Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restless Natives
If you like gentle comedies with a cracking soundtrack then you'll love this. As a previous reviewer stated, the soundtrack (by Big Country)deserved an Oscar nomination. Two naughty young scottish lads cause mayhem amongst the Scottish Highlands by robbing bus loads of American tourists disguised as a clown and wolfman. On their trail an inept police force aided and...
Published on 27 May 2005

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Willing it to be better
I was growing up in Edinburgh at about the same time as the main characters and was about the same age as them but somehow I missed seeing this film when it came out. I also read the positive reviews here. So I really wanted to like this. For me the acting, production and story telling all seemed a bit amateur and the whole thing could have done with more editing. The...
Published on 25 Aug 2008 by r0ng0r0ng0


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 26 Jan 2008
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This film - too long unavailable - is a true gift to disaffected teens, and frustrated working stiffs the world over. It was with a true sense of relief and joy that I found it on DVD at last. Long may the Clown and the Wolfman ride through the Highlands of our discontent bringing smiles and a sense of hope with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hold up buses!, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Jennifer "Jen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Friends Will (Vincent Friell) and Ronnie (Joe Mullaney) are two young lads living on a housing estate in Edinburgh in 80's Britain. Will, with his wart-infected fingers, is fed up with his job sweeping up rubbish in the park and Ronnie is fed up with his job working in a joke shop, which sees him freqently getting beaten up by angry mothers after selling joke products to their offspring.
Will's father played by Bernard Hill, tells him he is lucky to have a job, however, after getting over his pangs of guilt about embarking on a life of crime with Ronnie, the two friends set off on Ronnie's bike and begin holding up buses full of American tourists in the Scottish Highlands.

Donning clown and wolfman masks from the joke shop and armed with their 'weapon' - a puffer gun, also from the joke shop which shoots out curry powder, athlete's foot powder and sneezing powder - Will and Ronnie end up becoming a hit with the tourists as they hold up their buses and thank them in a very polite manner, for handing over their cash and valuables.
However, the two lads quickly come to realise that they cannot spend the money without raising suspicion and so begin distributing their riches to the locals, whilst in the process becoming a bigger tourist attraction than the Loch Ness monster, as they ride through the streets of Wester Hailes throwing handfuls of money from a bag.
Such is their popularity, tourists are booking tickets for Highland bus tours, asking if this is the bus that will be held up and Japanese film crews chase them through the highlands.
Meanwhile, the police are closing in on catching them, assisted by a CIA agent, played by Ned Beatty, who is also on holiday in Scotland. Is the end near for the clown and the wolfman? As Will and Ronnie realise it has all become too big for them, they decide on one last mission.

Restless Natives is a funny, heart-warming film relevant to the times we lived in back in the mid-80's. Of course it isn't right to tackle the problem of unemployment by turning to highway robbery, but you find yourself backing the two lads in their quest here, warming to them in the same way the bus loads of American tourists do. It is a romantic view of crime, where fantasy and escapism come to the fore.
You will be in awe, as I never fail to be, at the amazing Scottish highland scenery on display here as we follow the two lads around Glencoe on their motorbike. From misty, atmospheric and haunting scenes, to the breathtakingingly beautiful, all set to the rousing soundtrack by my favourite band Big Country, which features throughout the film. Apart from the highland scenery, there is also a great scene as the lads ride around the centre of Edinburgh with the castle in the background for their final fling, as the locals hail their highwayman heroes.
I may be biased because of my love for Scottish band Big Country, but really I don't think I am, as people who have watched this film with no previous knowledge of the musical talents of the late Stuart Adamson and his band Big Country, have been mesmerised by the soundtrack which fits so well and is a big part of the appeal of this film.
Restless Natives has an appealing charm, not just by getting the viewer rooting for the underdog, but also by using inexperienced actors in the lead roles, it exudes a natural credibility. Mel Smith and Nanette Newman also feature in cameo roles, but it is Friell and Mullaney's innocent portrayals that make this film.

The release of this film on DVD made a lot of people happy. Myself included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restless natives, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Mark Gledhill "sparky" (barnsley england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
what a fantastic little old movie this is , full of the feel good factor and with a cracking soundtrack by big country
this is one of those movies which if it passed you by when it came out originally is well worth a look, you will not be disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scotland + Big Country, 3 April 2005
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
If you like Scotland and the music of Big Country, then this is a must. The stunning countryside is superbly complemented by the music of Big Country - Stuart Adamson is the spirit of Scotland. The story isn't bad either!!! You can't lose with this DVD - buy at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like., 17 Nov 2009
By 
C. Arnott "Cami" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
If you're Scottish or you like Scottish humour.......Buy it!!!!
Nice to be able to get yir mitts on good Scottish films and TV
series again.
Certainly better than what STV are producing at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Scotish comedy, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Saw this on a rainy day with nothing to do when it came out in the theaters & what a joy.

Nice wide screen copy great comedy & it's just wonderful fun from start to finish.

If you want a terrific UK film here is one & yet another missing gem not available in Canada!

Sit back enjoy the humor & the fun of the Highlands, you can't go wrong with Wolfman & Clown while they commit highway robbery in their own classic style & a great sound track by Big Country, you just can't lose with this gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family film, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I hold very fond memories of this film. I watched this when it was first shown in the 80's when I was a teenager and is a funny family film. Love the music used for the film by Big Country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply one of the best films made in the UK ever., 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Quite simply one of the best films made in the UK ever. With one of the finest soundtracks ever composed for a film. One day, Hollywood will remake this as a big budget film and it will lose all it's charm. Enjoy this classic for the price of a few Jelly sandwiches !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old one but a good one., 12 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I've been meaning to get this for a long time now. Having grown up in central Scotland and been a teenager when it was made. By todays standards it may seem out of date and weak as a story, but all of this is made up for by the scenery and of course the fantastic music of Big Country. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars resrless natives, 12 Dec 2010
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
top film very funny and soundtrack great seen this film years ago and found it on dvd so bought it.still very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Restless Natives [DVD] [1985]
Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] by Michael Hoffman (DVD - 2005)
£5.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews