Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barmy (and slightly more accessible than last time) Brilliance
It's always nice when a record exceeds your expectations, particularly when you're expecting quite a lot.

'The Decline of British Sea Power' is a great record that rewards the more patient listener, although many find the rawness of some of the tracks at bit hard to take.

'Open Season' dispenses with most of the rough edges, and replaces them with an...
Published on 31 May 2006 by FoxyPablo

versus
19 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A shadow of its predecessor
This isn't remotely as interesting an album as the group's debut. This is mainly because the tunes lack the same kind of inspiration. It's worth noting that Please Stand Up and North Hanging Rock, which appear next to each other, are really the same tune, which is hard to forgive. (Both tunes sound like something that was on the first album anyway) The first two tracks...
Published on 13 April 2005 by M. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, catchy, modern, 22 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Season (Audio CD)
This is a great album with some wonderfully catchy songs. It can however be accused of sounding all the same. This doesn't really affect me much as I rather like, as i'm sure many people will, the soft voice and deep lyrics backed by a great, soft rock-style band. A great album which many could listen to all day. I bought this on a whim, not having heard of any new bands recently, and I was not disapointed. If you like that new trend of soft rock that's around right now, you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer musical excellence, 4 April 2005
By 
MR MANSOOR A A CHOUDHURY (Bradford, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open Season (Audio CD)
Forget the Darkness, Coldplay and the current army of electro pop-rockers.
This is the good stuff.
Only two listens and I can tell this will be one of those albums I'll always have right next to my CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Season (Audio CD)
Nothing really wrong with this but what I really wanted was the soundtrack to the film/tv programme From the Sea to the Land Beyond but this seems to only be available as a (expensive) DVD, which I don't want as I've already seen it! This album is not up to the same standard or style. Probably fine for BSP fans but only ordinary to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good easy listening, 19 May 2005
By 
Stephen Hulley "santahul" (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Season (Audio CD)
Easy to listen to but it sounds a lot like a mixture of The Thrills and Snow Patrol to me. True Adventure shines out above the rest because it has an extra something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Open Season - Big Disappointment, 30 May 2005
This review is from: Open Season (Audio CD)
Having seen BSP live several times over the last 3 years, having loved their first few singles, and really enjoyed The Decline of British Sea Power, I had high hopes for Open Season...how wrong I was. BSP seem to have settled down into a comfort zone, never reaching the heights of their previous work, and getting nowhere near the raw energy that they display onstage. Avoid this album, and instead try and pick up recordings of live performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 and a half stars, 29 Mar 2006
This review is from: Open Season (Audio CD)
Middle-of-the-road. I can't see what the appeal is, it sounds to me like some half formed ideas cobbled together to pad out an album. The guy's voice is very breathy and weak. Oh, but don't forget how wacky they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NEEDS LISTENING TO- dissapointed, 1 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Open Season (Audio CD)
i bought this album because i've read so much on NME about how good this band are. i didn't egt a chance to listen to the first album and my friend tol dme about the release of 'open season' and said it would be quality.
after looking it up on amazon.co.uk i saw alot of positive reviews which added to the theory this abnd would be amazing.
i was pleasently surpriseed. it is hard to listen to. the first track is good, it ended on an oily stage' but frustratingly i just cant get into this.
the singers voice is soft. i want to get into it so ill keep listening to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open Season
Open Season by British Sea Power (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews