Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restless Natives
If you like gentle comedies with a cracking soundtrack then you'll love this. As a previous reviewer stated, the soundtrack (by Big Country)deserved an Oscar nomination. Two naughty young scottish lads cause mayhem amongst the Scottish Highlands by robbing bus loads of American tourists disguised as a clown and wolfman. On their trail an inept police force aided and...
Published on 27 May 2005

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Willing it to be better
I was growing up in Edinburgh at about the same time as the main characters and was about the same age as them but somehow I missed seeing this film when it came out. I also read the positive reviews here. So I really wanted to like this. For me the acting, production and story telling all seemed a bit amateur and the whole thing could have done with more editing. The...
Published on 25 Aug 2008 by r0ng0r0ng0


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restless Natives, 27 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
If you like gentle comedies with a cracking soundtrack then you'll love this. As a previous reviewer stated, the soundtrack (by Big Country)deserved an Oscar nomination. Two naughty young scottish lads cause mayhem amongst the Scottish Highlands by robbing bus loads of American tourists disguised as a clown and wolfman. On their trail an inept police force aided and abetted by an even more inept American policeman. Brilliant script, brilliant story, brilliant acting, brilliant soundtrack - brilliant everything!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 'feel good' film, on a small budget!, 9 Aug 2005
By 
David R. Moss "bacardibeast" (Cotswolds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I have been after this film for years!!! Finaly it's here, and it's just as good as I remember! OK, so I am a massive Big Country fan and that does make me biase, but this film just a brilliant romp from start to finish!
You start off being introduced to two bored lads, who are stuck in the worst jobs they could have imagend, in the heart of industrial Scotland. They decide to suppliment there income by highway robbery but don't have the heart, or means, to use violence.
After a shakey start, the continue to "hold up buses!" full of aging and non too intelligent American Tourists. During one hiest, one of them falls for the tour guide. Thus insues a tangled, but litte hearted and easy to follow, story of innocent minded crime and blind luck, as the two become infamous Highland legends in a Rob Roy / Robin Hood style.
As the Wolfman tries to keep his sweet-heart and the Clown revels in the status of "Scotland 17th most wanted man", things start to go wrong, and the two struggle to keep there friendship.
Finaly, good will out, and the two end the rein as legends, followed by the unworried Police and a Japanese camera crew. But as the film says "Is this the end, or just the beginning of the legend?"
The sound track is fantastic and really enhances the mood. The scenery is breath taking and the acting is simply brilliant from the two star's in there first full length film.
I just hope you will enjoy the film as much as I have. And if you want a reminder of the 'fell good' facter, look out for the Big Country ablum 'Restless Natives & rarities'.
I'll see you just outside Glencoe, on a 125, with the sound track playing and enjoying the scenery!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For all fans of British movies, Big Country & scenary!, 1 Sep 2005
By 
K. Mcdougall "keithmc" (Wokingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I've been waiting for this film for years. I had it on VHS and the DVD version is everyhting I remember and more.
A real sleeper of a movie from 1985. A simple story the keeps you entertained at every stage. Great performances from the two main actors who sadly only went on to do small TV parts.
When this arrived through my letterbox I watched it with my wife and 9yr old son and they too enjoyed.
Got to love the final scene - 'just one more time' as they ride through Edinburgh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alleluia!, 27 July 2005
By 
Paul Fidler (Ipswich, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This has been a long time coming. Funded by film 4, the film has everything... Cameos by all sorts of British Stars (Mel SMith Inc), fantastic locations, Brilliant soundtrack (now available on CD: Restless Natives and Rarities by Big Country) and some great acting and writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, yes, yessy yes, 28 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Thank god! How long has it taken for this to reach DVD. Welcome to my most favorite film.
The amount of films I have watched more than once is a very modest list. Im not a fan of over watching. This though is the exception to the rule.
The whole film is packed, with action and runs at an exciting pace, it has everything, strong story, love, rebelion, comedy and without a shadow of doubt the most amazing feel good factor that was ever captured on screen. In my humble opinion this film will never be topped or the ingrosing quality of the fim duplicated. This one is definatly a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does doing bad things give you warts?, 22 July 2007
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Like a lot of the other reviewers I was first attracted to this film because of my deep love of the band Big Country. Their music adds to and lifts this film from out of the ordinary. It is clearly shot on a budget of about 12p and the main protagonists, Ned Beatty aside, are mostly Scottish unknowns, but they do a remarkable job. Where is Teri Lally these days as she is absolutely gorgeous in this! Some of the gags are fun, but the plot does tend to groan a little under it's own pressure. Some of the fabulous shots around Edinburgh and into the Highlands, set to Stuart Adamson's soaring guitar-work will make the hearts of any fan of Scotland, it's scenery and Big Country in general, soar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The test of time, 4 April 2005
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
It's been a long wait but worth it. This quirky little film, with a mostly unknown cast, is worth seeing over and over again. It will not disappoint. However, if you don't like the film, which is impossible not to like, just listen to the superb sound track by Big Country. In fact, now that the film is finally being released on DVD, the only thing missing is the release of the soundtrack. Now that would be the icing on an already rich cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "hey you... I know you...", 14 Mar 2005
By 
M. Singleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
2 guys, 1 girl, 1 motorbike, beautiful scenery and a cracking sountrack from Big Country. Throw in a great story and fine acting from a mostly unknown cast and you get one of my favorite films of all time. About time this was released - I challenge anyone to watch it and not enjoy themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining movie, 9 April 2008
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Restless Natives is a wonderful tale of two naive young Scots who become national talking points for robbing tourist coaches on desolate Highland roads. Using a motorbike and a few masks they run riot and are hotly pursued by the police.

This film, and its great soundtrack, captures the feel of disillusioned working class Scotland in the mid-1980's and although it isn't 'big budget' it's still great fun to watch.

Why don't they make Scottish comedies like this any more...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger than something.....really big, 9 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
A most under-rated film at the time but a classic..."its more like the Lon Cheney one"..."I'm bullet proof man"..."who knows, I mean, who knows"...years since I saw it and the one liners still come back. Soundtrack should have been oscar nominated. Amazing that it was only released as b-sides on two 12 inch singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Restless Natives [DVD] [1985]
Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] by Michael Hoffman (DVD - 2005)
9.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews