Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly, Utterly Brilliant
Rufus Wainwright is quite clearly a genius.
Having heard intriguing snippets of the tracks 'Agnus Dei' and 'Little Sister' on 'Front Row' on Radio 4 a few weeks ago I finally got my act together and ordered this last weekend. It hasn't been off my CD player since (apart from when I've needed to play 'I am a Bird Now' by Antony & the Johnsons - another absolute...
Published on 11 April 2005 by Geoff - bit of a folkie but aw...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved out of the game but this is a touch more Whiny
Rufus Wainwright has a gorgeous voice and I love a lot of his music- sometimes though he needs a bit of variation as it can "go on a bit" with the whining. Im glad I got this CD but play Out of the Game much more
Published 10 months ago by J London


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly, Utterly Brilliant, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Want Two [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Rufus Wainwright is quite clearly a genius.
Having heard intriguing snippets of the tracks 'Agnus Dei' and 'Little Sister' on 'Front Row' on Radio 4 a few weeks ago I finally got my act together and ordered this last weekend. It hasn't been off my CD player since (apart from when I've needed to play 'I am a Bird Now' by Antony & the Johnsons - another absolute must-buy).
This album demonstrates Rufus Wainwright's unique abilities as a song-writer and performer. Full of truly beautiful songs with arrangements which vary from simple, pared-down, voice and a piano to sweeping, Mozartian strings. Some up-beat, some low-key. Wainwright's voice is unusual - perhaps best described as languorous - but I absolutely love it and could listen to him sing for hours on end.
The DVD in this special edition is worth the money alone too. Mr W performing live at the Fillimore in San Fransisco. He's enchanting on stage and enchanting off it - there are some short clips interspersed through the DVD of him talking in the street (including a fabulously bizarre interlude where he happens across a bride sitting on the steps of a registry office talking on her mobile 'phone. He asks her if she's just got married and she tells him that she didn't because her husband-to-be turned up dressed as a giant rabbit. We then see said rabbit/husband...) Don't even consider buying the non-DVD version of 'Want Two' - the extra two or three quid is worth itself several times over.
All of this is perhaps why I bought 'Want One' on Saturday (from a shop - couldn't wait 24 hours for it to arrive from here - sorry Amazon), bought tickets to see him perform next month and am about to order his first and second albums here.
Everybody who cares about real music should own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the extra DVD disc is the proverbial icing!, 4 July 2005
By 
Chappers "chappers" (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Want Two [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Not only an amazing CD album, but also a fabulously put-together DVD of his entire concert at the Fillmore (March 2004, I think) interspersed with cute little clips of Rufus wandering around SF commenting on the native wildlife.
Those fans who've been lucky enough to see Rufus Wainwright perform in concert - plus all those who caught his act at the Glastonbury & 02 Wireless festivals in June '05 -- already know how extraordinary he is as a live performer. Although that talent comes across on his CDs, the DVD shows just what a breathtaking performer he is. Extraordinary, in these days of manipulated studio sound, that the guy is completely for real and that incredible voice is just as pure and powerful when he's performing live. For my money, just watching Rufus perform 'Oh What a World' -- "Showbiz!" -- and 'The Art Teacher' is reason enough to justify the extra splash to get this special edition of Want Two. Wonderful, wonderful artist and this is a wonderful CD+DVD to celebrate his genius.
While I'm here... remember to buy his 'All I Want' dvd before it goes completely out of stock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wainright Is So Right, 18 Mar 2005
By 
JJ Denny - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Want Two [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
If you've not heard anything about or by Rufus Wainright, then you certainly haven't been on Planet Earth for the last few years.
Wainright writes and sings from the heart in a very disarming manner.
He also has a fantatsic sense of humour, mocking both himself and the world around him.
A combination of brutal honesty and fantastic lyrics and melodies makes Rufus Wainright impossible to ignore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Loved out of the game but this is a touch more Whiny, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Want Two [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Rufus Wainwright has a gorgeous voice and I love a lot of his music- sometimes though he needs a bit of variation as it can "go on a bit" with the whining. Im glad I got this CD but play Out of the Game much more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Want Two [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
WANT ONE is the finest LP of the 21st Century such are the musical and lyrical depths and colours, but this companion piece, WANT TWO would be a very close second. An emotional tidal wave of musical ideas - each song stands alone as a mighty or delicate precious gem, together as an album it is quite overwhelming. 400 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rufus Wainwright Want two, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Want Two [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Not as good as I had expected.Havent watched DVD yet tho'. disappointing.Shame hope he will be good at Glastonbury this year !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Want Two [CD + DVD]
Want Two [CD + DVD] by Rufus Wainwright (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews