Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovative, if patchy sci-fi thriller series
You wake up on the floor of a cell with five other people - none of whom can remember why they are there or how they got there. The cell is 14 foot on each side and there is a hatch one each of the four walls and on the floor and ceiling, each leading to another identical cell. You have to find your way out of the complex before you die of thirst, but your way is beset by...
Published on 14 July 2011 by Crookedmouth

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Three versions of one simple concept
One idea; three movies. Cube 1 is the best. It's set in the present or near future. All the characters know who they are and have been chosen because of their skills. The dialogue gives the impression that whoever created the cube has neglected it and no one is watching. The entire movie is set within the cube and we get a real sense of their confinement and desperation...
Published on 8 April 2006 by T. Bearne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Set let down by Cube Zero, 30 Jan. 2007
By 
Ian Glover (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
The review would have been 5 stars if Cube Zero had been up to the standard of the first two, but it is woefully bad. The acting is bad (although some of that may be deliberate), poor special effects, and focusing on the people controling the cube leads to a cliche ridden script.

A prequel where technology is vastly more advanced than the future? That's got to be worthy of a Lucas award!

Cube and Cube 2 are pretty good, although Cube 2 is essentially a carbon copy of Cube but with flashier effects sequences. The focus on the group dynamic of the people in the cube allows for some character development, but not that much.

All of the films suffer from too many questions being skirted around, large plot holes and one-dimensional supporting characters. That said, the first two are still worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A*, 5 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent trilogy to own. introduced it to my friends who all love it also. reccomend the buy to anyone contemplating it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
It is exactly want i wanted and my family enjoy them to, thank you for the item and the speed dispatch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Cube 1 and Zero, 21 May 2009
By 
Will (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
Cube 1 is a great film so is Cube Zero. Sadly Cube 2 is complete garbage. If you buy this set dont bother with 2 it has nothing to do with Cube anyway and might as well be rated PG13. The effects are rubbish there are no traps, nothing happens, the acting is awful and the hyperspace future setting could send u to sleep.

That said, Cube and Zero (a prequel to Cube that does link to the original) are both brilliant films, filled with great gory traps and a good dark story. They could easily be rated 18.

Cube 9/10
Cube 2 1/10
Cube Zero 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
My hubby loved his Cube trilogy for Christmas , came very quickly to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth having in the collection, 6 Sept. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
The cube series is a decent box set to own watching all three does give you a better feel for the movie in general.

If you are an avid scifi fan you will appreciate the extras and the commentary on the dvds.

overall interesting and worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves more than 5 stars, 4 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
CUBE: I watched this movie on TV one night a few months ago and loved it so much that the next day I rushed out to HMV to buy it - and was thrilled to find that it was part of a trilogy. This is probably the best of the three. Six people awaken to find themselves inside a series of connecting cube-shaped rooms with no food, water or recollection of how they got there. At first their only problem is getting out of the cubes before they starve or dehydrate but then, when one of them dies, they discover that some of the rooms are rigged with traps...lethal traps.

CUBE 2: HYPERCUBE: Good sequel but not as good as the origional as many of the deaths happen off-screen. This is very tame for a 15 and definatly could have passed as a 12. Nevertheless it is a good movie well worth watching (especially if you enjoyed the first one).

CUBE ZERO: Better of the two sequels, this is almost as good as the first although it should have been rated 18 as it is gory and disturbing in some places. Not recommended for those with a weak stomach (the opening scece is especially horrific - I wont give anything away but I was to scared to have a shower for days). Gives an interesting insight of what goes on outside the cube and introduces you to the people who run it.

In the box set the movies appear in the order: CUBE ZERO, CUBE, CUBE 2 because CUBE ZERO is a prequel to CUBE but it is better to watch them in the order that they were released: CUBE, CUBE 2, CUBE ZERO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is He Dead Yet - Not Even Close, 15 May 2005
By 
J. Pappenheim "Papsby" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
If you are the type of person who goes round to their friends house, has some Pimms, and watches a bad horror movie, or the Star Wars Trilogy, then this is the boxset for you. Cube is the single best bad movie I have ever seen, and for that I praise it. Cube is the story of 6 (what a coincidence) people who wake up in a Cubed prison, with no idea how they got there, or how to get out. Together they must brave the booby traps, and save their hides. Cube 2 : Hypercube is basically the same story but with the cubes having other dimensions, allowing them to see themselves die. Cube Zero is the prequel, telling the story of why people are put into the cube, and who designed it.
As I said before, this is good when accompanied with drink, and is strongly reccommended for gatherings. 5/5 is my score for these truly terrible films. Get em while theyre hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You either love them or hate them, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
Bjorn Halvorsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
Cube movies are the kind where you either love them or you hate them. Being a tech person i really like them, but do not see them if you want to know the plot. The plot is almost about there is no plot. Its all about how the different characters cope with the situations, and how they develop. Can someone say "trap" ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product., 15 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. Alexander M. Glazebrook (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] (DVD)
Heard about this trilogy from a friend and he said i should check it out! Was Freakin Excellent, love the movies, delivery was speedy and the product was practically like new when i recieved it. Thanks a lot. Would definately order again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD]
Cube Trilogy - Cube / Cube 2 / Cube Zero [DVD] by Andrzej Sekula (DVD - 2005)
£34.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews