Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable hokum...
I used to love MacGyver when it aired in the UK in the late 80s.. and have been dying to get hold of it on DVD or video over since - and now it's here! Everyone else has commented on price (but I don't care cos got mine as a gift! *lol*) so I'm going to actually review the programme...
If you've never seen the show, the basic premise is that...
Published on 14 Nov 2005 by Alison Johnson

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE SECRET AGENT THAT CAN TURN ANYTHING INTO A WEAPON !
Macgyver starring 'mullet' haired Richard dean Anderson was a great fun series that owes more to the A-Team than anything else. Angus Macgyver hates any sort of weapon but can turn his hand to anything to get away from danger. Over the series he manages to construct many machines or weapons from normal objects found laying about or from his ruck sack. This is very much a...
Published on 7 Dec 2006 by NEO


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable hokum..., 14 Nov 2005
By 
Alison Johnson "Alipeeps" (North of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Macgyver - the Complete First Season [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I used to love MacGyver when it aired in the UK in the late 80s.. and have been dying to get hold of it on DVD or video over since - and now it's here! Everyone else has commented on price (but I don't care cos got mine as a gift! *lol*) so I'm going to actually review the programme...
If you've never seen the show, the basic premise is that MacGyver is a government agent type - but he doesn't like guns, isn't keen on violence, and uses his knowledge of physics and chemistry to build himself "weapons" to help him out of whatever situation he finds himself in. As with a lot of American TV shows, the moral is laid down with anvil-like subtlety and a certain suspension of disbelief if definitely required - oh and, in true 80s TV style, the bad guys are incredibly bad shots and no-one ever seems to get killed (they just get knocked out and arrested later!) There's a certain "James Bond" element to the show too - MacGyver always seems to get the women and the bad guys, if they ever catch him, always dream up some elaborate way to kill our hero - rather than, say, just putting a bullet in his head - from which, of course, he can "MacGyver" up an escape plan.
The first season has a good mix of episodes - some better than others - but is often let down by what appears to have been a seriously limited budget when it comes to hiring actors to play the bad guys - particularly in "The Golden Triangle" and "Target MacGyver" they are almost painful to watch! And "Thief of Budapest" is particularly hard to watch if you've ever seen "The Italian Job".. I mean, if you're going to save money by borrowing footage from a film for your car chase scenes, don't borrow it from one of the most classic, well-known car-chase films of all time!
Despite all this though, the series is thoroughly enjoyable - it's lighthearted fun, the "MacGyverisms" are entertaining and, what the heck, RDA was cute when he was younger.. :)
There don't appear to be any extras on the DVDs, aside from the option to change languages, but seeing as the show has not been available at all previously, it's nice just to be able to have the episodes and watch them. Roll on Season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun., 4 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Macgyver - the Complete First Season [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
As somebody who missed the original run of MacGyver but became a big fan of Richard Dean Anderson through Stargate SG-1, I picked this box-set up on a whim. Based on what I'd heard about the series, I expected it to be cheesy but fun. I was quite pleasantly surprised to find that actually, it's much better than that. The quality of the acting is on the whole quite decent, the dialogue is fairly fresh, and (despite some use of archive footage that stands out rather obviously when watching on DVD) it really doesn't feel particularly dated.
The main draw of the series is, obviously, RDA and his great personal appeal. MacGyver is not really a slick James Bond figure, although he gets up to some similar capers; he's a pacifistic government agent who comes up with inventive solutions to rescue hostages, capture bad guys, defuse bombs, and generally do good deeds. The morality behind the episodes is not at all subtle, but like everything else about the series, it goes down easily enough thanks to its overall charm.
The violence is naturally not remotely graphic, this being an 80s show, but it's also non-cartoonish; when someone gets hurt, whether it's our hero or the bad guys, they obviously suffer from it instead of bouncing right back to keep going (which adds a helpful flicker of realism to the 'somehow, no one ever quite dies' action-adventure antics). And while MacGyver often 'gets the girl', it never leaves a bad taste; he's portrayed as being friends with women as often as ending up in bed with them, and you get the impression that a good time is generally had by all, no hard feelings involved.
The show is not without its flaws (most of them attributable to being an American TV show made in the 80s, with all that entails) but on the whole it's so enjoyable that they really don't stick with you. If you're a fan of RDA or of light-hearted adventure shows in general, this one certainly worth checking out. Here's hoping the later seasons will get a region 2 release sometime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MacGyver - Season 1, 26 July 2005
This review is from: Macgyver - the Complete First Season [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
MacGyver was one of the truly great American Television shows but more recently known by the younger generation as the Simpsons' Pattie and Selma's all time favourite T.V hereo. It's got a few extras but not all that many but they don't really matter, MacGyver was simply MacGuyver and its a great boxset with or without the extras. However, if you're more concerned about the price then the extras and have a region 1 suitable DVD player...buy yourself the region 1 boxset it's half the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheese-tastic, 24 July 2005
This review is from: Macgyver - the Complete First Season [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Ok MacGyver is probably one of the few greatest characters ever to come from the hothouse that is tv. With this you get pure Richard Dean Anderson, a pen knife, and some 80's and early 90's excellence. Those that don't know Mac I say hang your heads in shame. This dvd is a must for everyone!!!!!!!! No excuses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the 80's, 26 Mar 2009
By 
Having watched the series when it was first on TV and having great memories about it I was looking forward to the box.
No dissapointment here. Although the look is definately 80's and the acting (especially of the guests) is 'wooden', watching the various episodes is very enjoyable. I realy like Richard Dean Anderson, he is the very best person for this role.
I will probably order the rest of the series as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macgyver - the Complete First Season [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good family fun, 31 July 2013
By 
J. Lawrence "ashhousebooks" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These shows are exciting and full of clever ideas from the hero for getting himself out of a wide variety of scrapes. It's also pretty clean and uncontroversial in subject matter - I've been watching with my school-age kids and haven't been concerned about them seeing it. It's reasonably sensitive too - there is one episode dealing with a community that grows plants for making illegal narcotics, and it presents them as fairly normal people just trying to get along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this sere. It is one sere from my childhood that I never forget. So I strongly recommend this sere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reliving the past, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How great to be back in the 80s and reliving those Macgyver moments. First series took a while to get established but thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always loved the TV series and it's just brilliant seeing and re-living all
MacGyver's inventiveness again !
Arrived on time and packaged well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Macgyver - the Complete First Season [DVD] [1985]
Macgyver - the Complete First Season [DVD] [1985] by Richard Dean Anderson (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: 5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews