Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have a premonition of many eyes glued to their screens!!!
I took a risk and purchased this dvd boxset having never before seen even a single episode, but WOW how it paid off! This is television at its best- every episode is completely gripping and looks as though it has a budget comparable to that of a movie (i.e. with matrix style camera tricks).
While the concept of a central character with a paranormal advantage over...
Published on 5 April 2005 by Fantasy Lore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 2010 It is ok but a tad "old hat" now
From the outset l should say this is an ok series and my Mrs does enjoy it. In fact because she enjoys it i have now bought series two which the reviewer says, is when this series (of seven seasons) gets going.
From my point of view it is very "light" and with the exception of one episode, by no means gripping. Entertaining but not gripping. I notice that most of the...
Published on 25 Sep 2010 by K. Grunwald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have a premonition of many eyes glued to their screens!!!, 5 April 2005
By 
Fantasy Lore - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I took a risk and purchased this dvd boxset having never before seen even a single episode, but WOW how it paid off! This is television at its best- every episode is completely gripping and looks as though it has a budget comparable to that of a movie (i.e. with matrix style camera tricks).
While the concept of a central character with a paranormal advantage over others isn't much of a blindingly-original a theme, this is very much above the average. Though the key to its success, despite its many original qualities has to be the central performance by Antony Michael Hall- he's just perfectly cast as Jonny Smith, a guy who manipulates events in the present to avert disaster in the future for himself, his loved ones and complete strangers using the part of his brain aptly named 'the Dead Zone'.
The first 3 episodes are fantastic and while the season never quite lives up to this brilliant introduction, it does take us places we never expect with great writing and beautiful performances. My favourite episode is 'Shaman' (reminded me of a star trek: next gen. episode, but actually surpasses that in every way), 'Dinner with Dana' is the episode where very little happens action-wise, but which somehow manages to be effortlessly engaging, and 'Enemy Mind' would be the poorest because it's a little predictable (which is something you can very rarely say with the Dead Zone). It's moving, addictive and classy television, snap it up guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DeadZone series, 11 May 2005
By 
This review is from: The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Dead Zone is based on the Stephen King book, which became a series, about a normal, regular type high school teacher who is engaged to his childhood sweetheart -- until he's involved in a terrible car accident, and he winds up in a coma for 6 years.
When he wakes up, he slowly discovers he has this amazine power -- visions -- in which he can see the past, future, or hidden present just by touching someone, or something they have touched
THE DEAD ZONE IS ABSOLUTELY THE BEST, MOST INTELLIGENT, WELL-WRITTEN, WELL-ACTED, AND WELL-DIRECTED TV SHOW THAT HAS BEEN ON FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER
you'll either hate it or like me you would love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the original book by Stephen King!!, 10 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Ignore what all these other idiots are saying.. The Dead Zone is the most genius programme EVER! Unfortunately I only got to see the first two series before I lost the Sci-Fi channel where it was aired.

Stephen King adaptations, and indeed Stephen King novels are always individual, thrilling, and damn amazing. The Dead Zone is well thought out, and left me not bein able to take my eyes off the screen. It's a great adaptation of the book, and normally I HATE it when they make TV series from books cause they always end up a pile of bob. But this show is ace!

One of the best sci-fi series you could purchase, there's a lot of poo stupid pathetic American sci-fi series out there, but this is one of the good 'uns!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Zone, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The first season is very interesting and draws you in. For the price it is a must, now watching the second series and seems to be more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this box set. If you liked Tru Calling, this is very similar. The storyline follows on and it is easy and enjoyable Viewing after about the first two episodes. It is the story about a man who after having a near fatal car accident, finds he is able to see the future of a person he touches, this gets interesting as the storyline unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DeaD bRILLiANT, 23 Feb 2012
By 
J (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this opened it and sat and watched the whole series!! I got involved with the characters straight away and it will be interesting to see how the rest of the other series pan out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 27 April 2011
This review is from: The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched a one off episode on Horror channel, thought this seems interesting. Purchased the 1st season and im glued! Fantastic and makes you want to watch one after the other! Im so attached to it i dunno what i'll do when ive watched all the seasons. I've never seen anything like this before which makes this even more unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 2010 It is ok but a tad "old hat" now, 25 Sep 2010
By 
K. Grunwald - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
From the outset l should say this is an ok series and my Mrs does enjoy it. In fact because she enjoys it i have now bought series two which the reviewer says, is when this series (of seven seasons) gets going.
From my point of view it is very "light" and with the exception of one episode, by no means gripping. Entertaining but not gripping. I notice that most of the 5 star reviews were written some while ago and of course, we have now had quite a spate of "people with powers" movies and tv series...X Men,Heroes, 4400 etc and it might well be that i come across this earlier it might have grabbed me more. When watching i do feel that the stories are a tad repetative and lack something in the creative department.
All in all..If you like this genre i guess you will probably enjoy it to a greater or lessor degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THAT LITTLE BIT EXTRA, 30 May 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The part of the brain that for us fails to function is for John Smith very much alive - following the car crash that left him in a six year coma. This is a gift he would prefer not to have - images forever flashing of past events or forthcoming possible tragedies, he now regarded as either a freak or saviour.

Here is a wonderful premise for a series. Season 1 proves a little uneven, but most of the episodes work a treat. The start is strong as John begins to realize the extent of his powers. Amongst the best episodes? The young ice hockey player in danger of a heart attack. The truth about the death of John's mother as he lay unconscious. Jury Service - much owed here to "Twelve Angry Men", John in the Henry Fonda role. The bank hold-up, John frantically trying to avert a whole string of ghastly scenarios. Shades of Salem in "the town that time forgot", John facing burning for witchcraft. My favourite was where he had contact with a Native American shaman of many centuries ago - an asteroid is about to strike, the tribe needing to evacuate if hundreds of thousands of descendants are to be saved.

Yes, there is much to admire. Perhaps some may regret one of the characters who tends to irritate, her prominence in one episode the season's least happy spot. There is an appealing central performance. We leave John aware that an ambitious politician is destined to cause a nuclear catastrophe. A cliffhanger indeed, causing me at once to order Season 2.

No extras - which is ironic, considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get into the zone............, 9 Jun 2009
By 
Darren Farmer (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you haven't heard of the book, the film and now the TV series, then where have you been? This is well worth the money and is a solid new take on the original Stephen King Material. Anthony Michael Hall is convincing as the lead, Johnny Smith, although he could learn a thing or two about limping from Hugh Laurie. The first season sets up the characters nicely with some cracking episodes, and then pulls you in towards the season finale that will leave you wanting more! Thankfully all 5 seasons are available on DVD, so get in there and give it a shot, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD]
The Dead Zone - Season 1 [DVD] by Anthony Michael Hall (DVD - 2006)
11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews