Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations!
I was immediately struck by Martha's voice when I saw her on a TV show recently.
As the sister of Rufus, and daughter of Loudon Wainwright and (my personal favourite) Kate McGarrigle, Martha has a fine musical pedigree but also a lot to live up to. And that she does! Very much a unique voice and talent.
This has hardly been off my CD player since I bought it a...
Published on 4 Sep 2005 by M. A. Fraser

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not my kind of thing
In a desperate search for something new to listen to, I bought this one "blind" and realised that YouTube and its like are there for a reason. Whilst I don't doubt Ms Wainwright's sincerity and ability as a songwriter and performer, she doesn't produce the kind of music I like. Too country, too introspective, and - if I may - too self-indulgent.
My fault; I should...
Published 15 months ago by D. Spencer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations!, 4 Sep 2005
By 
M. A. Fraser "baroque pop fan" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
I was immediately struck by Martha's voice when I saw her on a TV show recently.
As the sister of Rufus, and daughter of Loudon Wainwright and (my personal favourite) Kate McGarrigle, Martha has a fine musical pedigree but also a lot to live up to. And that she does! Very much a unique voice and talent.
This has hardly been off my CD player since I bought it a week ago, and is showing signs of real longevity. Listening to Martha's voice is a very nice place to be.
I know I should really only give this 4 stars, because it's absolutely clear that this is merely the beginning; Martha has great potential, both as a songwriter and an interpreter. However, as 90% of reviewers give 5* to anything they like, I'm compelled to follow the trend.
Whilst her own compositions are excellent - I like the opener "Far Away" and "Factory", her spine-tingling performance of "Whither I Must Wander" by the classical composer Ralph Vaughan-Williams shows that Martha is much more than just another rock chick.
If you share my liking for Kate and Anna McGarrigle, Eva Cassidy, Kate Rusby, Sandy Denny etc, then please check out Martha Wainwright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best cd on earth!, 6 Dec 2005
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
I absolutely adore this album. It's a difficult one to pigeon hole but its influences being a mixture of contemporary blues, country, folk, and jazz are very clear but in a very individual and unique package. Quite different from her brother's, father's, mother's and aunt's music, having created something completely of her own in every way. It's great and I think that most people would struggle to dislike it. It's not the happiest album in the world, but a very colourful and rich one nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting stuff!, 5 April 2005
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
I was intrigued to see how Martha would enter the music scene - after her brother's fantastic previous albums. The pressure of expectation and comparison must have been enormous.
Judging by the album, if she's nervous about being such pressure, it doesn't show in the slightest.
Comparisons are mixed - on one hand they couldn't sound any more different if they tried. Martha's folk sensibilities and Rufus's flamboyant arrangements are miles apart. However, both have a fantastic grasp of writing deep and meaningful lyrics without cliche and create interesting and original music - they are both on top of their games. Tales of acceptance, love, death, loss, inadequacies - wonderful stuff if you like that type of stuff (and I DO!!!).
The arrangements and key changes sound really fresh on this album - and it sounds natural and not done to be clever. Martha's voice is also quite distinctive (it has a soft raspy quality), and fits the predominantly folk style of music perfectly.
'Bl**dy Mother Fu**ing A**hole' is reported to be about her relationship with her dad - and it's a stunning spitting rant which is certainly one of the albums highlights, and one of the best "F**k you" songs I've ever heard.
'Whither I Must Wander' is a beautiful traditional folk song, and really shows off a softer, purer sound in Martha's voice.
Other personal highlights are 'TV Show', 'Far Away', 'This Life' and 'These Flowers' - but the whole album is truly wonderful.
An incredible disarming debut, and I can't wait to hear more from her.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 15 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
I saw Martha Wainwright perform in London recently and it was a brilliant gig. She sang the bonus tracks that appear on this album with such perfection. But all the songs on this album are all just perfect. The original tracks on the album are wonderful and I cannot find fault in them. BMFA is superb and will have you singing along for hours! Far Away is an idyllic song with beautiful lyrics. Martha Wainwright has one of those completely unique sounds that will mesmerise you and draw you in to her world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this woman/girl nails some sentiment on this album!, 31 Jan 2006
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
whatever you think this album is going to be like forget it, it will just blow you away. have you ever heard a woman sing like a child one minute with vulnerability showing through. how does she do it? she sings like she's been locked in a tower all these years and someone's finally let her sing her thoughts on an album with beautiful guitar accompanying her. you can while away the day, fantasise about being in some parisian city then sing with her whilst you share the annoyance she has with work, love and growing up.
absolutely bl@@dy magical. best album i've heard in a long long time. inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS ALBUM!, 6 Dec 2005
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
This is one of those albums that grabs your attention and holds it, from start to finish.
Martha sounds fantastic and has a very talented band behind her.
There isn't a bad track on this album.
It will make you laugh, it will make you cry, it will make you think...
Hard to explain, but it's something really special. Trust me.
Watch out for Martha on tour in 2006!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking..., 13 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
Definitely an album to make me cry - Far Away and TV Show utterly brilliant. Tinged with pain, anger and sadness and an amazing voice. What a woman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martha Wainwright - an amazing talent, 15 April 2005
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
This album is phenomenal. I was laying flowers at her alter after the second play. She has a raw energy and seduction to her voice that puts her in a different stratosphere to other singer/songwriters. Unlike her brother, Rufus, who tends a little towards twee theatricality, she is powerful and demands attention. She is absolutely sure to shine and potentially to outshine her brother. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaken up and soothed, 4 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
If you're a fan of her dad Loudin you might be surprised to know that Martha has more in common with him than her mother Kate McGarrigle or brother Rufus. Her lyrics are clever and angry, and yes she has a beautiful voice, but she's not let afraid to let rip and allow her voice to get violent. This isn't a Sunday morning album, it for late on a night when the night has turned sour and you wonder how the hell you ended up with these problems. She'll shake you and soothe you and get you through the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 26 April 2005
This review is from: Martha Wainwright (Audio CD)
From the moment this album went into my cd player I was overcome with her beautiful voice. Martha Wainwright has an aura about her that is simply irresistable. Her lyrics are honest, powerful and direct and her melody unmatched. My personal favourites are, "Far Away, These Flowers, BMFA and TV Show" but by no means are these the only songs worth listening to in the album. Her album is a gem from start to finish and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Martha Wainwright
Martha Wainwright by Martha Wainwright (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews