Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Binoculars!
We've been waiting several months before submitting this review so we could give these Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars a good try out. And they are excellent. We've had several pairs of binoculars between us over the years, but these are outstanding - definitely the best. 8.5x suits us very well for general outdoor use, giving adequate power without the...
Published on 7 Dec 2009 by Revd P. Taylor

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD OPTICALLY BUT NOT ROBUST, OR ELSE I'M UNLUCKY
Had I been writing this review a year and a half or so ago, after first purchasing the Pentax Papilio 8.5 x 21 model in spring 2008, I would have concurred with all the excellent reviews these binoculars have had. However the 1st pair developed a looseness in the central focusing so that one had to twist the eyepieces about to get the 2 lenses aligned properly - sometimes...
Published 16 months ago by BUTTERFLY2


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars binoculars, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
These are great for both birds and butterflies. The field is slightly smaller than with the 6.5 ones but my son is pleased to be able to get in closer than I can with mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
These binoculars are a must for anyone with an interest in studying insects in the field. It's almost like having a low power microscope with you when out and about. For the price, they are reasonable compact bird watching binoculars also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good build quality., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
Very neat and compact design offering quality optics that fit very nicely in your average coat pocket or glove compartment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for near and far viewing, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
Really first class product. Easy to hold and focus, and a good feel in the hand - with the great advantage of near-view focussing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great compact bins, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
Bought these as a low weight and compact pair of binoculars for lugging around with my photo gear. Close focussing design is great for looking closely at insects and they still perform well when looking at birds in the distance. Light gathering is good and hence can be used in low light conditions. Very pleased with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now a must carry., 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
Essentially bought for the close focus in identifying damselflies and the smaller flowers. The first experience was like looking down a microscope for the first time. Wonderful! The size and very light weight is perfect for the pocket although the design of the case is really a bit too small for ease of use. It doesn't replace the need for more powerful binoculars if observing birds or mammals. As with macrophotography a very steady hand is required to maintain focus. An excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good buy, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
Extremely useful for close views of insects, plants, etc, good for naturalists and those who want added interest on country walks. You can even use them for distance viewing as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Butterfly and Dragonfly identification tool, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
A great additional pair of binoculars for close viewing. Not good for finding bugs (or larger creatures from afar) because the capture is narrow, but they do the job they are designed for brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
My wife and I have started to enjoy bird watching - particularly in our garden and have added feeders etc. After looking for ages to buy some binoculars - we settled on these and they are truly excellent. The quality of the image you seen is superior. We are now using them to look at insects and all sorts of tiny wildlife we didn't know existed. Thankyou very much Pentax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exceeded my expectations, 28 May 2013
By 
G. Thomas (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars (Electronics)
Small, light, easily set up and focused, can be used with spectacles, focus down to very short range: 1-2 metres. Clear, bright image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pentax 8.5x21 Close Focus Papilio Binoculars
£111.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews