Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a knife through butter
Bought this box set a couple of years back, watched them, then my wife suddenly asked about them so we just watched all three films in the space of three days.

The original film is still the best of the three, with Wesley Snipes in mean and moody form, despatching vampires in a blaze of great effects throughout the movie.

The second sees him being...
Published on 12 Jan. 2010 by Phil Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the third one let the trilogy down
First two top notch movies. Blade has one of the Best opening scenes in a movie ever. Blade 2 was on power with Blade. Blade Trinity however should have been called night stalkers featuring Blade. The use of "F" word just give laughs felt they over used it. Trying the comedy in blade took away the darkness the first two had. Decon Frost and Novak felt more...
Published 7 months ago by greendayavenger


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a knife through butter, 12 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this box set a couple of years back, watched them, then my wife suddenly asked about them so we just watched all three films in the space of three days.

The original film is still the best of the three, with Wesley Snipes in mean and moody form, despatching vampires in a blaze of great effects throughout the movie.

The second sees him being recruited by the vampires he is killing to stop a new breed of vampire. Double crosses (and plenty of garlic!) abound as this battle unfolds. As a fan of Buffy The Vampire Slayer I can't help but notice the fact that as Buffy progressed there was a time where she almost fought alongside her enemies against a worse foe.

Trinity is seeming to get the wooden spoon prize as worst of the three and I can understand how that would be it's fate. The plot line of Trinity isn't as solid or as serious as the first two but Wesley Snipes still held it all together and the cast around him were pretty good too.

Of all three movies Kris Kristofferson was a very strong support but, for me, the really strong female lead alongside Wesley came from N'Bushe Wright in the original. Mind you I sure wouldn't want to upset Jessica Biel on the Subway!

If you are after a great night of action packed adrenalin rush then all three movies should be suitable. Personally I found this trilogy far superior to Underworld, which lost a lot when it lost Kate Beckinsale by part three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Trilogy, 23 May 2010
By 
Sandy67 (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
After recently watching Blade Trinity it made me remember how much I enjoyed the other two Blade films.
Wesley Snipes is Blade and nobody else could bring this character to life or be so believable than Wesley. First film will always be a classic, second film more darker and one of the more gorey vampire films and third one (extended edition) combines action, gothic theme with added humour and new characters that enhances the film.
One of the better vampire trilogies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Quality. An Action Packed Masterclass!, 9 Aug. 2005
By 
Bawno (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I won't go on too long writing in the style of the film critics but I will basically say this:
If you are looking for some good films to sit down and watch without having to think to much, with as musch action and gunfights crammed in as possible with a decent soundtrack blaring during the film then I would advise no other than the Blade Trilogy.
All three films are crammed to the top with kung-fu kicking action scenes and plenty of gunfights and gore. Believe me when I say that if you ever become a film director wanting to create an unforgettable action film which is both stylish and action packed then you should watch the Blade Trilogy and stick as close to these guidelines as possible.
All three films are absolute quality with breat-taking action scenes that will leave you in awe!
The Blade Trilogy is easily one of the best around and shows all other films how action/fighting/gunfight scenes should be filmed. Also with a brilliant techno soundtrack and stylish cinematogrpahy and costume design, as well as good graphics you really can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cutting edge vampire movie!, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
P. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
The Blade Trilogy is excellent.
Blade itself being the most superior of the bunch. A really watchable film, thrilling, fast and exciting lavished with buckets of blood and gore and a supercool hero.
The follow up and the final installment are not nearly as good. Worth buying for the fun and thrills and of course the visual feasting of red stuff, but the basic storyline has already been told in the first film. The second two are more or less just the same with different bad guys for Blade to slaughter. The only interesting bit is has Blade's mentor (Kris Kristofferson) been killed or not, is he a vampire or not, and this runs through all 3 films.
The best part of the trilogy is that Wesley Snipes is in all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST - the blade trilogy, 17 April 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Although i was really dissapointed with the latest blade: trinity, this box set also contains the first two which are probably two of the best action horror films ever made. From the opening scene of blade 1, you just know your in for a ride. There are 5 DISCS in the box - and contains the extended version of blade trinity. Great extras too. Well worth getting if you dont own any of them already!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, 29 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike an earlier review this boxset does NOT contain the extended version (well mine does'nt) and the box set cover is not the same as displayed in the above image. It's split into thirds with an image from each movie - as you might have seen elsewhere. This is still a highly enjoyable vampire romp, never taking itself too seriously, with only the third film falling slightly flat. As I had'nt bought the films before I reckon for extras and pricing this is very competitive and it's nice to own the three together. I just wish it contained the extended version of Trinity which is available seperately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the third one let the trilogy down, 4 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
First two top notch movies. Blade has one of the Best opening scenes in a movie ever. Blade 2 was on power with Blade. Blade Trinity however should have been called night stalkers featuring Blade. The use of "F" word just give laughs felt they over used it. Trying the comedy in blade took away the darkness the first two had. Decon Frost and Novak felt more menacing than Dracula they really failed with the third blade even tho it was a good action flick but sadly not a Blade movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good but No Extended Version, 25 April 2008
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I like this box set as i love all the Blade movies, however there seems to be some confusion. First some people say they got the extended edition of Blade Trinity and some did not. I didn't and was pretty disappointed by this. Also the cover changes, some people got the split into thirds version and some, like me, got something else. Mine is in fact Blade Trilogy: The Ultimate Collection (a seperate product on amazon). Puting the moans aside its a great box set, especially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fang-tastic but maybe one too many?, 5 Feb. 2006
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I gave this trilogy 4 stars purely because the third film, the finale, Blade Trinity, does not quite live up to the other two films yet for the price I feel its not a bad investment.
If you like action, plenty of sword and silver bullet induced vampire death and violence then the Blade Trinity series is a great purchase. The first, and probably the best of all the films introduces us to Blade (Snipes) and puts a slightly different slant on the more conventional 'stake in the heart' vampire flicks.
Some of the action and fight scenes along the way are really good and the story although not totally necessary remains almost plausible and intact until the last film loses the plot a bit.
However I don't think you'll be buying these movies for the acting or great story line so I'm not going to be unnecessarily critical when there is no need for it. Instead I'd recommend to snap this box set up, as I've said before, its good value and you'll enjoy the mayhem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING COLLECTION, SPOILED BY A BAD SEQUEL AND A BOX !!, 22 Feb. 2006
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blade 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing collection of films! One of the best trilogys there is!
Blade was an instant classic and the same applied for its sequel. Both films included some bloody scenes, some of the best fights to date, great storys, pretty good special effects, cool soundtracks and very good acting (especially from WEstley Snipes who had a perfect part as Blade!)
Although this set is let down by 2 things:
1. Blade Trinity: A massive dissapointment. I must admit it is a decent movie but if your looking for a great film, try Blade or Blade 2! The acting was also bad, eccept from Westley Snipes. It also went a little over the top sometimes (like a weapon shaped like a bow that produces a beam hotter than the sun!?!)
2. Not really a box set: This isnt really a proper box set, it is just a cardboard box with the 3 basic (and only) editions of the 3 Blade films. With an ecception of Blade Trinity which comes in an 'extended edition' which isnt that different atall!
So overall youve got an exelent collection spoled by a bad sequel and a cardboard box. Your better off getting them seperatley unless its cheaper buying them in this box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blade 1-3 [DVD]
Blade 1-3 [DVD] by David S. Goyer (DVD - 2005)
£37.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews