Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Tennis Sim
At last a proper tennis sim that actually lets you play the shots yourself without the computer doing it for you like in Smash court or virtua. Recommend this highly
Published on 24 July 2005

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Double faults all round with this stinker
I think it's very fitting that 'Tiger Tim' is on the cover of this awful game, as they both fail to live up to expectation.
I bought Perfect Ace 2 and sold it two days later. Why? well:
1) The commentary is absolutely terrible. The woman sounds like she's having an orgasm at one point and there is nothing of any merit in the rest of the commentary. I thought...
Published on 6 Aug 2005 by D. Macphee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Double faults all round with this stinker, 6 Aug 2005
By 
D. Macphee "phacmee!" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I think it's very fitting that 'Tiger Tim' is on the cover of this awful game, as they both fail to live up to expectation.
I bought Perfect Ace 2 and sold it two days later. Why? well:
1) The commentary is absolutely terrible. The woman sounds like she's having an orgasm at one point and there is nothing of any merit in the rest of the commentary. I thought video games have evolved since 1988. This game proves otherwise.
2) You have to press the relevant shot buttons about 5 minutes before you want to make the actual stroke. It's infuriating to say the least.
3) Every camera angle is designed to dis-orientate. I found myself having to change the angle every once in a while just to be able to get near the ball.
4) The player movement is sluggish and it's 50/50 as to whether you'll actually reach the ball, let alone hit it.
5) Apparently there is a wealth of 'licensed players' on offer. Maybe they got 'licensed players' from the Surrey Tennis Club because the only player I knew was 'Tiny', sorry 'Tiger Tim'. No sign of Federer, Roddick, Williams or anyone half decent.
I'm sure there are many other faults in this game but I simply did not want to play it anymore to find out.
PLEASE IGNORE THE PERSON WHO GAVE A 5-STAR REVIEW. THIS GAME REALLY IS ONE OF THE WORST TENNIS SIMS!!!!! whoever wrote the good review must have been the programmer.
Anyways, I now own Smash Court Tennis and, although that has one or two minor flaws, it is a million times better than the terrible Perfect Ace 2. Virtua Tennis is also worth checking out
The only thing I can recommend about this 'game' is that you keep the reciept and take it back for a refund. Avoid at ALL cost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor!, 14 Aug 2005
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is sooo poor its not even funny.. its just dead. its too easy to start with.. like everyone said dont buy this game its rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be zero stars..., 6 July 2006
By 
Mr. N. J. Griffiths "Nill" (Swanley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Awful, basically unplayable and reminiscent of an old 80`s arcade effort. Henman on the front says it all - way below average. Maybe a 5 year old wouldn`t mind playing this sort of tosh but not for anyone who has played any other game, tennis or whatever. Utter utter ****! Give ten pounds to fight the weapons industry instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 1 Aug 2005
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
i was very disappointed with this game. i started off with a 'quick game' on easy level just to get used to it. That lasted about 5 minutes as i won very easily (6-0) and the opponent was rubbish. i decided to have a go on the most difficult level just to see how hard it got.... the answer was it didn't (6-0, 6-0, 6-0). it just lasted for three sets instead of one!!
Not to worry, i'll have a go at the career mode where you have to build up your shot power and speed as you gain wins in tournaments. surely, with no power in my shots and no endurance i couldn't win a match let alone a tournament. wrong again... it was just so easy.
don't get me started on the commentary, when you put i next to other sports games with famous commentators this is just laughable. i'll be trading it in very soon but just can't believe that someone made this to be a serious game. it's truly awful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH, 27 Aug 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
i brought this game for 1p and thank goodness i did because this game is rubbish
you might as well spend more money and get a better and bigger game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad, and not that pretty, 15 Jan 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I'd agree with most of what's been written about this game (if not what's been written about Tim Henman, who was after all one of the top tennis players in the world). The biggest problem is that if you stand in a certain place and direct the ball in a certain direction when you serve, your opponent will return your serve approximately once every three matches. Yes, I said matches. Ultimately that makes it impossible to lose. But the game isn't quite as bad as it's been painted: a decent opponent (and there are a couple) will give you a bit of a match on his or her service game and this can be quite fun. Despite the "enigmatic" control system you do find that you did kind of know that your last shot was going to go where it did, and you feel you must therefore have made it go there even though you have no idea how you did it. In that sense it's a bit like real tennis...

But there are too many bugs: sometimes you get to serve twice - a distinct advantage; sometimes your opponent's name is replaced by an earlier match result(!); an opponent's failed but valiant attempt to return your mighty serve is often met with the comment, "What a terrible shot!" It's all indicative of a game that the developers realised wasn't much cop before they'd finished it, so they gave up and released it as it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please don't waste your money!, 26 July 2005
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Perfect Ace 2 is without a doubt the worst game I have ever played on. The graphics are just terrible(they remind me of something that you would play on a gameboy), the flimsy controls are impossible to get the hang of and the insructions booklet that comes with it is a whole 2 pages in length. Their are no proper players, just random made up people and there are no game options. The commentry is a joke (there are about three phrazes that are repeated over and over again.) Please do not make the same mistake as me by wasting 20 that could be spent on something useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressive, 21 July 2005
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is well below standerds of a great tennis game, its far too slow and very tedious, do not buy this, buy the new French Open Tennis game coming out soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Words to decribe this rubbish!!, 9 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
The worst ever game on the PS2 it gives the PS2 a bad name and this game cheats you to buy as Tim Henman is on the front but he is the only Licensed player. What a load of rubbish. I would even pay a penny for this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Double Fault.....or maybe a couple of hundred more., 23 Jun 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game thinking it might be alright. It's not. Not even alright. It's poor. Looking at the back of the box you see 4 in game pictures, on of which is half covered up by a photograph of Tim Henman, another of which shows Tim Henman wearing American Football style shoulder pads, or so it would seem.

The box also boasts "licensed playerS, including Tim Henman". The only licensed players I've come across so far are Henman and Haas. Other players on the game include 'Federra' and 'Rodeck'. I haven't come across a single licensed woman player and overall the rest of the players are disappointing. The box also says "Fast and exciting multiplayer mode". Lies, all lies. Even the two commentators state how slow and boring the matches are. The commentry is also poor. There are 2 of them and they only have about 5 or 6 different saying. One of which is the female commentator saying "ooooooh".

However there is a full player editor!...which is poor.

I have played both this and Perfect Ace 1 and the older game is far superior. Don't touch this with a barge pole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Ace 2 (PS2)
Perfect Ace 2 (PS2) by Oxygen Interactive (PlayStation2)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews