Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars62
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2005
When I first heard about this game, it was the Greek mythology bit that really drew me to it. I am a fan of all the ancient stuff and its about time such a game was made. Once I got onto the games website and began to search it, it took me through all the different places that appear in the game and showed some great little sequences and historical pointers. Everything about this game was begging me to buy it, and I couldn't resist.
The game contains nearly all of the mythological creatures of Greek history and there is no end of fun trying to slaughter them all. From the simple soldiers of the undead to the deadly blade of a turned-bad god, all is fanastic.
The opening sequence throws you straight into the drama and the story ends before you can understand it. If you have played the game, you will understand. There are sections along the timeline of the game that reveal more about the past of Kratos (the gods chosen one) and how he got to that point that we see 20 seconds into the game.
In terms of action, it is absolutely superb. Everything goes into making the heart pump 200% faster than is healthy! The graphic detail is better than any other game I have played. The music changes according to your situation and the events that are taken place, and it unconciously adds suspense and panic into the action on screen. In every room, every bridge and every open space, there is an abundance of enemies to face. No matter how many times you stab a minotaur in the head, it never gets boring. Each enemy has a great way of dying! You can rip the heads of medusas, cut undead soldiers through the middle, tear the wings off vampire-like creatures and so on. Also you can earn points for combat that allow you to upgrade your blades and god powers, creating new moves, new specials and handily adding to your life bar.
What I love most about this game is how each corridor, path or room that you pass through has a specific purpose. There are no bits that are stuck in there to fill time in or make it look a bit better. And on several occasions you will find yourself in a room that you thought you had left well behind several hours earlier. The puzzles quite are more than anything, fun. They are not stupidly easy, some take some thinking but then again they arent throw your joypad on the floor hard either. The structure and compilation of each surrounding has been thought through very well, which is admirable.
Finally, on completion of the game you are rewarded greatly by the gods! God mode is unlocked, there are a series of videos and take-outs to view on the games making etc... and there is a great little challenge where you have to pass 10 levels with specific targets to meet and stuff to do. On completion, it opens more stuff such as alternate costumes, just as completing God mode does. Plus some extremely exciting hints for a God of War 2 to be released in the future!
I love this game and if your a fan of action, puzzles and great stories, this is a must-buy. It has kept me hooked for hours with my eyes dropping out just eager to get to the next stages. I would even consider it to be THE best game that I have played on any console. Addictive, fun and gory!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2007
God of War is truely amazing. The length of the game is so massive that sony had to put it onto a dual layer dvd (one of only about 2 PS2 games to do this) and i never get bored of it. The way the creators of this masterpiece have incorperated Greek mythology into the gameplay is very clever. At a certain point in the game players find themselves having to decapitate Medusa in order to use her powers to turn enemies into stone!

The combat is very fast and aggressive with numerous combos players can throw out to kill ememies. With larger enemies and bosses players will have to kill them by completing a finishing move with which consists of either a certain button combination or a movement of the analogue sticks.

God of War has a thrilling story line which will keep the player interested right to the end and its shear brutallity and gore makes it a brilliant game!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2005
This isn't usually the sort of game I would consider playing. (I'm more of a sims and role play kind of gal myself). So when my boyfriend showed me that he had got it on rental, I was preparing myself for a weekend of boredom and "Oh, how nice dear"s. I was refreshingly surprised.
The storyline follows the story of Kratos, a warrior for the Gods, in his battle against Ares. Ares has turned against the people of Athens and is now wrecking havoc. This game rips into Greek mythology and turns it on its head. You'll get to fight against things such as sirens and minotaurs as well as a few more modern monsters like skeletons. However, the end of the story is one you could see a mile off. There are no clever twists or turns there.
The non-linear style game play is this games greatest strength...as well as its greatest flaw. There are so many paths you can choose from and there's hardly ever any clear indication as to which one to pick. Although this does provide a challenge, it can be a little frustrating to have to retrace your steps. Fortunately, you can't really ever stray too far from the "correct" path.
Of course, for an 18, this game has a great amount of bloodshed and gore! There are tactical combos you can perform, none of which are so complex that you'll forget them just second after you look at them. To make your attacks more brutal but you can also just randomly hit buttons. Also, the game contains plenty of puzzle solving moments. These are at a great difficulty level- not too easy as to just let you solve them seconds but not to hard as to drive you insane with frustration.
The graphics of this game are definitely a selling point. (Look out for the great water effects in Athens's town square!).
I would definitely recommend this game, particularly to those who wouldn't pick up a game of this genre normally. It's highly entertaining and the perfect length as to entertain for a sort period of time and not to drag on forever and ever!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 April 2007
This is a game set in ancient Greece and concerns Kratos, a spartan warrior.At the start of the game we seem him throwing himself off a cliff, in an attempt to escape the nightmares he is having. And then the game starts 3 weeks earlier, concerning itself with the events leading up to this point.
God of War is a fighting game, with some puzzles thrown in along with some boss fights.Does this sound like a run of the mill game? It may do, but what God of War does is perform everything so much better than all the similar games that have come before it.This game stands head and shoulders above every game in this genre. But why?
Graphically it is superb.The levels, characters and backgrounds are crisp, well-defined and actually 'feel' solid.Kratos himself is rendered with such care and attention it puts other games to shame. The cut-scenes are excellent too. They move the story along, and tantalise you, rather than bore you like some other games do. These cut scenes punctuate the action and give your weary fingers a break from mashing the joypad!
The music is superb too.It is classic orchestra music that adds to the atmosphere perfectly - it doesn't interfere with the game play or cut scenes, but adds to the experience of the game.Couple this with the superb voice acting and you have a game that has covered all its bases in the sound department.
The moves Kratos performs are genuinely exciting to watch - stylish and bloodthirsty. As the game progresses he enhances his weapons, and his magic and i was genuinely excited about levelling-up and learning the new moves. The finishing moves are brilliant, and all the bigger characters have different killing moves. From troll-like creatures, to the Minotaur to a genuinely innovative way of killing Medusa this game shows that a lot of thought has gone into making the game interesting and challenging.
There are moves for when Kratos is climbing walls or crossing rope bridges and these are really stunning - he grabs someone, and bashes him into the wall before throwing him down!!
There are plenty of good puzzles too though they are fairly standard - collect piece a and b and put in slot c, but again the developers have tried to make things different by putting time restraints on the puzzles, or making you go the long way round to get an item you need. There are also plenty of hidden caches of items too that you need to watch out for, and playing through the second time i am going 'aaaaah - i missed that the first time around!'
As for the difficulty of this game it is probably the best i have played on.It starts off as a challenge that is easy to pick up and play, and gradually gets more difficult unlike some that just go from easy to impossible in one level!This has a perfect learning curve, so that by the time you reach the later levels you will have a mastery of moves and magic that will enable you to beat the hardest bosses.
It has great characters too - Medusa,Hydra,the Minotaur,the Harpes and various Gods including Athena,Zeus,Poseidon and Aries.
There is definite replay value too - once completed there are two more difficulty levels to be played, the hardest of which is God mode.I am playing through again in God Mode and it is a real challenge, and much tougher!You definitely have to play much more tactically to get through this difficulty level!

And there you have it.In my view this is a brilliant game that every ps2 owner should have in their collection. It is not my favourite sort of game genre, but God of War has converted me. I am still playing it now and still enjoying it. I would recommend this to everyone above the age of 15 - any younger and it is way too gory, and i wouldn't want my children playing something THIS violent, so beware parents!
This is what games should be like - well thought out, well planned and well executed.
And the good news is that God of War 2 is out at the end of April 2007 - and that promises to be the PS2's superb finale! In the meantime, before buying that, get this - it will set you up perfectly for the sequel. And if you never quite got round to buying this, PLEASE get it now - trust me, it is well worth your money!!!

25th June 2007 - Finally completed all the challenges, and unlocked all the secrets of the game.The Challenge of the Gods series is really tough, but worth it for the extra costumes - Kratos in a cow suit, with plastic milk cartons to replace the Blades of Chaos is reward in itself! The Challenge of the Gods is hard , and took me a while to complete.
Now i can go back to having a life...........before starting God of War 2!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
STORY
You play as Kratos, a former captain of the Spartan and a man with a very sinful past. Now a servant to the Gods Of Olympus, the fearless warrior is tasked with doing the bidding of the Gods. The God of war, Ares, is on a rampage of his own as he attempts to prove his worth and importance amongst the other Gods. Athena has tasked you with putting his reign of terror to an end.

The story serves as a strong element, it has depth and characterisation. Kratos is clearly a troubled individual, his past becomes unravelled and you slowly peel open the layers of his violent nature. Kratos’ only motivation is vengeance but it is enough to drive the plot, his reasons to be angry are more than valid, though running parallel to that it’s evident that his life has been far from innocent.

GRAPHICS & SOUND
God Of War comes out guns blazing in the visuals department; the scale is on such an epic level that it will try to suck your eyeballs out in disbelief. The beauty of ancient Greece shines through its
highly detailed level design. Environments are very diverse throughout your quest, raging seas, the destroyed city of Athens; lonely deserts and beautiful temples create a fantastic backdrop to the action. The art direction is highly imaginative, it’s obvious the amount of effort the designers have
put into this game and the results are quite simply brilliant. Just when the game amazes you, it throws something new and even more dazzling towards you. The character model of Kratos reflects his brutish nature, heavily tattooed, pasty white skin and his chained blades at his sides, the blades of chaos form the centrepiece of his inventory.

The technology powering this game is in a league of its own, animations are fluid, weapons look menacing and feel just as powerful. Cutscenes are rendered in high detail; there are many flashback moments that allow us to venture into the very soul of Kratos. The soundtrack would be welcome in any blockbuster Hollywood movie; the sweeping orchestral work fits the epic nature of the game. Overall sound design is just as impressive, combining set-piece moments and pulse-pounding songs together just makes for an unmissable experience.

GAMEPLAY
The visuals have me frothing at me mouth but it’s safe to say the gameplay is just as much of a romp. The level of brutality is through the roof, blood sprays from severed limbs, enemies are beheaded with Kratos’ bare hands, the list goes on and goes to show that our bald Spartan is somewhat a specialist at doing all of this. As mentioned earlier, the blades of chaos are Kratos’ primary weapons. They are essentially swords on chains that can be swung in a whiplike fashion, this utilises full 360° combat and a string of combo attacks. Kratos isn’t just a blade swinging machine, blocking isn’t essential, but it helps keep the flow of combat to a satisfying level.

Most enemies can be easily taken care of, others can be weakened enough that presents a mini-game challenge. The screen will display button prompts, match these correctly and watch Kratos sadistically finish off an enemy. The Gods bestow magical powers upon you, Zeus’ lightning and Medusa’s gaze are examples of powerful attacks that add greater substance to the combat. Weapons and magic can also be upgraded, which is where the fun really begins. Upgrading magic will make the combo counter sore to unknown levels, as the duration of these attacks will set any battle arena ablaze. Kratos will not pummel the s*** out of enemies all of the time, there are plenty of platforming sequences that are flawlessly handled and showcase the impressive scope of the game.

Furthermore, there are plenty of excellent puzzles to break up the gameplay. Many of these puzzles will require a little brainpower, whereas others will have you fending off waves of enemies in order to progress further. Undead soldiers, winged harpies, minotaurs and cyclops’ are just some of the enemies that stand in your way.

God Of War provides excellent boss battles, but there just aren't enough of them throughout the adventure. Enemy A.I. is also flawed and nowhere near as aggressive as it should be.

OVERALL
God Of War 2 is a fantastic game. The story is dark and brought to life by a vicious protagonist. The graphics are mesmerising and an amazing achievement. The gameplay is ridiculously engaging, which is further enhanced by one hell of seamless adventure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
First off, the story line is great for this game but I'm not going to babble on and on about it much... basically you play as Kratos who has been betrayed by the gods and you want revenge by kicking immortal butt. The game is based around Greek mythology, with fast paced action throughout and a healthy dose of brutality and violence. As Kratos, you progress through areas by killing everything in your path and solving a few puzzles. As you progress, you power up your weapons, health and gain special abilities enabling you to deal with more challenging enemies.

Visually the game is stunning for its age, with excellent cut scenes, attention to detail and smooth animation. The controls are responsive and well thought out, from frenzied button bashing to calculated sequences, performing a variety of moves to tear the various body parts from your enemy. As you submerge yourself into the game you actually feel a growing attachment to Kratos and this rewards you with a sense of achievement once you have killed a boss or group of tough foes.

The game lasts quite some time, which is great as you won't want the experience to end. The balance of difficulty is spot on, starting off simply while training you in the art of battle as you progress. The difficulty setting can be adjusted within the options menu and you can unlock video clips which add to the replay value but the game does not contain a strong replay value. I would suggest not rushing through this game (even though it is tempting as you will be itching to know what happens next), rather sit back, fully explore the environments and immerse yourself in the amazing experience that is God of War. In doing so you will quickly discover that the reply value of this game does not matter one bit!

Quite simply, this is an epic experience and a must have for any PS2 collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
For many years i have waited for the game that would attempt to crack the untouched genre of greek mythology. Like many i have seen many films such as jason and the argonauts and wanted to experience it first hand. Then god of war came along and i was delighted. I Waited a long time for it and it was so worth it. The graphics beat anything on the PS2 and the sound it good too. Longetivity wise it isnt the best but will keep you entertained for a lot of memorable hours. Being an 18 it isnt for everyone but if you are into lots of action, great boss fights (some of the best ive ever had) and lots of gore then this is the game for you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2005
This game is amazing!! right from the from outset you dive straight into some action, by fighting some monsters. The controls are kept simple which makes the game even better because you don`t have to worry about pulling off massive combos to kill demons. The graphics are superb the sound awesome and the fighting mechanics are unbeleivable! any ps2 owner who was or is a fan of prince of persia and devil may cry must go and get this game. To me its better than prince of persia and devil may cry! but you`ll have to buy it for yourself and find out!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2005
God of war is seemingly one of the best greek games that there is. You will have a blast fighting your way through Medusas Cyclopses Centours Sirens Bosses and many more creatures.You will have powers such as Thunderbolts comanding spirits to attack your opponents Freezing your opponent to Rock solid and many more great powers. There is tons of great fighting combos aswell that some certain creatures are vulnerable to. there are extremely great graphics and videoclips too.and you will be able to earn your self great rewards such as waves of killing opponents and other spectacular rewards. And loads more amazing obstacles too. Trust me on this one this is an extremely good game that will give you tons of pleasure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2005
God of war is seemingly one of the best greek games that there is. You will have a blast fighting your way through Medusas Cyclopses Centours Sirens Bosses and many more creatures.You will have powers such as Thunderbolts comanding spirits to attack your opponents Freezing your opponent to Rock solid and many more great powers. There is tons of great fighting combos aswell that some certain creatures are vulnerable to. there are extremely great graphics and videoclips too.and you will be able to earn your self great rewards such as waves of killing opponents and other spectacular rewards. And loads more amazing bstacles too. Trust me on this one this an extremely good game that will give you tons of pleasure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)