Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars11
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2005
The futureheads have perfected an infectious sound combining the modern raw sounding indie/rock with often 3 part harmonies. The lyrics although a little weak are completely made up for in style, their quirky and short spasms create most of the unique sound you will come to associate with the Futureheads. Of course no band would be complete without the ability to perform and not only have the Futurheads proved themselves consistent they are more ferocious than their studio versions.
Based very much on the same formula the album becomes one of personal fave's rather than highlight tracks, although as a whole the album is definitely positive and I have found uplifting too. A notable quality in the album is the track order which provides a calm flow uncommon in most modern records. Such is the quality of this debut it is going to be testing to provide a superior follow up. For now, however, the Futureheads are simply undeniable and strikingly individual from most of its close contenders. I hope this album is merely a stepping stone to better things and until then this is a regular on my playlist.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2005
The Futureheads could very well a huge name this year, already having performed in a football stadium, being NME's 5th album of 2004 and Gonzo's album of the year. The Futureheads are one of those that only come around once in a lifetime and there will never be another like them.
Mixing Punk with harmonies, The Futureheads is a far cry from a Franz Ferdinand rip off, if you take their cover of Kate Bush's Hounds of Love, they perform with such classic grace, the harmonies make the song so strong and in the closing minute my eyes watered cause it was just fantastic. The other single Decent Days and Nights is definately one of the catchiest songs from the album with catchy lines like 'we can have a few decent days and nights'.
The album is an essential purchase if you enjoyed the singles, as track by track everything is relatively short but each song has a lasting impression particularly songs like Robot, Meantime and Carnival Kids. All the songs have a simple theme to them, taking First Day as an example, is a song about the first day of work.
The DVD is great as well, featuring all the videos, most of them probably never seen, a live concert which is thrilling and bonus footage of an interview and the making of the Hounds of Love video.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2005
UI can't believe that there are people in this world who say that this album sounds like they are not musically talented. They all sing in parts through the album (best examples are Dangerof the Water and Hounds of Love (the remake of a kate bush song i believe)). I bought this album after hearing Decent Days and Nights which is a bloomin amazing song. I have seen some of the reviewers on this site say that no 'rock/punk/metal' fan shud buy this album. If they are only into metal music, or only punk music then i agree because thats not what the Futureheads music is like, its catchy toe-tapping riffs that are well worthy of sitting down and listening to for the 40 or so minutes of the album.
The genre is some sort of Pop Rock music, similar in a way to Franz Ferdinand but with (almost throughout) quicker and catchy-er riffs. If you do choose to buy this album, you won't be disappointed by the quility and quantity. If you have doubts b4 buying, check out Decent Days and Nights as well as Robot. they are brilliant.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2006
Having read the review by 'A music fan' I couldn't stop laughing at his/her damning of the albumn on the basis that it is treandy music for 'trendy' people !!! This is not the case as I personally a) bought the albumn on the day of its release before the hounds of love band wagon, b) know of many others who did the same and c) am not a trendy kid (22 puts me out of the bracket)

Back to the music - if its not your thing then so be it, but slating the albumn because of a type of person who may like the albumn is rubbish. I also would not recomend this band to metal fan as they are clearly not metal !!! But I would recomend them to some one who appreciates something a little different to the staple rock/indie/punk/etc/ etc that is around at the moment

(no age limits applicable , trendy and none-trendy kids included)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
Finding the Futureheads is tantamount to my hazy days of youth, occasionally stumbling upon the likes of New Order, Depeche Mode, Siouxsie & the Banshees, XTC, etc., for the first time, bands that stuck with me forever. Not to compaire the Futureheads to these other musicians -- although they have their punk and new wave roots -- the Futureheads are the most original band I've heard in ages. This CD (album) is absolutely wizard and the bonus DVD is a treasure.
The old sentiment is back. The feeling of finding these guys, with such true talent, and something a notch above creativity is a true marvel. A guy-band with such innate sense of harmony, great music, and deceptively simple poetic lyrics, in this day and age, is unheard of. Thank God we're hearing them now.
As for the first review on this page, I wish to God it could be bumped down a couple notches. It doesn't serve this band justice and everything the reviewer says is 100% false!! I don't even really like rock -- ya know, whatever "the kids" are into today -- but the Futureheads have me by the bootstraps and tugging at my heart strings. They've cheered me up and hanged me high. So much spirit!
Finding The Futureheads was tantamount to my youthful hazy daze of occasionally stumbling upon New Order, Depeche Mode, or Siouxsie for the first time. The old sentiment is back. The feeling of finding these guys, with such true talent, and something a notch above creativity is a true marvel. A guy-band with such innate sense of harmony, great music, and deceptively simple poetic lyrics, in this day and age, is unheard of. Thank God we're hearing them now.
As for the first review on this page, I wish to God it could be bumped down a couple notches. It doesn't serve this band justice and everything the reviewer says is 100% false!! I don't even really like rock -- ya know, whatever "the kids" are into today -- but the Futureheads have me by the bootstraps and tugging at my heart strings. They've cheered me up and hanged me high. So much spirit!
The Futureheads are my heroes! Let the Futureheads into your life and they be your heroes too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 July 2005
In one sentence: early Jam and XTC get together to conceive love child with attention deficit disorder.
You want more? Probably not but I'll continue anyway. There's a clattering adrenalin rush to this album tempered with a knowing post-modern sensibility especially demonstrated by their rousing reworking of Kate Bush's classic "Hounds of Love". (By the way, Kate, where is that much-rumoured new album?).
Given their apparent penchant for energetic late seventies/early eighties artists one wonders if the band's name itself must be intended ironically. In any case it's a pleasure to hear someone not raised in the Pot Noodle school of pop - instantly consumed, instantly forgotten - which seems to be the starting point for so many "promising new acts". At this rate pogo-ing could be the next dance craze. Jump to the Futureheads. Just mind the ceiling.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Satisfeito
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2005
When it comes down to it, there are definitely some songs that'll grab you at once, at a fair few that'll take sometime, but rest assured, you'll be glad you bought this CD, and you won't get board of it in a rush, very original and entertaining DVD footage.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2005
hand on heart, this is on of the worst CDs i have ever heard. After hearing all the hype about these, i bought there album, what a mistake....
i have listened to it a few times tryin to get into it, but it really is a terrible album. The music sounds like they cant even play instruments, and are just a talentless bunch of nobodys trying to be something there not.
if i could give this album a lower rating, i would. No self respecting 'rock/punk/metal etc' fan should even associate themselves with this fake, wannabe album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2005
its not so much the music that annoyed me than the insistence that each song is perforated with a plinkety-plonkety series of barbershop quartet style vocals that create a bizarre experience in your ear of some pretty good guitar music and a beachfront donkey ride at bognor regis. could appeal to some (see above reviews) but must be detested by as many. this is what a band would sound like if they were trying to recreate polyphonic ringtones. only there's 17 full length tracks of it. i give it 2 stars though because atleast its original.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.79

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)