Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soup Dragon Alert!
Depending on when you were born, The Clangers dvd is either going to be 5-star knockout brilliant, or minus-several-million-stars 'what the heck is this?' rubbish.
There's just a chance that if you didn't grow up following the antics of these animated characters then you might still be captured by the innocent delight of knitted pink mousey things which live on a...
Published on 30 Oct. 2007 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love it, toddler doesn't :-(
Having sat through the torture of today's children's TV I brought this hoping my toddler would love it as much as I did as a child. Unfortunately she was totally perplexed by the whole thing and after 5 minutes she got up and walked out. Maybe she's too young, maybe I remembering it with rose coloured glasses, maybe it hasn't stood the test of time, maybe we were easily...
Published on 22 Aug. 2009 by OskeyP


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soup Dragon Alert!, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Depending on when you were born, The Clangers dvd is either going to be 5-star knockout brilliant, or minus-several-million-stars 'what the heck is this?' rubbish.
There's just a chance that if you didn't grow up following the antics of these animated characters then you might still be captured by the innocent delight of knitted pink mousey things which live on a blue moon and hide under saucepan lids. However, I suspect that it's one of those cultural moments which might pass later generations by, so if you haven't seen The Clangers before then you should rent rather than buy, just to see if your sense of humour stretches to blue string pudding and the Soup Dragon.

But if you remember The Clangers with fondness then I have no idea why you're even bothering to read this review. just hit the 'buy' button and be done with it. Within a week you'll be hooting and squeaking and making soupy noises around the house -- and if you have young kids then you can even indoctrinate them into creative uses for a left-behind American flag. In fact, at the heart of every Clangers episode is a gentle morality tale about family life and the value of society when times are hard. They don't lecture or impose that viewpoint; it's just there if you want to hear it.

The Clangers were a much-loved part of my generation's childhood and I'm delighted to be able to see them again in all their wobbly, budget-restricted knitted glory. If your kids enjoy them, then fine. But that's a bonus. This dvd should be on any 40-somethings Christmas list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Postgate & Firmin = buy it!, 6 Feb. 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Ashton-Under-Lyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
If anything, I love these stories now more than ever. Beautiful stories and animation from Postgate and Firmin - captivating for adults and children alike.

If you remember the Clangers from your youth, buy their DVD, if you know any children, buy them the DVD. If you have never heard of or seen the Clangers (poor you) buy this DVD.

Wonderful music also; (a CD is available and I have it of course) as well as perfect narration to go with the lovely well drawn out stories and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clangers year one, 29 Aug. 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Once upon a time...

Long long ago, in a far off land known as 1969, there was a company called smallfilms. Run by Oliver Postgate and Peter Firmin, they produced shows for children using stop motion animation.

One of their shows was called the Clangers. And it was all about a group of creatures with long pink noses who live on a moon somewhere in space, far far away. They communicate by making strange whistling noises. They like to eat soup, which they get from a dragon who lives in a well.

And they have fun adventures, usually involving beings or objects that come to visit their home.

Some television can charm all the ages. And the Clangers has always done that. With superb stop motion animation, gentle narration from Oliver Postgate, and the infectious noises that the characters make, the Clangers is a timeless classic that can enthrall all ages just as well now as it did back then.

This dvd contains all thirteen episodes of the first series of the show. Each runs for nine minutes. You can select to watch them all in a row, or individually. The main menu screen can be a bit awkward at first as it seemingly won't let you progres, but just press the enter or the play button on the dvd remote and it will take you to the screen from where you can select the episodes.

For such an old programme, the picture quality is still pretty good. And the sound is excellent.

There are no extras. No subtitles. And the only language option is English.

But you do get thirteen bits of classic tv that can still charm and entertain both children and grown ups alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clangers, 4 May 2010
By 
Michael S. Cotgrove (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
It is now old fashioned, no manic images or over the top computer animation, just a nice steady, simple story.

Highly recommended to help relax. Each story is about 10 mins long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clangers series 1, 8 Oct. 2009
By 
Suzanne Hauwaert (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd takes me back thirty years, to being in primary school and watching the Clangers with my sister in the days when tv was only on 4 channels and you couldn't rewind or replay. Now my three kids, age 12. 10 and 6 have discovered the whistling conversations, blue wool soup and 1970's recycling messages the Clangers bring. The Clangers have survived the test of time. Like Pingu they transfer across many languages and cultures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer, utter brilliance., 16 Feb. 2010
By 
P. McLaughlin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved the clangers when i was little, and now that im a grown up, i see what little gems oliver postgate created, full of charm, genuine warmth and wit. Captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, 5 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Got the 2 DVDs within 48 hrs and they are brilliant. BBC childrens TV at it's best. Recommended for any age group even teenagers, as they are seen as surreal by anyone over 12! Bring back the Clangers I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clangertastic, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
R. A. Marshall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my 3 year old daughter, thinking that she should be given the opportunity to experience TV from my era. She loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soup Dragon Alert!, 23 Jan. 2008
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Depending on when you were born, The Clangers dvd is either going to be 5-star knockout brilliant, or minus-several-million-stars 'what the heck is this?' rubbish.
There's just a chance that if you didn't grow up following the antics of these animated characters then you might still be captured by the innocent delight of knitted pink mousey things which live on a blue moon and hide under saucepan lids. However, I suspect that it's one of those cultural moments which might pass later generations by, so if you haven't seen The Clangers before then you should rent rather than buy, just to see if your sense of humour stretches to blue string pudding and the Soup Dragon.

But if you remember The Clangers with fondness then I have no idea why you're even bothering to read this review. just hit the 'buy' button and be done with it. Within a week you'll be hooting and squeaking and making soupy noises around the house -- and if you have young kids then you can even indoctrinate them into creative uses for a left-behind American flag. In fact, at the heart of every Clangers episode is a gentle morality tale about family life and the value of society when times are hard. They don't lecture or impose that viewpoint; it's just there if you want to hear it.

The Clangers were a much-loved part of my generation's childhood and I'm delighted to be able to see them again in all their wobbly, budget-restricted knitted glory. If your kids enjoy them, then fine. But that's a bonus. This dvd should be on any 40-somethings Christmas list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good viewing, 9 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
my 3 and 5 year old both loved this, enhanced by knowing mum and dad had watched it as children. Very easy relaxing viewing for tired children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD]
Clangers: The Complete First Series [DVD] by Peter Firmin (DVD - 2005)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews