Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but definitely still worth a watch.
While this film is far from the scariest Korean release and does lack a little originality on the main theme (Horrors with dolls have been running for years) this is till a great film in it's own right.

The acting is just superb and the story is very entertaining. There are a couple of good jump scares along the way, however I would describe it as creepy rather...
Published on 3 Jun. 2012 by D. Cinderey

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect too much
I really enjoyed this film. My room is filled with scary dolls so this probably affected me more than most people. It wasn't really scary, just odd and my partner guessed what was going on about 20 minutes into the film. I enjoyed it. The characters are your typical annoying, teen slasher chars, you're not bothered as they will probably die. And by the end you...
Published on 21 Dec. 2005 by raven_guest


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but definitely still worth a watch., 3 Jun. 2012
By 
D. Cinderey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
While this film is far from the scariest Korean release and does lack a little originality on the main theme (Horrors with dolls have been running for years) this is till a great film in it's own right.

The acting is just superb and the story is very entertaining. There are a couple of good jump scares along the way, however I would describe it as creepy rather than scary. As others have said, not the finest release but still something thoroughly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No dummy, 21 Aug. 2005
By 
S. Weightman "heat22000" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
Although some of the elements are in danger of being done to death within the genre (ghostly, ebony-haired females, inanimate objects turning into killers) I found this film entertaining and well directed throughout, with a couple of unpredictable twists. The premise sees a group of youngsters (don't worry, there's only one dizzy teen!) drawn to an isolated mansion to take part in a modelling project for a pair of sinister dollmakers_ or so they think. The glaring mannequinns that hang around the house like bats lend a spooky voyeuristic presence throughout, particularly in the first night scene. There is also something of The Pit and the Pendulum about it in parts, with a dark secret hidden from the guests in the darkest bowel of the building that plays a part in the conclusion. Watch alone at night for best effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Above average film but not great, 21 April 2012
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
The customer reviews ratings reveal alot about this film, all reviews are between two and four stars and this is fair. It's not one star bad but also not five star great.
I think your enjoyment of this film comes down to how much you love/fear dolls.
A South Korean film, it's an interesting mix of creepy Japanese scares and the clever twisty plot that Korean films such as a tale of two sisters have.
The problem is its not quite as creepy as the best J-horror and the plot not as clever or unpredictable as you'd hope.
But this is quite a low budget film. Imagine one of the best direct to DVD films or a film you catch late at night on the television that turns out to be great.
It's not a masterpiece, far from it, but it's a good film and you'll watch it once and really enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect too much, 21 Dec. 2005
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. My room is filled with scary dolls so this probably affected me more than most people. It wasn't really scary, just odd and my partner guessed what was going on about 20 minutes into the film. I enjoyed it. The characters are your typical annoying, teen slasher chars, you're not bothered as they will probably die. And by the end you want the lead to die as she just screams....constantly. But overall, I enjoyed it, it's not the best, but far from the worst. Maybe rent instead of buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Blood and guts but no heart, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
A rather disappointing Korean horror. The film begins with a rather clichéd set up whereby a group of people, each displaying their own quite obvious character flaws; (the narcissist, the sleaze-ball, the unhinged insane one) are invited to a huge house where most will inevitably be killed. And as usual, there's no phone signal. In spite of that, the house full of disturbing-looking dolls could have provided the set-up for a well constructed horror. There are things which just make no sense and the characters are so one-dimensional there's no real empathy for most of them when anything happens. Even the main character, as she never shows any compassion for the evident heart-break she caused through her childish carelessness. Without spoiling things, it is not clear why the accomplice went along with the sick plan. How did Mi-Na come to be like a real person as well as in doll form? Once you find out who/what is responsible for the killings, how can occurrences of the dolls moving of their own volition be explained? And what went on with the Oldboy doppleganger husband that led to him being tied up like an animal? Too many gaps and gore and not enough plot and consideration. As a fan of Japanese horrors, I was hoping for something cleverer and more engaging than what this film had to offer. And it seems like the dolls of this film have more heart than the real life-forms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good film, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst this film may not be perfect, I think it has enough to warrant it's first 5 star review.
The film is well acted, well filmed and has a good story to it. It's not particularly scary but
it has a creepy atmosphere that makes it unsettling to watch at times. It also made me feel genuinely sad for
one of the characters (this is not something that happens often!).

I suggest you give it a watch and see what you think, it might not be your cup of tea but it's a
good film and I think there is definitely something to be enjoyed within it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice freaky, 17 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
Dolls are scary...some are really scary...

Not a bad movie, but not great. It has some really scary stuff, but in overal the movie is slow and ending kinda boring.
But I liked it for the original scary dolls (and the one in there room... OOOH GOD WHY!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't take your dolls to bed tonight, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
Seligor "Seligor's Castle" (Pontybodkin, North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
Yea a little on the scary side but maybe a little too obvious as what will happen in the end.... but don't be, you'll be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
P. Norton (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
Good Koean horror film - in fact amazing - with a very good ending.

The service was also very fast and good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Unremarkable, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Richard Allen (Wellington, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Doll Master [DVD] (DVD)
Japanese horror has a pretty good reputation these days, what with The Grudge and The Ring. I'm afraid this one doesn't come very close. The concept is pretty dated; four strangers meet in an unusual house and then bad things happen to them, one by one. The twist here is that it's dolls that do the killing, using some unlikely plot elements. And the house itself never looks like much more than a film set. However, there's some good imagery and a few shocks along the way, so it just about scrapes three stars. At this price of £4 it's worth a punt, but don't expect anything remarkable in the genre of Japanese horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doll Master [DVD]
The Doll Master [DVD] by Yong-ki Jeong (DVD - 2005)
£6.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews