Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restless Natives
If you like gentle comedies with a cracking soundtrack then you'll love this. As a previous reviewer stated, the soundtrack (by Big Country)deserved an Oscar nomination. Two naughty young scottish lads cause mayhem amongst the Scottish Highlands by robbing bus loads of American tourists disguised as a clown and wolfman. On their trail an inept police force aided and...
Published on 27 May 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
it was okay but not the kind of film I watch more than once a year
Published 1 month ago by Joseph Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restless Natives, 27 May 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
If you like gentle comedies with a cracking soundtrack then you'll love this. As a previous reviewer stated, the soundtrack (by Big Country)deserved an Oscar nomination. Two naughty young scottish lads cause mayhem amongst the Scottish Highlands by robbing bus loads of American tourists disguised as a clown and wolfman. On their trail an inept police force aided and abetted by an even more inept American policeman. Brilliant script, brilliant story, brilliant acting, brilliant soundtrack - brilliant everything!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 'feel good' film, on a small budget!, 9 Aug. 2005
By 
David R. Moss "bacardibeast" (Cotswolds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I have been after this film for years!!! Finaly it's here, and it's just as good as I remember! OK, so I am a massive Big Country fan and that does make me biase, but this film just a brilliant romp from start to finish!
You start off being introduced to two bored lads, who are stuck in the worst jobs they could have imagend, in the heart of industrial Scotland. They decide to suppliment there income by highway robbery but don't have the heart, or means, to use violence.
After a shakey start, the continue to "hold up buses!" full of aging and non too intelligent American Tourists. During one hiest, one of them falls for the tour guide. Thus insues a tangled, but litte hearted and easy to follow, story of innocent minded crime and blind luck, as the two become infamous Highland legends in a Rob Roy / Robin Hood style.
As the Wolfman tries to keep his sweet-heart and the Clown revels in the status of "Scotland 17th most wanted man", things start to go wrong, and the two struggle to keep there friendship.
Finaly, good will out, and the two end the rein as legends, followed by the unworried Police and a Japanese camera crew. But as the film says "Is this the end, or just the beginning of the legend?"
The sound track is fantastic and really enhances the mood. The scenery is breath taking and the acting is simply brilliant from the two star's in there first full length film.
I just hope you will enjoy the film as much as I have. And if you want a reminder of the 'fell good' facter, look out for the Big Country ablum 'Restless Natives & rarities'.
I'll see you just outside Glencoe, on a 125, with the sound track playing and enjoying the scenery!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For all fans of British movies, Big Country & scenary!, 1 Sept. 2005
By 
K. Mcdougall "keithmc" (Wokingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I've been waiting for this film for years. I had it on VHS and the DVD version is everyhting I remember and more.
A real sleeper of a movie from 1985. A simple story the keeps you entertained at every stage. Great performances from the two main actors who sadly only went on to do small TV parts.
When this arrived through my letterbox I watched it with my wife and 9yr old son and they too enjoyed.
Got to love the final scene - 'just one more time' as they ride through Edinburgh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does doing bad things give you warts?, 22 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Like a lot of the other reviewers I was first attracted to this film because of my deep love of the band Big Country. Their music adds to and lifts this film from out of the ordinary. It is clearly shot on a budget of about 12p and the main protagonists, Ned Beatty aside, are mostly Scottish unknowns, but they do a remarkable job. Where is Teri Lally these days as she is absolutely gorgeous in this! Some of the gags are fun, but the plot does tend to groan a little under it's own pressure. Some of the fabulous shots around Edinburgh and into the Highlands, set to Stuart Adamson's soaring guitar-work will make the hearts of any fan of Scotland, it's scenery and Big Country in general, soar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alleluia!, 27 July 2005
By 
Paul Fidler (Ipswich, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This has been a long time coming. Funded by film 4, the film has everything... Cameos by all sorts of British Stars (Mel SMith Inc), fantastic locations, Brilliant soundtrack (now available on CD: Restless Natives and Rarities by Big Country) and some great acting and writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, yes, yessy yes, 28 Aug. 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Thank god! How long has it taken for this to reach DVD. Welcome to my most favorite film.
The amount of films I have watched more than once is a very modest list. Im not a fan of over watching. This though is the exception to the rule.
The whole film is packed, with action and runs at an exciting pace, it has everything, strong story, love, rebelion, comedy and without a shadow of doubt the most amazing feel good factor that was ever captured on screen. In my humble opinion this film will never be topped or the ingrosing quality of the fim duplicated. This one is definatly a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hold up buses!, 1 Feb. 2011
By 
Jennifer "Jen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Friends Will (Vincent Friell) and Ronnie (Joe Mullaney) are two young lads living on a housing estate in Edinburgh in 80's Britain. Will, with his wart-infected fingers, is fed up with his job sweeping up rubbish in the park and Ronnie is fed up with his job working in a joke shop, which sees him freqently getting beaten up by angry mothers after selling joke products to their offspring.
Will's father played by Bernard Hill, tells him he is lucky to have a job, however, after getting over his pangs of guilt about embarking on a life of crime with Ronnie, the two friends set off on Ronnie's bike and begin holding up buses full of American tourists in the Scottish Highlands.

Donning clown and wolfman masks from the joke shop and armed with their 'weapon' - a puffer gun, also from the joke shop which shoots out curry powder, athlete's foot powder and sneezing powder - Will and Ronnie end up becoming a hit with the tourists as they hold up their buses and thank them in a very polite manner, for handing over their cash and valuables.
However, the two lads quickly come to realise that they cannot spend the money without raising suspicion and so begin distributing their riches to the locals, whilst in the process becoming a bigger tourist attraction than the Loch Ness monster, as they ride through the streets of Wester Hailes throwing handfuls of money from a bag.
Such is their popularity, tourists are booking tickets for Highland bus tours, asking if this is the bus that will be held up and Japanese film crews chase them through the highlands.
Meanwhile, the police are closing in on catching them, assisted by a CIA agent, played by Ned Beatty, who is also on holiday in Scotland. Is the end near for the clown and the wolfman? As Will and Ronnie realise it has all become too big for them, they decide on one last mission.

Restless Natives is a funny, heart-warming film relevant to the times we lived in back in the mid-80's. Of course it isn't right to tackle the problem of unemployment by turning to highway robbery, but you find yourself backing the two lads in their quest here, warming to them in the same way the bus loads of American tourists do. It is a romantic view of crime, where fantasy and escapism come to the fore.
You will be in awe, as I never fail to be, at the amazing Scottish highland scenery on display here as we follow the two lads around Glencoe on their motorbike. From misty, atmospheric and haunting scenes, to the breathtakingingly beautiful, all set to the rousing soundtrack by my favourite band Big Country, which features throughout the film. Apart from the highland scenery, there is also a great scene as the lads ride around the centre of Edinburgh with the castle in the background for their final fling, as the locals hail their highwayman heroes.
I may be biased because of my love for Scottish band Big Country, but really I don't think I am, as people who have watched this film with no previous knowledge of the musical talents of the late Stuart Adamson and his band Big Country, have been mesmerised by the soundtrack which fits so well and is a big part of the appeal of this film.
Restless Natives has an appealing charm, not just by getting the viewer rooting for the underdog, but also by using inexperienced actors in the lead roles, it exudes a natural credibility. Mel Smith and Nanette Newman also feature in cameo roles, but it is Friell and Mullaney's innocent portrayals that make this film.

The release of this film on DVD made a lot of people happy. Myself included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The test of time, 4 April 2005
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
It's been a long wait but worth it. This quirky little film, with a mostly unknown cast, is worth seeing over and over again. It will not disappoint. However, if you don't like the film, which is impossible not to like, just listen to the superb sound track by Big Country. In fact, now that the film is finally being released on DVD, the only thing missing is the release of the soundtrack. Now that would be the icing on an already rich cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "hey you... I know you...", 14 Mar. 2005
By 
M. Singleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
2 guys, 1 girl, 1 motorbike, beautiful scenery and a cracking sountrack from Big Country. Throw in a great story and fine acting from a mostly unknown cast and you get one of my favorite films of all time. About time this was released - I challenge anyone to watch it and not enjoy themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger than something.....really big, 9 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
A most under-rated film at the time but a classic..."its more like the Lon Cheney one"..."I'm bullet proof man"..."who knows, I mean, who knows"...years since I saw it and the one liners still come back. Soundtrack should have been oscar nominated. Amazing that it was only released as b-sides on two 12 inch singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Restless Natives [DVD] [1985]
Restless Natives [DVD] [1985] by Michael Hoffman (DVD - 2005)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews