Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good basis for a beginner/medium interest viewer, 13 Dec 2009
By 
J. M. Reurslag-McIntyre "Joanne" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD having limited knowledge of, but a lot of interest in, the Waterloo battle. This DVD provides a very good basis for understanding the background, tactics, and results of the battle and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested. Good text and grahics, realistic re-enactments, and knowledgeable commentary make this a very engaging DVD to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, informative but not comprehensive, 2 May 2008
By 
Dr. Edward Jones (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] (DVD)
Having recently returned from a trip to the battlefield of Waterloo, I wanted to find a dvd which covered the principle aspects of the battle. There don't seem to be that many of them out there. As no-one had previously reviewed this item I took the plunge and bought it. The dvd gives a broad view of the political developments leading to the battle following Napoleons return from exile. It focuses on the French vs Allied aspects of the battle and is perhaps a bit light on the Prussian involvement. It doesn't go into detail on the order of battle either. It uses an interview with a military historian, paintings, reconstructions, footage from the 1970 movie and an actor representing a British horse artilleryman to present ground level view of the battle. Without being comprehensive by any means this is an entertaining and informative documentary which does give some sense of the scale of the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Battle Of Waterloo - 1815 [DVD], 1 Sep 2010
By 
Don Blower (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] (DVD)
Though at a lower level of academic evaluation this represents and excellent introduction to the subject of early 19th century military history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Waterloo, 15 July 2014
This review is from: The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] (DVD)
very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warfare at Waterloo, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] (DVD)
A well thought out descriptive analysis of events. I was in a "can't put this down" situation. Engrossing from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OK attempt at history, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this to remind myself of why we fought the wars we did. We stayed out of the French Empire, only to become part of the Franco-german empire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Battle of Waterloo, 22 April 2012
By 
Rayb "AR Bonney" (Fleetwood, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, well worth it, this is another in ther series of great battles, in the History of Warfare collection. It uses CGI and extracts from film's and re-enactments, historical detail is kept too and added more to my personal knowledge of this battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good dvd, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] (DVD)
Good DVD,recommended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] (DVD)
good tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD]
The History of Warfare: the Battle of Waterloo [DVD] by The History of Warfare (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £25.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews