Customer Reviews


421 Reviews
5 star:
 (350)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


268 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for even beginner game-players
This is a simple game for young children. There are 4 shopping lists, 4 shopping trolleys and 32 item cards with pictures of foodstuffs and other things that you can buy in the supermarket. Each player takes a shopping list and a trolley, and all the item cards are placed faced down. Players then take turns to pick cards and try to find the ones which match the pictures...
Published on 17 Oct 2006 by Bramble family

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Played only a few times
I bought this for my granddaughter, aged 4. She got bored with it fairly quickly. When playing with two people, it's very predictable: if player 1 picks up a card and it is not his, he puts it back and of course player 2 knows it must be theirs and so picks it up to go in the basket. Not much excitement there.
Published 21 months ago by Dorothy Connor


‹ Previous | 1 2 343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, had this as a kid and loved it for many years., 13 Nov 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
A simple, memory game which will amuse you and your kids for hours. And when you eventually get bored of the same old Peas, jam and washing powder etc, you can buy add on shopping lists, with more modern items on them. It is great value for money, as it has lasted for many years with heavy use. As for its educational value, it helps improve memory and will encourage your child to help you with your shopping lists and fetching the items for the trolley too. It's recommended for ages 3-7 but if you want to boost your memory, playing this a few times with your little one will benefit you too.

This was my favourite game as a child, along with 'tummy ache'-another game from orchard toys and I would recommend both, they are much better value than some of the cheap, plasticky and downright nasty games on sale nowadays. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great favourite!, 11 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. Anne Margaret Cook "anniecook123" (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
I'm a childminder and the children all love this game. It's great for language development and for learning to take turns. They all love matching the items on their lists and filling their trolleys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shopping game, 1 Jan 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
brought this for my niece aged 2 and a half and my newphew aged 5 great game.

Loved by them both and educational too.

Encourages memnory skills encouraging turn taking and co-oprative play great value and you can also buy add on packs to extend the game and educational value there a great price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Played only a few times, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Dorothy Connor (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
I bought this for my granddaughter, aged 4. She got bored with it fairly quickly. When playing with two people, it's very predictable: if player 1 picks up a card and it is not his, he puts it back and of course player 2 knows it must be theirs and so picks it up to go in the basket. Not much excitement there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous small boxed game, 7 Jun 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
My daughter had her first Orchard Toys game (Funny People) for her 2nd birthday a recently and the friend recommended the Orchard range to me. In the box was the Catalogue and I noticed that the best seller is this Shopping List game, so I bought it for her a month ago (she is 2 yrs, 1 month now) and she has taken to the game like a duck to water - is absolutely hooked on it in fact. She's bright and pretty advanced in her speaking abilities so is able to both recognise and say all the 32 shopping items (CD, socks, aubergine, sweeties, milk, washing powder, etc.) But it also teaches memory skills, and patience. When it is your turn, you choose a face-down item, and see if it is on your list, and if it is, you put it in your trolley, if not you replace it, face down... then the next player, etc. until the first person fills their 8-slot trolley - they're the winner. At the same time as buying this, I bought the additional 2 list/2 trolley/16 more shopping items booster set, which means 6 players can play, but if like us, there are only a few of you, it isn't really necessary, unless you want the variety of shopping items. I was even more pleasantly surprised, within week 1 to lose a piece of the game, rang Orchard to ask if they sell spares, and was well impressed to find they offered to send me one, for free, which arrived 2 days later. Well done Orchard - colourful fun games, small enough to take travelling, at sensible prices, and with first class customer care. I will definitely buy more games, in fact have just re-bought the shopping list game for another 2 year old's birthday present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 26 Jan 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
This game is another orchard hit. The idea of the game is to collect everything on your shooping list by picking cards with shopping items from the cards layed face down in the middle. You then place them in your card trolley. Itis a good pick and memory game, that is a popular game with all children I have seen play it.

My only criticism is that there are only four shopping lists, so it becomes repetitve quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shopping - Not just for girls !!, 27 July 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Steel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
Recently bought this for my son's 3rd birthday. He hasn't got a great attention span and toys don't interest him enormously but he loves this game. Not only is it educational but it is also good fun and he does see it out to the end without becoming bored. I have since bought it for two of his friends' birthdays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Orchard's best games., 23 Jan 2010
By 
Jennifer Mills (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
My children love this game and request it daily. Even my youngest, at just 2 years old, can play (with a little supervision) and thoroughly enjoys beating his older sister. It is an adorable memory game that encourages patience. I highly recommend this game to anyone with pre-school children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a childrens English teacher I love this game, 8 April 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
This is such a great game for those wanting to teach food vocabulary to young classes in English. The pictures are cute and for the most part its clear what its meant to be, and the colours are bright and attractive. The only problem is that after they know the vocabulary its not much use except in other classes. However I've used it with small classes of 1-3 Spanish children and they loved it. I've just discovered that you can now buy expansion packs to add to it which is great. If your using it with children who can't yet read the shopping list it's a great way to teach and reinforce the vocabulary in other languages as well, in that sense its very versatile. Even when they turn over items thats not on their list I have them say what the item was so there is a lot of reinforcement. I can't recommend this game enough to language teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun whilst learning, 15 Aug 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Shopping List (Toy)
What a great product! We play this almost daily and is great for developing memory. I would definitely recommend it for preschoolers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orchard Toys Shopping List
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews