Customer Reviews


385 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (44)
1 star:
 (87)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'CAN ANYTHING OR ANYONE STOP THE INVADERS ?'
The film has since it's release attracted mixed reviews many 'slate it' some love it,....myself, I
love special-effect spectacles and watch films to be entertained, this 'Steven Spielberg' offering
does just that, a story of blind panic and intense fear......what if ?
'Ray Ferrier' (Tom Cruise) a dock worker lives on his own these days, every so often he...
Published 8 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars See the Stephen Spielberg standard signature clouds
"No one would have believed, in the last years of the 19th century, that this world was being watched keenly and closely by an intelligence greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own..." H. G. Wells

The actual HG Wells story is more closely aligned with Nevil Shute's book "On the Beach." A man realizing this is possibly the end of the world observes how...
Published on 23 May 2010 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'CAN ANYTHING OR ANYONE STOP THE INVADERS ?', 10 Aug. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The film has since it's release attracted mixed reviews many 'slate it' some love it,....myself, I
love special-effect spectacles and watch films to be entertained, this 'Steven Spielberg' offering
does just that, a story of blind panic and intense fear......what if ?
'Ray Ferrier' (Tom Cruise) a dock worker lives on his own these days, every so often he has his
two children over to stay, 'Robbie' (Justin Chatwin) who doesn't really want to be there, and 10
year-old 'Rachel' (Dakota Fanning)
A strange phenomenon occurs in the sky's that is totally unexplainable, lightning strikes (lightning
never strikes in the same place 'Ray' tells his Daughter....til' now that is) power fails, holes are
appearing in the ground, a loud rumble causes earthquake like conditions.
Panic quickly sets in, people are running around like headless chickens but have no escape from
what is happening, buildings and fly-overs are collapsing, all of a sudden, giant machines surface,
the 'World' is under attack.
'Ray's' priority has to be his 'Kids' as the machines begin to exterminate all human life seemingly
and destroy structures.
There's only one thing to do - 'run' - 'Ray' sets off with his children in an attempt to find a safe haven,
however they will soon discover a place of safety doesn't exist as the 'invaders' broaden their assault.
The temporary safety they thought for a short while they had found is quickly no longer so, a plane
has been brought down in their location leaving devastation in it's wake.
Widespread demolition is happening at the 'will' of the machines, where had they come from, is it really
possible they had been planted below ground century's ago awaiting the return of their creatures.
'Ray' and his children have to fight their way through the fleeing hoards as they seek a safe haven, but
the situation is becoming increasingly more desperate for them.
Young 'Rachel' is terrified by the sights that are confronting her -.'Robbie' is desperate to join the military's
fight back.
Things are beginning to turn far more sinister as it becomes clear what the 'Aliens' need those they capture
for.
The three are separated as 'Ray' now with just 'Rachel' in tow continue to battle for survival...
What on Earth will stop the 'Aliens' and their Machines from enforcing their intent upon the planet ?
Will 'Ray' and Daughter 'Rachel' ever re-unite with 'Robbie' or has he become a casualty of War ?
The film brings futuristic writer 'H,G.Wells' late 19th century story to life.
I believe with the special-effects harboured in this version would have received the writers approval.
I like to re-visit films such as this now and again because of the visual impact they bring to the screen.
SPECIAL FEATURES -
* Revisiting the invasion.
* Steven Spielberg and the original 'War of the Worlds'
* Characters - The family unit.
* The 'H.G.Wells' Legacy.
* Previsualisation.
* Designing the Enemy. 'Tripods' and 'Aliens'
* Production Diaries.
* Scoring - War of the Worlds.
* We are not Alone.
* Galleries.
* Theatrical Teaser Trailers,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good modern taken on a well known story, 3 July 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: War Of The Worlds (2 Disc Special Edition) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Initially I was quite cautious about this film, whilst I respect Tom Cruise I'm not a huge fan in general. I was also worried that the CGI SFX would take precedence over the story, and it might not work set in a modern day environment (the novel was published around 1898) Don't expect a line for line faithful reproduction of the book (neither was the 1953 film), but it does follow the general story effectively.

Fortunately the film is good, and the performances of the cast are solid on every level. Cruise does a decent job as Ray Ferrier the divorced Dad who take his two children for the weekend when the invasion begins. We get just about the ideal narrator in the form of Morgan Freeman. Supporting cast has Dakota Fanning playing daughter Rachel Ferrier, it's nice to see Tim Robbins as Harlan Ogilvy the insane man whom the Ferriers end up hiding out with. No complaints with any of the cast strong all round.

Steven Spielberg provides strong direction, no doubt his experience pays off, and this time he's resisted the urge to tone things down too much. It's not super violent by any means, but the invasion itself and subsequent destruction of people and buildings can't be avoided due to the story.

SFX are excellent with some good camera work and the tripods are convincing in their appearance. Some of the lasers turning people into dust is very well done and the film is visually strong. One of the reasons it works for me is the screenplay and script holds up well, it would be easy to slip into ho hum acting and dialogue, trying to distract the audience with gloss and shine but lacking depth. Thankfully that's been avoided here the CGI adds to the film rather than propping it up. John Williams provides the soundtrack another pair of safe experienced hands.

H.G. Wells has provided the backbone story which is clever and satisfying in the conclusion. The invasion by the aliens is overpowering and devastating, just like the novel. The humans are seemingly at the mercy of the invaders their technology unable to even slow down the attacks, but they have overlooked something very simple which ultimately will wield the most powerful blow.

I'm a huge fan of the book, it's a well deserved Science Fiction masterpiece by a forward thinking author. Both films do take some liberties with the conversion to screen, however I think both are also deserving of a viewing. I enjoyed the film (as I do the older film) in their own right.

A solid view for sci-fi fans, and a good family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars war of the worlds, 22 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sound quality on blue-ray is amazing, not a great picture quality but this is how it was filmed / intended, overall a great movie, def get the blue-ray version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 6 July 2013
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: War Of The Worlds (2 Disc Special Edition) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Unusual to see Tom Cruise playing an "ordinary" guy,compleate with generation-gap issues with his children.He excelled in the role,bringing a vulnerability to his performance not often seen as he is mostly cast as the tough-guy action hero.
The film has all the superb special effects and cgi"s you would expect from a Spielberg production: he uses the tools that are available to a film-maker to optimium effect.
An enthralling version of H.G.Wells classic sci-fi novel.
P.S. It was clever of Speilberg to include in a walk-on part two of the original stars from the 50"s versionWar Of The Worlds - Dvd [1953].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The winds blowing toward the storm...., 17 Nov. 2013
Ray Ferrier is a divorced dockworker and less-than-perfect father. When his ex-wife and her new husband drop off his son Robbie and young daughter Rachel for a rare weekend visit, a strange and powerful lightning storm suddenly touches down.

What follows is the battle for the future of humankind through the eyes of one American family fighting to survive it in......

Easily the best summer film of 2005, its one of Cruises last memorable blockbusters, and its a blast from start to finish. What really sets the mood for the film is Freemans phenomenal narration at the beginning of the movie, it makes the hair on the back of your neck stand when he says 'slowly, but surely'.

Spielberg again puts the emphasis on the nuclear family, and the attack is the turning point or Ray and his children. Its clear from the beginning that Ray is estranged form his children, and that he may be the most immature of the three, but he soon becomes the mature one, making sure they are staying together and avoiding any terror or aftermath as they progress.

The visuals are spectacular, from the initial attack, to the amazing Tripod scene after the boat attack. The Tim Robbins scene is bizarre and takes you away from the film, but Spielberg amps it up with the probe investigating.

Its a great movie by Spielberg, very dark compared to his usual summer fare, but despite some flaws, and blatant references to 9/11, it still holds up well eight years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ulla!, 17 July 2012
By 
Mrs. P. BROOKSBANK (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War Of The Worlds (2 Disc Special Edition) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
The War of the Worlds is probably my favourite book, I first read it when I was at school in the 1960's and could not put it down. I have always liked the turn of the century setting in Victorian England and remember getting an old map and looking at the places where the action was supposed to take place. I latter came to appreciate the various plot devices. I like this story so much that I was even willing to forgive the change of location for the 1950"s movie and although the Martians didn't walk they where still other worldly. The Tom Cruise film is not all bad and I have read that Steven Spielberg read this book at college and he wanted to do it justice. With the terrorist attack on the twin towers he didn't want to show scenes of the martians destroying america. This is fully understandable, but we don't see half as much of the martians as we should and this for me and many others is a major drawback with the film. Distance, supposed news reel shots are no substitute to seeing the colossal fighting machine striding across the land. Also they should have come to earth as in the book, its a film its not real, so why worry about people saying we would have known if there really was martians living on Mars. There is much to like about this film though, the suspense builds and the noises that the machines make add to this. Watch this film for what it is' a reasonably good modern rendition of the H G Wells classic. I have just bought a facsimile of the original book with illustrations published in 1906, superb. It encapsulate the strange otherworldliness of the Martians that is hard to recreate in a world that has seen many science fiction films. I suppose until someone makes a good quality film thats close to the original than that will have to do. The Lord of the rings was almost true to the book, why not the War of the Worlds?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars See the Stephen Spielberg standard signature clouds, 23 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
"No one would have believed, in the last years of the 19th century, that this world was being watched keenly and closely by an intelligence greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own..." H. G. Wells

The actual HG Wells story is more closely aligned with Nevil Shute's book "On the Beach." A man realizing this is possibly the end of the world observes how other people handle the possibility that this is the end of the world. There is no family conflict with nerdy kids.

The 1953 version of this film also included a love interest that was not in the original story. This later version contains several attempts for us to negotiate with the aliens and or understand from the aliens' point of view what was going on.

This latest rendition is more a family feud meets the aliens. It was not all bad; there were attempts to keep some of the original story and included some of the designs from the 1954 film. We are also treated to a bloodsucking scene reminiscent of the original story. Of course Stephen Spielberg didn't want to copy the book or the original movie so the aliens pop up instead of fly down, six of one half dozen of another.

The graphics were fairly decent and did not look like the cheat CGI that you usually see on quick movies. The background music stayed in the background where it belongs.

This is not the easiest presentation to rank as for people that like bloodsucking fast action nerdy kids stories this could be a five star out of five stars; however for anybody seeking any kind of depth or relationship to the original story or relationship to the original movie this is more of a two star Phil. Therefore, you will understand when I give it three stars for watch ability and standing on its own merit.

The War of the Worlds (Penguin Classics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK - But Another Modern Day Setting....., 27 May 2008
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: War Of The Worlds (2 Disc Special Edition) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't one of Spielberg's classics & is an opportunity missed to present the 1898 novel as it was originally written by Wells. The 1953 movie had financial/technological constraints that necessitated it's(then) modern day, American setting but come on, Spielberg hardly needed to raid the piggy bank!!! So why set it in 2005 America?? Look no further than 9/11 for this as it is VERY edgy & pessimistic. A noble cause admittedly.
Basically the only things retained are the gigantic Tripods which I have to admit are probably the most photo realistic CG creations yet seen & also the story's biological salvation. Otherwise it's a Tom Cruise movie. Seriously, Cruise over dominates the movie, his features in 99.9% of every frame!! All this when you really want to see the annihilation of our cosy little world!
This is half the problem, Spielberg goes for a less is more approach, obviously keen to avoid comparisons with 1996 popcorn sci fi, Independence Day. It has to be stressed that the two films are completeley different with ID having far more OTT alien action & WOTW at least, offering us better acting & production values, especially cinematography & visual FX.
The aliens themselves ( It's NEVER explicitly stated that they are from Mars) are well executed in their brief onscreen appearance but are not faithful to the gelatinous cephalopods of Wells's vision. A little bit similiar to ID actually - although much better realised. And vicious, cunning creatures they are too with an appetite for human blood!
I will say that the first wave of the alien attack is absoluteley incredible in its spectacle & ruthlessness as buildings, cars & people are vaporised by the deadly, alien death rays. Prior to this, the tension is built up unbearably as it's revealed that it's not going to be just another day...
Vintage Spielberg! Somehow, the following setpieces while still decent, fail to recapture this intensity. But the tripods with their lethal weapons, probing tentacles and the chilling noise that they make are damned, damned cool! And genuineley scary...
I think what dissapoints most is that this an ok/good movie with some serious talent onboard, with AMAZING CGI (that never even looks CG) that could have been a real, out & out classic. It's very unlikely that any major studio will ever greenlight another big budget movie that does justice to the source in setting it in early 20th Century England :-(
We have to look to Jeff Wayne's upcoming fully CGI feature to realise this. Until then check out the 1978 album, the Live musical DVD of the same album or the really entertaining 1953 War Of the Worlds movie (Loads of US Army v Martian Warship action & great FX for the '50s).
Oh yes, I forgot, Morgan Freeman narrates the movie's opening/closing scenes. I like Freeman a lot and he's ok here, but not a patch on Richard Burton's definitive 1978 narrative!
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL REMAKE, 19 Mar. 2015
By 
Awful remake, I mean how can they get this so wrong? the original was Brilliant, and when I heard Stephen Speilberg was going to direct I thought this would be great, but what a huge let-down if not one of the biggest I have ever witness, I was enjoying the film right up to the point when tom and his annoying family(I wanted to punch Dakota Fanning) get into the only car that could drive, then it went down hill big time.

I did give two stars for the surround sound I mean when the storm and the alien ship came out of the ground is sounded amazing, but the Blu-ray wasn't the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blu ray IS better than the DVD and here's why :, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok so some people did not understand the way this film was shot. It was SUPPOSED to be grainy and gritty. The film I will not review apart from to say I think its superb and a very different take on the story with the focus on the personal human desperation and emotions with the acting being top notch. The blu ray version offers one thing above the DVD in spades ( as they usually do ) and that is colour saturation and depth. The DVD has washed out colours and a rather 2D feel, the HD version gives a greater depth of field in many shots and hence is well worth the purchase. The HD audio is also obviously much better than the DVD audio if you have a half decent home cinema amp. I really do not understand those who rate down a movie because its not like something else ( ie the previous version of the movie or the book ) , this stands on its own and Tom Cruise ( who has been ordinary in many movies of late ) is brilliant. RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Of The Worlds (2 Disc Special Edition) [2005] [DVD]
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews