Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pull my trigger
There are few bands that can take my heart upon first listen. The Libertines tried and failed for many months to garner my attention, only getting it over the bleak summer months with little else to do. Hell, even The Futureheads, the catchiest pop-punk quartet to come out of 2004 didn't manage to capture my full attention with 'A to B'. So what's so different about...
Published on 22 May 2005 by jmooney35

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trigger it
Post-punk is one of the Sounds Of The Moment, with bands like Bloc Party and the Kaiser Chefs hitting the music headlines. Now Maximo Park offers their brand of high-octane post-punk, which accomplishes exactly what it apparently is meant to do: Be dancey.

It starts off on a rather slow note with "Signal and Sign." It isn't a bad song, but it doesn't really...
Published on 19 July 2005 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pull my trigger, 22 May 2005
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
There are few bands that can take my heart upon first listen. The Libertines tried and failed for many months to garner my attention, only getting it over the bleak summer months with little else to do. Hell, even The Futureheads, the catchiest pop-punk quartet to come out of 2004 didn't manage to capture my full attention with 'A to B'. So what's so different about Maximo Park?
The main point that many will argue is that, simply, there isn't enough different about them to get them noticed. With this new invasion of suit wearing, guitar wielding bands, it's hard to go against that part. With The Futureheads, Franz Ferdinand and many others grabbing the covers of the NME and getting numerous column inches in tabloids, it's easy to see why many simply dismiss this Newcastle quintet as simply part of the rabble.
The people who are willing to look past the 'me too' exterior are likely to be rewarded with deep, revealing lyrics, catchy riffs and songs that simply won't leave you alone. From the quiet opening of Signal and Sign, the album simply grows and grows. Somehow, Maximo Park have managed to capture all that's good about indie music today and encapsulate it all into one album, adding lyrics much deeper than even the most lovelorn teenager in a suit could hope to pen.
From the albums opening words, you can tell that the band's singer, Paul Smith, is a man with charisma. His singing voice has more personality than nearly every other singer on the scene at the moment. Rather than covering up his Geordie accent with an American twang or inaudible mumblings, Smith seems to flaunt it, and many of the songs are much better for it - indeed, many of the lyrics were written by the man himself, and it's difficult to imagine anyone but him singing them with such a passion.
Much of the album's personality comes from the unique combination of Smith's voice, the catchy riffs and hooks and the surprisingly well worked keyboarding. Although it may not be as fashionable as playing guitar, or as cool as strumming bass, keyboard is the album's main reason for feeling so Epic despite being of a rather short length. It may have cost them a few gigs and a few pages in the NME, but the keyboard has definitely paid off.
The most difficult part of reviewing 'A certain trigger' is picking out a stand-out track. Every song on the album could be called a classic, none showing any signs of weakness, even against the tests of time. However, the one that is probably most rewarding long term is 'The coast is always changing'. 6 months after first hearing this little gem for the first time, it's still going strong.
The weak point of the album is probably 'Acrobat'. Despite being almost a spoken word track, Smith and the boys still manage to make it work exceedingly well. For most other bands, this would be a strong album track. On an album such as A Certain Trigger, though, it is a slight dip in performance, but still an exceedingly enjoyable one.
If you're looking for the next big thing, then look no further. Other bands may have more style, have more pages in the NME each week or have celebrity girlfriends earning them thousands of column inches, but Maximo Park have the tunes, lyrics and personality to keep you listening until 2006. A must have for any indie fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold, 10 April 2006
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
This album first came to my notice in October 2005,when it had in fact been released earlier in May. I had seen Maximo Park on Jools Holland's "Later" and enjoyed their performance.They seemed to stand alone amongst other pop rock/art rock bands.I thought I would like to buy their debut CD"A Certain Trigger" and I finally did so in the early autumn,not knowing what to expect. I was even unsure whether I would like the tracks.
How wrong was I?? From the moment the CD hit my player I was instantly hooked by the opening drum and guitar bars of the first track "Signal and Sign."This anthem to changing life direction and getting motivated awoke my interest and lit the blue touchpaper for the rest of the album. Definite and direct,it sets the tone for the other twelve songs on the album.
From then on I never looked back. There isn't a dull,dud or depressing track on this album. It speeds along with the urgency of a train heading to its destination. It has a message for everyone.
Frontman Paul Smith has a distinctive rock voice. It is one that HAS to be listened to. At times it can just border on the light operatic,and there is plenty of melody there. Emotion runs high throughout his vocal delivery and as for his Geordie accent,it adds masses of charm and at times lends a dangerous edge to the words and music.
Tracks such as"Apply Some Pressure",which urge the listener to rethink,if things in life go wrong.The keyboards chorus is a very catchy one,with jangly piano chords,backing organ and a driving guitar and drum rhythm.
Other standout songs include "Graffiti",which concentrate on the recurring theme of provincial boredom and personal daring(intriguing stuff)-"Going Missing" which is a wonderful song.
Ringing guitarwork accompany the chorus in this one,and we feel the sadness and personal loss experienced by the singer.
One to bring tears to the eyes,but the upside is that the chorus is immensely singable.
Further notable tracks include "I Want You To Stay" which strikes a resounding chord. It's bittersweet,anguished and sad. But there's not a jot of depression in this track. In fact the lines of this song send shivers down the spine.
And then there's my personal favourite "Once,A Glimpse". Dramatic,desperate,highly-charged,intensely emotional,it contains the album's title line. Paul's vocals are as powerful as ever,not quite understanding why it has all gone wrong again emotionally. If high drama is your bag,this song will do it for you.
I could go on, but let's just say that,if you haven't already added ACT to your Millennium album collection, then it's not too late to do so. Its songs will steal their way into your heart and leave your ears wanting to hear more music from this remarkably talented band.
I recently learned that album sales for ACT went past Silver in 2005.
In my opinion,they are Pure Gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tour De Force!!, 21 April 2006
By 
Stephen Benyunes "sbenyunes" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
A rollercoaster ride from start to finish with barely time to catch your breath as A Certain Trigger piles it on with track after track of classic pop music. Reminiscent here and there of the big sound and lyrical flourishes of the Teardrop Explodes and others, but altogether more muscular and energetic. Pure exhilaration all the way, this is going to be a mighty hard act to follow. Surely the best of the lot in 2005 in a memorable year for guitar-based music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grower, 23 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
this album is amazing after a few listens it is definitley a grower, if you have only heard grafitti and love it some tracks are even better, except track 12 acrobat which is very different and personal don't really like it but again it is a grower. this is one of the best and most original albums i have heard in a long time i can't really find anything to comapare it to and that is a good thing with all the music that you can't tell the difference between around now. well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning debut, 23 May 2005
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
This should be to 2005 what Franz Ferdinand's debut was to last year. However, whereas the Franz actually broke into the mainstream, I fear that Maximo Park's album will be tragically overlooked by everyone and they won't get the praise they deserve. Which is a shame, because it's the best album of the year. Out of the 13 tracks there are probably about 7 or 8 standout tracks, in particular Graffiti, Apply Some Pressure, Limassol and Once A Glimpse. Come on people - get them noticed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Soundtrack of 2005!, 2 May 2009
By 
Natalie Hansen (Finchley, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
I remember the day when I bought this album, is was a warm May day, I had a bad day at work, had an argument with the boyf, and wanted to listen to "Going Missing" on loop. I am so glad I was in that melancholy mood otherwise I would not have had the chance to find out what a hidden gem this band is! Each track holds it's own, from "I Want You To Stay" to my personal favourite "Once a Glimpse", and takes you on an emotional rollercoaster, which despite the high octane music, it's Paul Smith's emotive and articulate lyrics which really packs a punch!

I have had the very good fortune of seeing this band live in 2006 and again in 2008, and I can't wait for the release of Quicken the Heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 29 Mar 2007
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
teesside's brightest hope, Maximo Park, finally release their debut album `A Certain Trigger', following two smash hit singles and an insurmountable heap of press adoration. From the infectiously catchy `Apply Some Pressure' to the jerky passion of `Graffiti' and the anthemic and immense `Going Missing', `A Certain Trigger' is by turns romantic, edgy, powerful and energetic. Adding to the fray the sing-along bitter rant of `Limassol' and the poetic majesty of 'Acrobat' and this album is, in short, solid gold - packed full of classic indie-pop hits, with Paul Smith's unique voice and emotionally open lyrics at the heart of the album, with the band's often joyous pursuit of pop structures with an angular slant adding the right amount of sustainable interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My album of 2005 - AMAZING, 2 Jan 2006
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
I don't think I've ever felt as passionately about an album as I do with 'A Certain Trigger' for at least 5 years. I will be the first to admit that when I got it I semi-liked one song and my student loan was burning a hole in my pocket. When I actually sat and listened to it, thank goodness for long plane and bus journeys, I was amazed and still am by how fresh and vibrant and energetic and emotive it sounds. I half expected another Northern accented indie album a la Futureheads which would be no bad thing, indeed the two albums are similar in style, use of melody, even lyrics to some extent (although the four part harmonies sadly lack on ACT). But if like me, whilst lapping up short spiky punky pop, you have that longing feeling that a song might develop over 2 minutes or break into a rousing, uplifting, so energetic you have to bounce like a kangaroo on speed middle 8 then you will fall in love with ACT. For me the album has no bad points, my personal highlights are 'Going Missing' and 'I Want You To Stay' - I cannot in all truthfulness find a bad point about this album. 'Acrobat' is even sublime in its stark contrast to the rest of the album, stripped down with Paul Smith's distinctive accent and lyrics, I just wish they'd perform it live a bit more often. I don't even mind the keyboards/synthesizers on the album, they only add to the depth of sound and have some decent riffs too to complement the guitar and bass. If only more bands could put out debut albums as fresh and distinctive as this then we wouldn't need to rely on a stark few to push music forward. I only hope the next album's better than this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top notch, 20 Nov 2005
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
this is one of those albums you come across once in a blue moon, where you want to stay awake every minute of the day just so you can listen to it. top top quality stuff, paul smith oozes a kind of wisdom and been-there-done-it-all knowledge with every lyric, yet in the most bizarre geordie accent, it's almost hard to take him seriously.
really loved this album and am going to see them for the first time in a few weeks and am pretty confident they'll utterly live up to all expectations based on the strength of this album.
a definite must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corker !!, 27 May 2005
By 
J. Mayell (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Certain Trigger (Audio CD)
Spur of the moment purchase, hadn't even heard single just went on cover art..First listen is a bit iffy, but since listen number 2 it hasn't left my player..Corker of a debut..Surely very big things to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Certain Trigger
A Certain Trigger by Max´mo Park (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews