Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars45
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2006
Well this review is coming from someone who's not a big Zelda fan, and I have to say that this is one of the best compilations ever. You get the chance to play the 2 originals from the NES era, classic and legendary games, plus you also get the chance to play the 2 classics from the N64 era as well, Ocarina of Time (some say this is the best game ever) and Majora's Mask.

This is well worth the money, provides hours of fun, a great collector's piece, improved graphics on Ocarina and Majora. Only thing that would have improved this is the inclusion of a Link to the Past.
22 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
The Legend of Zelda: collector's Edition
What Do You Get
Game Disc X1
Collector's Edition Game Guide X1
Collector's Edition Game Case X1

The Legend of Zelda:Collector's Edition is a compilation of several instalments from The Legend of Zelda series. This compilation even has its own Player's Guide, which is rare for a promotional product. The full games exist as ROM images, which are run through emulators. This method was previously used in the Master Quest release for the GameCube and later for all Virtual Console releases. The compilation includes the first Majora's Mask re-release in the United States.

Content

The collection contains four full games:
The Legend of Zelda
Zelda II:The Adventure of Link
The Legend of Zelda:Ocarina of Time
The Legend of Zelda:Majora's Mask

The following features were also included:
A Wind Waker promotional video & The Legend of Zelda:A Retrospective-an arrangement of scenes from all the games between The Legend of Zelda and The Wind Waker, Also a 20-minute playable demo of The Wind Waker(GameCube Version), which allows a player to play three different scenarios from the game. There are barriers and limitations to this demo in terms of gameplay; the full version of The Wind Waker is just under 3 times the size of this demo. The game resets after the end of the 20 minute time limit.

The stories displayed in the two NES games, when START is not pressed, have been rewritten to correct all mistranslations and spelling errors. These changes are retained in the Game Boy Advance and Wii Virtual Console releases.

The GameCube Game can also be played on Nintendo Wii Models with the Model Numbers RVL-101.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2009
I first played first game The Legend Of Zelda many, many years ago and to this day, I have loved playing all The Legend Of Zelda games.
This collection of four games are all great to play, you get
:The Legend Of Zelda, this is the game that started it all and, why I love all Zelda games. I give this game 10/10 as it is still very additive to play.
:Zelda 2 The Adventure Of Link, which to me has a slightly weaker storyline but that might be me. I give this game 7/10 for being original for it's time.
:The Legend Of Zelda Ocarina Of Time, what can I say about this game? This game completely blew me away. The graphics were/are fantastic to look at. The whole story grabbed me with adrenaline at the time, I wanted to know how the story was going to end. I give this game 10/10 for an excellent storyline plus, Link's Horse Epona debuted in this fab game which is a given bonus too.
:The Legend Of Zelda Majora's Mask, now this game is my personal favourite, as in this game the whole story was much darker. You the player, have only three days to right the wrongs and stop the moon from falling down. This game when I first played it was creepy, especially the music. The Masks from Ocarina Of Time play a much bigger part in this fantastic dark game. I give this game 10/10 for being very different.
If you have not got this collection then please do, you will not be disappointed by all four games.
They are all fabtastic in there own way
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
If you are buying this purely for Majora's Mask then I would advise against it. It's a very glitchy emulation of the original game with not just sound and graphics issues but it crashes whenever it feels like it. In a game like this which is really awkward to save anyway, it's hardly ideal to put it mildly.

It's an enormous shame as Majora is one of my favourite ever Zelda games and I have loved playing it again on the Gamecube aside from the game freezing on me several times and losing my progress. It happened once just after finishing the Great Bay temple, right next to a save point! :(

It's worth pointing out that I thought I had a faulty disc so I tried my sisters copy but there was no difference and it crashed again. Also if you look on the internet, there are many people who all say the same thing about it freezing on them.

On the surface this looks like a sweet deal. The Legend of Zelda, Zelda 2: The Adventure of Link, Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask and a demo of The Wind Waker. Some of the best video games of all time, all on one disc!! It's just sadly let down by these unforgivable bugs.

Best of luck!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2005
This is possibly one of the most wanted collecters edition of any game. It feature, The Legend of Zelda, The Adventures of Link, Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask. Ocarina of Time is possibly one of the greatest game ever made scoring 100% in it's official review.
The big let down to the game is Adventures to Link. This is possibly the Worst Zelda game. Another great thing about this gaame is that you can play Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask with improved graphics.
Furthermore you can also play one of the first playable demos of the Wind Waker on this disc. This also turned out to be a remarkeble piece of Nintendo History with it's new toon shaded graphics.
This is a great game and purchase it while you can because there are not many around.
After you have bought this game, just sit back, relax and wait for... The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess, which is scheduled for launch on the 16th February 2006.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2005
This review is solely for Majora's Mask which comes packaged in the Collectors disc.
Many reviews will state that this game is not as good as its prequel, Ocarina of Time, also found on the Collectors Disc, but I truly believe this is based on which one you play first. Having never had a N64, I borrowed one off a friend about 2 years ago with Majora's Mask, took me about a month to finish, and I'm now playing it through again on the Collectors edition disc for the GameCube. I've since played through Ocarina of Time and don't find it to be half the game that Majora's Mask is.
The game is set in a small village known as Clock Town. After Saving the Kingdom Of Hyrule, Link is hi-jacked on his travels by the "Skull Kid," who eventually gets away with his Ocarina and trusty steed, Epona. In his attempt to get them back, the Skull Kid transforms Link into a Decu Scrub using a certain mask which he stole from a travelling mask salesman - Majora's Mask. He then uses it to pull the moon towards Clock Town which will reach the village in 3 days. You play through the three days as a Decu Scrub until you regain your Ocarina. Using the Ocarina, You can now warp back to the first day of the game and relive the whole 3 days as human Link (think Groundhog Day.)
One of the best features of the game is how the game actually follows a fate-like pattern. On day one at 6am where you start, you can talk to the people walking around clock town and also visit the other townsfolk, such as the Postman training for his day ahead. Follow him to see him collect the letters between 10am and 1pm, and then deliver them during the afternoon. He will do this at exactly the same time throughout the 3 days until the last day when the moon is about to hit. At this time he still cant leave the town as he does not have permission to do so. You can however, warp back to the first day and post a certain letter (a totally different quest) in a post box before he does his rounds, he will then collect the letter and alter his afternoon pattern and deliver it to the recipient. This recipient then rewards him with his freedom, and he can leave the town to escape the moon on the final day, he then rewards you with his hat. Warp back to the first day and he's back in the town following his automatic pattern again. Everything's the same, only now you have the postman's hat in your inventory which you can now use for another quest, the same way you got the letter, etc, etc. These are just side quests to begin with but the whole game follows a similar pattern. Each dungeon has tasks that need to be done before you can get to them, similar to the postman example. Its amazingly clever when you see it in practice, and allows you to get to know each character in the village while you help them with their problems. It's still my favourite Zelda game to this day and when it wins you discover its immense size, graphics (for the time), sound, and sheer brilliance, it will be yours too.
33 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2005
This is worth every penny! Seriouslly, get it while you can. 4 Huge Zelda games, 2 from NES, 2 from N64, including the hugely popular Ocarina of Time! These four games, despite people saying the 2nd zelda on the NES was the all time worst Zelda game, but all of these games ARE brilliant and this game box deserves to be bought because of them! I only wish they put a few gameboy outings in it and the superbly Link to the Past from the SNES! Maybe next time but this is worth it for them! This always includes a demo of the Wind Waker and a few extras!
Well worth it! Thumbs up, you be kept happy for many months to come! Also this is limited so get yours while you can!
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Bought this for Majora's Mask as it is one of the most clever games i know of, and it is just genius i have Ocarina of time with the Windwaker Ltd edition and all 3 are great games but Majora's Mask is my favourite and has a much darker storyline to the others it is also the most difficult out the bunch and can be quite confusing at times as there is a lot of playing with time, if you havent yet played Majora's Mask then this is one i highly recommend buying if you are a Zelda fan!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
Right, personally I think that this is a bit over-priced here on Amazon, because I got it pre-owned for like £18, however the price is (usually) worth it.

For the price you essentially get four games, a retrospect video and a demo, these games are:

-The Legend of Zelda; The original NES game, and it is more or less a straight port and I would suggest not using the control stick, as the game wasn't designed with 8 directions of movement, only 4 like the original NES pad. If you are REALLY stuck, I'd suggest using a map that can easily be found on google that essentially shows you the location of every hidden rupee and every dungeon (although exploring is half the battle).

-Zelda II: The Adventure of Link; Pretty much the odd one out in the series as it abandons the usual top-down aspect used in the original game (this is also an NES game). Again, use the directional pad and not the control stick and you should be fine, its a hard game, but satisfying. If you want a more thorough review, check out my reviews of it.Zelda II: The Adventure of Link (NES Classics GBA)

-The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time; The first '3D' Zelda game released, and boy is it a beauty, it is essentially an emulated N64 version but with the 'A' and 'B' buttons colours changed to match the Gamecube. I could go on all day about this game, but I won't, I will only say this, IT IS EPIC. Again, check out my review of it if you're looking for a thorough one Zelda : The Ocarina Of Time (N64)

-The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask; Another 'dark horse' in the series, it has a strange 3-day time limit which takes a while to get used to. I originally hated this game as I found it too strange to get used to, however in recent playthroughs of it I have come to appreciate it, and it is on par with OoT, another great game.

-Legend of Zelda Retrospect: Just a short movie showing various clips from the Zelda games so far, remember, this was released before Wind Waker came out so it doesn't include it.

-The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker (demo); A 20 minute playable demo that gives you a small taste of the game, that was yet to be released, not much to say about it as I would assume most of you would have played it by now.

Overall, even though it is a bit pricey on here, it is ultimately worth it because you are getting some of the Series' finer games, with the exception of A Link to The Past. Each game has its own charm and will appeal to you in a different way, try them all out and see what you think.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2006
This must be the Holy Grail for Zelda fans. The original Zelda, Zelda: The Adventure Of Link, Zelda: Ocarina Of Time AND Zelda: Majora's Mask. It's worth getting it just for the Ocarina Of Time but throw in some videos and a brief history of all the Zelda games ever, PLUS a demo for the Windwaker top off this must have game for basically anyone. What are you waiting for? BUY IT NOW!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)