Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect glass for whisky drinkers
At last - the perfect glass for beholding, nosing and tasting your whisky.

If you've been using tumblers or nosing glasses (copitas) for years, you'll know the limitations of these two types of glass for whisky. Now comes the Glencairn Whisky Glass (it won the Queen's Award for Innovation in 2006) and it gives you a perfect tapering at the top for nosing, and...
Published on 2 Feb 2008 by A Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for nosing.
The glass is good for nosing and getting the smells of a new whisky, but awkward to drink out of if you just fancy a good old straightforward whisky.
Published 1 month ago by Mr. B. P. Pearce-smith


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect glass for whisky drinkers, 2 Feb 2008
By 
A Reader (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
At last - the perfect glass for beholding, nosing and tasting your whisky.

If you've been using tumblers or nosing glasses (copitas) for years, you'll know the limitations of these two types of glass for whisky. Now comes the Glencairn Whisky Glass (it won the Queen's Award for Innovation in 2006) and it gives you a perfect tapering at the top for nosing, and a nice, big bowl below that enhances tasting. This is combined with good, solid bulk at the very bottom to give you that sturdiness I've always enjoyed with a tumbler, but which is lacking in thin-stemmed nosing copitas.

Ordering these glasses through Amazon means that they will be sent straight from the manufacturer, unadorned with a whisky seller's logo on the side, which for me is a plus.

Put aside your old glasses and get a quantity of these babies! You'll never go back. What with the rising quality of single and vatted malts these days, the availability of excellent guides in book form, and now the availability of this glass... it's never been a better time to be a whisky drinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best whisky glass on the market, 27 Feb 2010
By 
S.G. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
This excellent whisky glass is a must-have for all whisky lovers. Just buy or try one of these, and you'll love them. The glass came in a nice small box, with tips how to properly drink and enjoy whisky, so it is an excellent gift for your friends as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glencairn Whiskey Glass., 4 Jun 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
Arrived safely in box for each glass and as described very good glass for the purpose of enjoying a dram!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glencairn Whisky Glass Review!, 3 Mar 2013
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
The Glencairn glass is essential if you want to truly appreciate Whisky to it's fullest potential. It give you the ability to nose the Whisky and extract all the wonderful aromas that may be lurking within. It also allows you to pour a proper measure of whisky (around the widest part of the glass and no more). Don't forget it's about quality and not quantity! If you pour anymore Whisky than that it reduces the ability to swirl the whisky properly.

Now as for the glass, it is very well made from lead free crystal cut glass with the majority of the weight at the bottom which doubles as the base (and place where you should hold the glass), this in turn reduces the chances of it tipping over! Also note that "the Glencairn glass" is written on the base of the glass which you can see when you are drinking...now this adds nothing but a touch of class. As for the shape of the glass which is in my view perfect as it captures and channels the aromas up your nose (one piece of advice...don't over nose a whisky and do it gently). The glass also feels more substantial than what i was expecting it to be. As for where i got this from, i got 6 of these from a rep who works for the Glencairn glass company and paid 4.30 each and that included delivery, at least that way i could be sure they arrived properly packaged which they were!

PROS: Well made, weight is towards the bottom, officially recognized as the best glass to nose a whisky with, you won't over pour whisky again, you can tell it's a quality product!

CONS: Don't wash in the dishwasher as this softened the glass and makes them more susceptible to break, don't pay over the odds!

VERDICT: If you enjoy Whisky and want to enjoy it to it's fullest potential then this type of glass is essential to own, trust me when i say it will transform your whisky tasting sessions and tumblers will become a thing of the past (unless you want it over ice naturally)

RECOMMENDED to ALL Whisky drinkers as an essential item to own!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scoth Glass Perfection, 10 Aug 2010
By 
D. Burton "newbe" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
Very happy with the glass, I bought two for my best men and treated myself to one as well. Very impressed and does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect whisky glass!, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. M. A. N. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
It's described as the best whisky glass going and once you use it you'll see why! It accentuates the whisky in just the right way to expose it to the nose and the pallet. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice glass, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
This is a very nice glass. Smaller and lighter than expected but nice to hold, well packaged and arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Glass For Whiskey, Finally!, 28 Dec 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
My son requested these glasses for Christmas. And, while looking at the site, I discovered these are the very best. The Stolzle Glencairn glasses are a special class of crystal vessels most often used for spirit tastings. The unique tapering brings the aromas to the nose while the larger bowl allows the spirit to rest and rise. This glencairn design will give you the most rich experience in tasting both the aroma and flavor of the spirit. Its distinct design enhances all of the qualities of whiskey, including the color, bouquet, and flavors.

They are made of 100% lead free crystal. Stolzle glassware provides higher clarity and brilliance than glassware that contains lead. The smooth touch and chime of Stolzle crystal glassware lets you know you are receiving the very best. This whiskey glass undergoes a fire-tempering process that increases hardness and durability, resulting in less glass breakage.

Per the Stolzle site: "In the long and illustrious history of whisky, there has never been a single definitive glass that the whisky world could call its own. Now following in the tradition of Scottish innovation, the Glencairn Glass has arrived. Combining the knowledge and expertise of some of the Whisky world's leading innovators, the Glencairn's roots lie in the traditional nosing glasses used by master blenders around the world. The Glencairn Company in Scotland and Stolzle have partnered to create a glass for the whisky industry by the whisky industry. A glass for whisky...finally!"

Highly Recommended. prisrob 12-28-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
Whiskey tastes better from these glasses - I have tried them out on friends and family and they all agree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whisky taste enhanced, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this as a gift and was told it really made a difference to the "whisky experience". Well recieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glencairn Crystal BMG1 The Glencairn Whiskey Glass
7.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews