Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
This story of a Dutch watchmaker's family hiding Jews and others from the Nazi occupiers of their country is a most inspiring portrayal of practical faith. It led the family to concentration camp and death. The hope and faith the sisters showed when suffering in prisom camp is a fine testimony to God keeping those who trust Him, both in death and in life. Watch it and be...
Published on 29 Sept. 2007 by G. J. Weeks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I loved the book
I loved the book, but the film wasn't as good (to be expected though). Quite a few of the characters are changed and I felt they missed out some crucial parts of the book, however it still had the general story there and was a great chance to see where they took the characters that were in my imagination when I read the book.
Published 5 months ago by Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 29 Sept. 2007
By 
G. J. Weeks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This story of a Dutch watchmaker's family hiding Jews and others from the Nazi occupiers of their country is a most inspiring portrayal of practical faith. It led the family to concentration camp and death. The hope and faith the sisters showed when suffering in prisom camp is a fine testimony to God keeping those who trust Him, both in death and in life. Watch it and be encouraged. One slight criticism. It did not seem clear on what happened to those in the hiding place when the Germans imprisoned the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Jan. 2012
By 
M. Lewis (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiding Place [DVD] [2005] [Region 2] (DVD)
Very moving true story of events involving Corrie Ten Boom & her sister whilst imprisoned in the Ravensbrook death camp during the war . Based in Holland where Corrie & her family hid Jews from the Nazi's until they were caught & arrested. Corrie tells of the trauma's experienced in the camp & of how her faith in God, though tested to the uttermost, kept her going, just. Well recommended. Quite heart rendering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hiding place, Corrie Ten Boom, 13 Dec. 2007
By 
Martin Hodges (UK Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was first shown 30 minutes of this movie back in the 90's in a religious education class in school. It truly is inspirational. To think what the family and many other people involved risked to save the lives of others i feel this story really must been heard.

Years later while in the Netherlands I visited the house in Haarlem which is now a museum open to the public, although the Ten Boom watch shop is still open and selling watches and clocks, which is a experience i shall never forget and i highly recommend a visit if you ever get the chance.

Whether you interest is in World war two, the Holocaust or the Netherlands this move will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hiding Place, 13 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiding Place [DVD] [2005] [Region 2] (DVD)
This is an excellent adaption of the book and is a faithful adaption also. I thoroughly enjoyed watching this depiction of the book and can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The holocaust they try to deny, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiding Place [DVD] [2005] [Region 2] (DVD)
Very powerful drama of real life situations and people and an alarming reminder that anti semitism is alive and on the increase. This is an excellent product and great service and delivery +++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiding Place [DVD] [2005] [Region 2] (DVD)
I first watched this film in about 1981, I even remember where I saw it and what I was wearing! The book is even better mind! It is a must see, God's love just comes soaring out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than I expected!, 13 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiding Place [DVD] [2005] [Region 2] (DVD)
The 1975 movie is better than I expected. True spirituality. Gripping story. Not many dry eyes after watching it. A great testimony to anyone who wants to see how 'real life' believers responded to the worst of calamities. The second disc in the set was a true treasure find - Excellent material from Corrie ten Boom herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A strong emotional movie about life in the resistance against the Germans during World War 2., 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiding Place [DVD] [2005] [Region 2] (DVD)
This movie is about a very strong emotional situation amongst the civilians in Haarlem in the Netherlands. They are taking part with the resistance against the Germans during World War 2 by hiding jews in their own home. Then they are arrested and sent to the concentration camp in Germany.
However in this difficult situation they remain to be themselves with love, courage and home amongst themselves.
This movie has been seen on Dutch television on 12th February 1976 when I was 18 years old. It was very exciting, emotional and very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiding Place [DVD] [2005] [Region 2] (DVD)
A great old classic - one of those true stories that needs to be told to every generation. Bravery, grace, goodness in the face of extreme evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product, 29 May 2009
great product...the only drawback is that it can't be viewed on certain videos in the UK as it is a US product...and is NTSC otherwise it is fantastic. great print, great sound, strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hiding Place [DVD] [2005] [Region 2]
Hiding Place [DVD] [2005] [Region 2] by Artist Not Provided (DVD - 2008)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews