Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Series
With top dog Yvonne Atkins killed off by nasty screw Fenner who is going to fill her boots? The vacancy is not long advertised when Natalie Buxton appears on the wing, telling her new neighbours shes in for fiddling the school accounts she is soon found out when a newspaper clipping is discovered revealing the real reason she is behind bars. Things are also not looking to...
Published on 19 Mar 2005 by jamesheffernan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
It's not that the series was bad but it could've been better... it was full of plot holes... Like obviously they'd have finger-printed the keys they found where Yvonne was trapped and seen she'd never touched them. And obviously Jim wouldn't have been allowed back on a prison wing with women after his breakdown... He'd have been condemned...
Published on 21 Jan 2006 by Derek


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Series, 19 Mar 2005
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
With top dog Yvonne Atkins killed off by nasty screw Fenner who is going to fill her boots? The vacancy is not long advertised when Natalie Buxton appears on the wing, telling her new neighbours shes in for fiddling the school accounts she is soon found out when a newspaper clipping is discovered revealing the real reason she is behind bars. Things are also not looking to good for Tanya Turner the Footballers wife star has been convicted of possesion of drugs and has endded up in larkall she tries befriend new inmate Darleen Cake as some vital information she has will be able to get Tanya out from behind the bars! Meanwhile love is in the air for Julie J when she believes Nice screw Colim Hedges takes a shine to her but he has his eye on someone the other side of the bars. Meanwhile is the end near for Fenner as Karen Bets returns with fresh evidence against him!! A rollercoaster ride always leaving you on the edge of your seats!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reaching new heights of drama, 17 Aug 2006
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Bad girls has been fantastic viewing from the start, its no holds approach to life in prison is inspiring, and although we have lost almost all of our favourite characters, this series is no different. The fun kicks off with the discovery of Yvonne Atkins body, weeks after she was locked away beneath the prison. Investigations start into how she died, but viewers know that Jim Fenner wont be caught out. New girl on the block Natalie Buxton arrives, but is she as sweet and innocent as she seems? Officer Geeson's relationship with Kris Yates continues in an interesting storyline where she tries to convince her lover to appeal for release as they cant properly be together. Unfortunately this is all too familiar from the days of Helen and Nikki, when the same problem occured. But if, like me, you can overlook this then its yet another high-charged drama to enjoy within the walls o Larkhall. Tanya Turner, a character from "Footballer's Wives" (Bad Girl's sister show) shows up under drug charges, and gets pulled into a dangerous rivalry including new wing governor Frances Myres and jamaican inmate Darlene Cake. All this may sound a little too depressing for those that were fans of the lighter side of Bad Girls, but i'm pleased to say that the two Julies are on top form, and bodybag (Helen Fraser should be given an award for this role) is at her usual hilarious best. Although bad girls has changed somewhat, this is another great series with piles of trashy, ludicrous drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 21 Jan 2006
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
It's not that the series was bad but it could've been better... it was full of plot holes... Like obviously they'd have finger-printed the keys they found where Yvonne was trapped and seen she'd never touched them. And obviously Jim wouldn't have been allowed back on a prison wing with women after his breakdown... He'd have been condemned after attacking a prisoner for whatever reason... especially being mentally unstable and prone to beating up women. Kris and Selena were so boring and such a rehash of the Helen Stewart/Nicki Wade story I just fast-warded when they came on and their exit was just falling through another plot-hole... who cares that we never find out whether Kris gets out or not though?
Some things are good... like Natalie Buxton and the Costa Cons made me laugh a lot. I didn't like Frances Myers, I didn't think she washed as a prison governer, she was too Hoighty Toighty and snot nosed for the role. Tanya Turner was a great idea but it'd been better if she was in for the whole series and got out at the end instead of just 3 measly episodes which was pointless since it just stood in the middle like a different series, not moving anything along.
The first 3 series' of Bad Girls were so brilliant and good serious drama whilst being funny and tender. Whereas now it's just a bit of a farce and a parody of itself. Get Shell back in it or something and maybe it'll get back to being as good as it was! We don't need no compulsively trashy Prisoner Cell Block H type rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why u shud buy Bad Girls 6, 25 Mar 2005
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 6 differed from the other series but was no less pleasing. A host of new characters glued us to our seats and classic lines came out to be remebered forever! Tanya Turner's visit was great and Fenner's comeuppance made me positively euphoric! Frances Myers was fabulous but it was still brilliant to have Karen Betts return! So funny, compulsive viewing . . . buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Girls just keeps gettin' better and better, 12 Jun 2005
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 5 for me was amazing. The departure of Wing 'guv' Karen Betts and the demise of Yvonne Atkins was great TV and i couldn't wait for series 6. When it finally came i couldn't believe the brilliantness. The way Yvonne was discovered, classic. They way Fenner goes crazy, amazing. Tanya Turner (Footballers' Wives) arriving on G-Wing, classy. Di and Jim's wedding day 'mis-hap', a brillinat end to a brilliant series. This series is definetly BAD GIRLS' best. Series 7 has already started on ITV1 already and let me tell you, BAD GIRLS has never looked better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, some characters difficult to understand, 20 April 2014
By 
Anne Roche (Leixlip, County Kildare Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
As always, loved the stories and plot development. But this was the first time I encountered a character whose speech I could not understand because she talks so quickly or else mumbles incoherently. Otherwise, a total blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I have had this product for a while, and sat down to watch it today. Disc 2 wont play at all, the first few tries the image was corrupt, and now I just get a black screen. The other 2 discs worth perfectly fine so I know it is not my DVD player.
Was told this product was in good condition, upon inspection of the second disc, there are scratches and what seems to be water damage. Full disclosure was not given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Mark Aldridge "MarkAldridge" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big fan of Bad Girls and already have series 8 and thought I might aswell get series 6 too. This was well worth buying for the price and its one I will watch every now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ace product, 23 Aug 2009
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted the full bad girl series and found most on amazon ace product .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needed Better, 23 Jan 2006
This review is from: Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
It's not that this was awful but it could have been so much better. It's full of plot holes, e.g. they wouldn't have just assumed the keys were Yvonne's... they would have finger-printed them and seen she'd never touched them. Also Jim Fenner would never have been allowed back on the wing if he was deamed mentally unstable and had violently attacked a prisoner, for whatever reason.
I love the Costa Cons and Natalie Buxton is very dynamic and exciting to watch. I hate Frances Myers... Wholly unbelieveable and doesn't wash as a Governer, she's too bland, hoity-toity and Middle England.
Worst of all is Selena Geeson and Kris Yates. They were so boring and insipid and such a re-hash of the Helen Stewart/Nicki Wade story that I just fast-forwarded whenever they came on. And who cares that we never find out what happened to them and if your woman Kris ever got out of jail... Another plot hole.
Tanya Turner was a great idea. I just wish she'd been in it for the entire Series, getting out at the end and in time for the next Series of Footballers' Wives; instead of a pointless, measly 3 episodes. I think they could have developed and done much more with the idea and character as her true colours don't come to light as they do in Footballers' Wives. Also if you watch Footballers' Wives the two shows haven't really linked what happened... it's not really even mentioned that she was in Larkhall and her back story isn't used in Bad Girls at all.
The original Bad Girls was brilliant drama, whilst being funny and tender at the same time. Now it's a bit of an over-the-top farce which has become a parody of itself... We don't need no 'Prisoner Cell-Block H' compulsively crappy show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD]
Bad Girls: The Complete Series 6 [DVD] by Jack Ellis (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: 10.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews