) knife and stabs a guy in the chest, then the blood starts to spray everywhere, beating even 'Kill Bill' staqndards!
Another thing that makes the death scenes in Intruder so good is that you get good close-ups of the wound bleeding and the bone crunching!
A great thing this fiolm has too is there is some exelent camera work! Three are lots of strange camera views (like the camera looking through a glass or turning like it was attached to a door handle ect ect).
Overall this should be a treat for any slasher fan! (this film is a slight bit out-dated but it still okay by todays standards!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and gory slasher, 13 Jun. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The basic story..Those working the night shift in a supermarket are about to be stalked and picked off one by one by a sadistic killer.
Yes we are in good old slasher territory here and the late 80's in general was a lesser time for it, but "Intruder" is an awesome slasher film. Director Scott Spiegel has put together a fantastic and stylish horror that contains many impressive point of view shots that show great talent and imagination. The cover boasts of the presence of Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell but their parts are irrelevant having no overall effect on the quality of the film. After a fairly slow but still enjoyable start the killings begin and the gore on offer is great with many enjoyable bloody deaths.
Unfortunately the picture quality of this UK version isn't that good and it's in full screen. Extras include an interview and some trailers for other horrors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanastic!, 30 Mar. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruder [DVD] (DVD)
I'd been waiting for the release of this title for a while, pondered over buying the German DVD but waited for this, the Hardgore issue. It was worth it! It's possibly one of the best low budget slasher films ever made. It occasionaly drags in places but generally it rips along. The story is pretty simple, physco runs amok in a supermarket one night. The night shift are the victims. For a change the script is alright and the acting ok, the gore is fantastic! Very creepy and thrilling. I would recommend it to anyone, if your tired of those 'modern' slashers like I Know What You Did and Scream give this ago. You could do alot worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slashfest 80s style!, 1 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruder [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Its impossible to dislike Intruder, even though it has its tongue firmly in its cheek. Theres something here for every horror fan, and although this isn't classic horror, its a damn good ride.

Directed by Scott Spiegel though you'dd never know from the cover, given how big Laurence Bender the producers name is, this is a rollercoaster ride of a movie, and its set in a supermarket. Which probably makes it the finest supermarket film of all time, imagine that?

Almost every frame of the movie has been shot by weird camera angles which is an obvious nod to Sam Raimi who also stars in this film. There's also a cameo by Bruce Campbell.

Intruder is full of blood and this is the uncut version, and though the FX is cheap looking there are still a few lookaway scenes. The film like many 80s horror flicks has plenty of dry humour throughout and Intruder in this respect does not disappoint Its a good film and if you want to class this under cheesy but good horror then its only real competitor is Night of the Creeps from this era. In a nutshell Intruder is the type of film that you know can be watched again and again.

One note to Blu Ray, 60 inch lovers. This film does have grain (ie) low budget horror from the 80s)so if you don't like these films from this era you may want to stay away.

Intruder was a pleasant surprise. Oh and Evil Dead fans watch out for Sam Raimi humming a song featured in Evil Dead about halfway into the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and gory slasher film., 12 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruder [DVD] (DVD)
Intruder is one of the last decent old school 80's slashers, coming from a time when the genre had pretty much exhausted itself and blowing most competition out of the water. Though the plot is as simple as they come and the location appears unpromising, Intruder is in most respects an ace slasher and in my opinion one of the very finest. The direction from Scott Spiegel is a large part of the quality, for he employs a variety of camera angles and some cool coloured lighting to give the film a stylish feel uncommon in these sort of films. This ultra gory slasher which was written and directed by Scott Spiegel, co-writer of "Evil Dead 2", is set entirely in a local supermarket. In the opening sequence, the ex-boyfriend of one of the checkout girls Jennifer (Elizabeth Cox), shows up at closing starts a fight and is kicked out. One by one, members of the crew are then stalked and brutally murdered. Even though it's pretty much a textbook slasher flick with all of the usual cliched characters, it makes up for it with fun camera shots, interesting and gory kills (death by buzz saw, anyone?), and a sense of humor. We are also treated to both Sam and Ted Raimi on screen as well as a cameo by Bruce Campbell as a cop. If you are a fan of 80's slasher flicks, it's definitely worth a look as it's one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comedy/horror at its best, 14 Dec. 2012
By 
T. A. J. Leahy "tommygun" (croydon.surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was one of my favorite comedy/horrors of the 90s.the uk vhs release was butchered by the bbfc and not only that who ever designed the cover for the release must of been drunk to put the picture of the killer on the front is a dead giveaway.but fortunately a rejuvenated bbfc released a uncut dvd version of this film and what a treat.this film has everything you need in a good horror/comedy.a great cast with cameos from sam raimi and bruce campbell.and some brilliant special make up effects from KNB.for me dan hicks who plays bill steals the show with some great acting.the film itself is very witty and sharp and the death scenes are very bloody and explicit.and writer and director scott spiegel gives us some inventive camera shots.as for this AWE scandanavian release its the same as the blu ray version.its the full directors cut with extended gore scenes not seen in any other version.overall horror/comedy at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OPEN ALL HOURS, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruder (DVD)
This is the french R2 release of Intruder.
The picture quality's good enough & on the back
of the box it states 1:85-16:9 compatible 4:3. On
the film menu screen there is no option for aspect
ratio adjustment & the film began in nasty 4:3 (black
bars on left & right of screen). I had to adjust it via the
player itself, once done it was ok. Also, try as i might
i could not remove the french subtitles, i wasn't that
bothered as in the VHS days most of the films i saw
had subs (Dutch etc.). The box says not censored (French
equivalent) but it's not the Directors Cut...i think, the band saw
bits there but seems quick?. Likeable wonky acting, KNB FX &
a slip cover that doesn't spoil things. Run time 1hr 23mins 51 secs.
1988
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Synapse Blu, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Uncut Directors Cut restoration of a cult slasher.

Extras:
Audio Commentary with director Scott Spiegel and producer Lawrence Bender.
"Making Of Intruder" documentary (HD, 38:24)
"The Slashing Of The Intruder" featurette (HD, 3:27)
Extended murder sequences from the original workprint (SD, 10:26)
Outtakes from the Night Crew short film (SD, 6:50)
Cast Audition Footage (SD, 11:04)
Theatrical Trailer (HD, 1:19)
Alternate Trailer under the title Night Crew: The Final Checkout (SD, 1:19)
Still Gallery (HD, 4:20)

(info copied from rewind dvdcompare.net)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews