Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent train for little train lovers
My 2 year old plays with his train set a lot and this little train has lasted through nearly a year of fairly consistant abuse and is still living to tell the tale. It doesn't go very fast but is somewhat hypnotic as it chugs round the track (and quite a bit off it as well). Takes one AAA battery and uses it quite fast - rechargeable ones work great for us.
Published on 6 Dec 2008 by Us

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea but slippery wheels!
My sons (1 and 3) both love Brio trains and have spent more time on them than any other toy however we only had this train for a while before it started sliding on the tracks when it goes up hills and bridges. Not sure what happened, maybe the outer rubber wore off? Now it slides until another four wheel drive train to push it up!
I suggest you buy one of the more...
Published on 13 Oct 2009 by A. Haynes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent train for little train lovers, 6 Dec 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
My 2 year old plays with his train set a lot and this little train has lasted through nearly a year of fairly consistant abuse and is still living to tell the tale. It doesn't go very fast but is somewhat hypnotic as it chugs round the track (and quite a bit off it as well). Takes one AAA battery and uses it quite fast - rechargeable ones work great for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea but slippery wheels!, 13 Oct 2009
By 
A. Haynes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
My sons (1 and 3) both love Brio trains and have spent more time on them than any other toy however we only had this train for a while before it started sliding on the tracks when it goes up hills and bridges. Not sure what happened, maybe the outer rubber wore off? Now it slides until another four wheel drive train to push it up!
I suggest you buy one of the more powerful trains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tu tu train only for Brio, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
I bought this train for my son, who loves it. Unfortunately it is slightly higher than his previous train and does not fit under bridges where it gets stuck. I recommend the train for Brio train tracks only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly fun, 27 Jan 2006
By 
Silver Darling (Anstruther, SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
We got this as an afterthought, because it was relatively cheap, but our 3 year old is enchanted with it and spends ages running the trains past it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be more powerful, 8 Jan 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
Pros:

* Bright primary colours.
* The carts, particularly the cement mixer, are a marvel to behold! Great idea and very cute.
* The carts can be used with any other train and are not reliant on batteries in order to 'animate'. So you can pull them along and they will still work.

Cons:

* Train is not very powerful (as you would expect with a single AAA battery). Often unable to climb a short hill whilst pulling the carts (I prefer to use the carts with a more powerful train - one that takes an AA battery).
* The (very small and fiddly) switch to activate the train is not child-friendly.
* The blue 'tipping wagon' looks very effective - when it works. However it often get's 'stuck' and needs to be jiggled to get it working again.
* There's a cheap 'Brio' sticker on the side of the train, which my preschooler will no-doubt pull off in a flash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame Brio Shame, 17 Dec 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
I bought this train to go with my son first train track. I figured that by buying Brio it would be good quality but unfortunately not. The train itself is fine, but this is advertised as a BATTERY OPERATED train and for that its useless. The battery runs out after about half and hour of play, if that! It is incredibly slow and the light barely glows. It only ever pulls the carriages over a bridge will a new battery. For value for money it is rubbish. The real shame is my sons disappointment when it constantly doesn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brio battery operated train review, 1 Oct 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
Good product and great value.
Only problem is that it seems to use quite a lot of battery power and does not have a lot of 'oomf' once the batteries start to fade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it .., 1 Oct 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
My 2 year old son loves to play with this. He just lies down next to the track and watches it going around the track..

You need re-chargable batteries. It drains the battery very fast.. for me almost i am changing the battery everyday.. Battery is lasting only 1 hour+ of run at most..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars battery train, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Daniela Papini (Florence, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
I bought this toy train for Christmas to my 3 years old son. He really love the fact that it goes alone. I was a little concern by the fact that it is not capable of doing even small climbs. However, this doesn't seems to be a problem for my son who helps train when in difficulty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good but impractical for little hands, 22 Sep 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train (Toy)
My son is 3 and really loves this train- it is great as the concrete mixer moves round and the coal truck chugs from side-to-side as the train moves along. However, there are 2 points which really bring it down. The switch to turn it on and off is impossible for a toddler- it's a slide switch with forward then stop then backwards and it's hard enough for an adult to turn off let alone a toddler. Secondly it takes an AAA battery (just one) and it's far too small for the train. We find after just one good lot of usage (say 45 minutes) the battery is running out! So it's a good idea but the design isn't that great compared to my son's other Brio items hence the 2 *.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BRIO 33535 Battery Operated Action Train
£16.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews