Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NX Series 2
This DVD is the much welcomed release of the second Northern Exposure series, which first aired in the US in 1991. Now the series really finds its own after a gentle, but brilliant, introduction in series 1. The humour, quirk, music and character are just a wonder.
The only downside of this release is that some (but not most) of the incidental musical soundtrack...
Published on 15 May 2005

versus
23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, awful dvds
I love the series and bought the first season but I'm not certainly spending my money on dvds lacking part of the original soundtrack, which IS important. No subtitles either, for anybody. Please read amazon.com reviews before buying this collection. Don't let Universal just sell us anything.
Published on 18 Aug. 2005 by Patricia C. Grant Perez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NX Series 2, 15 May 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is the much welcomed release of the second Northern Exposure series, which first aired in the US in 1991. Now the series really finds its own after a gentle, but brilliant, introduction in series 1. The humour, quirk, music and character are just a wonder.
The only downside of this release is that some (but not most) of the incidental musical soundtrack has been replaced, presumably because of copyright clearance issues. Alas the replacement music is noticeable and isn't great.
Buy this DVD (and series 1) today .... The award winnning series is perfect, where in a modern world quirk, romance, character and wit are so hard to come by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You just cant help but like it, 19 Jun. 2005
By 
Chris (sw england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I admit to some bias, because I love Northern Exposure. I love the charm, the charecters, the offbeat storylines, and the relaxed approach to the whole thing.
If you have seen series one, then there is little that needs to be said about series two, other than - go ahead and buy it! The charecters, and relationships continue to develop in the typical laid back way. There are many smatterings of sublime moments, such as the annual "running of the bulls", and Ed's quest to find his father.
Watching series two, I did not find it quite as fresh as I found series one and it does seem a little self-concious at times. However, the real joy of Northern Exposure is the diversity of charecters, who all struggle with the twists and turns of life, and all support each other to see just how ridulous it all is! A decade and a half later, and I still don't think that I have seen anything on TV that matches this show in its best moments.
If you haven't seen Northern Exposure before, then check out series one, and treat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irresistably quirky, 25 Aug. 2006
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
First off, YES, this is only 7 episodes, so be aware.. and YES, the wonderful original music is altered and the end result not so satisfying...

But having said all that, this is still the wonderful series I remember - and it's irresistable.

The whole concept of the series comes into its own, making this a worthy second season... the characters are all so well realized and unbelievable, and yet unbelievably offbeat at the same time, and the sense of heightened realism is played into by the numerous dream sequences in this season.

Great fun of a type and caliber not around these days - newcomers and veterans alike will enjoy, despite the few number of episodes and the different music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moose burger & fries, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
There are at least half a dozen performances in this cheerfully eccentric series that are the equal of anything in The Sopranos or West Wing. The stories are both quirky and well crafted, and the setting unusual enough to make this one of the most original of TV shows. (America has this; we have Last of the Summer Wine or Green Wing, the one facetious and over-the-hill, the other so very self-consciously wacky.)
In Cicely, Alaska live a few hundred souls, including a reluctant New York doctor, a feisty, flirty plane pilot, a laid-back DJ of the kind they only have in the States, an ageing, mild-tempered bar owner and his young, daffily sexy wife, a deceptively slow-witted guy called Ed who is half-American Indian, and a fastidious, well-read retired astronaut - among others.
I love this show, and Series 2, having introduced the characters in Series 1 and got them settled in, is just wonderful in almost every way.
Rob Morrow (my namesake!) is Dr Joel Fleischman, the fish-out-of-water in this freezing Alaskan outpost, and he`s consistently good in the pivotal part of a square peg, as is his growing love interest Janine Turner as Maggie, a brilliant and oh-so-watchable actress (now, sadly, a Palin-esque poster-girl for the Republican right) playing a role that could have been written for her brand of bubbling yet soulful exuberance. I`ve rarely seen such enjoyably natural acting in a TV show as hers. (The splendid Extras include outtakes and unused scenes which show her as full of laughter, much of it unscripted.)
There`s a wonderful, subtle performance too by veteran actor Barry Corbin as the astronaut, and fine ones by sad-faced John Cullum and adorable Cynthia Geary as the very lucky barman and his young blonde bride.
Darren E. Burrows is a highlight as slow but lovable Ed, and John Corbett anchors it all as the rangily handsome, eloquently verbose disc jockey.
With guest stars popping in and out, and storylines allowing for some pleasingly surreal episodes, this was one of the best comedy series to have come from the US in many a pale moon. Comedy? Well, mostly, with some drama too, and not a little romance and a dash of saucy sex.
Get to know the folks of Cicely, Alaska and perhaps, like me, you won`t want ever to see the last of them. This was the second of six series, and I feel I could go on watching it till the moose come home.

Hugely recommended, but do wrap up warm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Warmer, 3 May 2007
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who's yet to see Northern Exposure, then besides the Pilot in series one, the 'Spring Break' episode in this season is a great introduction to the fold. It is beautifully acted, the script is magnificent.

It surrounds the events of Cicely's springtime melt, and the effect it seems to have on the town's inhabitants. At this particular time of year, the locals indulge themselves in behaviour which is in contrast to their personalities. That's as much as I'm giving away as it would be a shame to spoil it.

Needless to say, I rave about this show to anyone who will listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as you'll remember, 29 July 2009
By 
S. Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Not quite as good as the first series or subsequent ones but still excellent even though there's not many episodes in the series. There's a note on the packaging that the music differs from the televised version and I'd seen others reviews saying this is a problem, which nearly put me off uying it. Unless you can remember ever single bit of music that plays over the episodes then you won't notice a difference (I didn't and I loved it when it was on TV)- the classic title music is the original one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Exposure - the first three seasons, 3 Mar. 2010
By 
Stanley Lear (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This collection of stories following the life of a newly qualified medical doctor unexpectedly placed in a remote Alaskan community, is a continuing delight. The initial shock of life and work without the comforting back-up of state-of-the-art hospital services is convincingly developed: a succession of characters from among the local population introduce a wholly believable series of events drawing our hero ever closer into the life of the community, against all his initial inclinations. There is humour, pathos, contemporary racial and sexist attitudes, all woven into narrative which is often almost English in its under-statement. All within the sheer beauty of the Alaskan landscape. These I can return to, again, and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can one say about a DVD ?, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What can one say about a DVD ? It is what I expected . I haven't played it yet. It is for a present but was glad to find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, awful dvds, 18 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love the series and bought the first season but I'm not certainly spending my money on dvds lacking part of the original soundtrack, which IS important. No subtitles either, for anybody. Please read amazon.com reviews before buying this collection. Don't let Universal just sell us anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great stories and loveable diverse characters in this querky poignant and beautifully situated comedy. I would recommend for previous fans and also for newcomers. You will fall in love with the NE family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD]
Northern Exposure: Series 2 [DVD] by Darren E. Burrows (DVD - 2005)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews