Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant Wait for Season 6!!!!
The gang are back and despite some of the reviews above and below...I think season 5 is fab! I began watching the series in the middle of season 5 when it was on telly and for me its clarified a lot of things. Dawson finally grows up! Pacey is a complete dream!!!! Joey loosens up a little...and as for Audrey...she is the best! If you are a Dawson's fan....you wont be...
Published on 2 Jun 2005

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amnesia?
Many people complain about season five and it's apparent "amensia" to the Joey/Pacey relationship. These two had the longest, most intense, and most romantic relationship of the series, and though they broke it off in late season four, there should have been some acknoweldgement of their relationship here.

One good thing was that Pacey got back some confidence...
Published on 30 July 2006 by Gerdie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amnesia?, 30 July 2006
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Many people complain about season five and it's apparent "amensia" to the Joey/Pacey relationship. These two had the longest, most intense, and most romantic relationship of the series, and though they broke it off in late season four, there should have been some acknoweldgement of their relationship here.

One good thing was that Pacey got back some confidence. It's refreshing to see him joking around again, after they put him in a downward spiral the end of the last season. Pacey (Josh Jackson) continues to outshine the title character in every way, with more charm and charisma, better lines, and better looks.

On another note, I think the writers did a very poor job this season. They tried to stress the "great" Dawson/Joey thing, about how their relationship was so "deep" and "complicated". Gag me. We are never shown this on screen. The two have horrible communication and generally make each other miserable. I think the writers should have listened to fans and just dropped the issue. No one really cared about them together anymore, especially me.

All other relationships pale compared to season three and four's JoeyAndPacey phenomenon. The season could have been saved with their relationship. Instead, we are force fed other couples, which all falter and seem generally boring and contrived. Bring back the P/J stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant Wait for Season 6!!!!, 2 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The gang are back and despite some of the reviews above and below...I think season 5 is fab! I began watching the series in the middle of season 5 when it was on telly and for me its clarified a lot of things. Dawson finally grows up! Pacey is a complete dream!!!! Joey loosens up a little...and as for Audrey...she is the best! If you are a Dawson's fan....you wont be disappointed!!!
Roll on Season 6!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as the last 4, 8 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Season five brings the characters into the adult world and sees the once pent up joey loosening up a little! Unfortunately mitch dies but the whole ordeal is handled in such a way that it unites the characters once again after being split apart by college.
Season 5 is well worth buying if your a fan of Dawsons creek, it holds many of the same formulas that made the previous four seasons so successful. And it allows for the charcters to grow up and experience new things. Plus joey's room mate is sooo cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show but a careless DVD boxset..., 15 Feb 2006
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Obviously an essential purchase for those of you who are completely devoted to Dawson's. In my opinion season 5, though not as strong as the first three seasons, deals well with what could have been a disaster - the gang leaving Capeside. However, Dawson's decision to leave film school is poorly conveyed and seems out of character. And from now on it really becomes Joey's show, if it wasn't before. She is the focus of nearly every episode - which is a good or bad thing depending on your point of view. The addition of quality characters such as Audrey and Charlie injects welcome comic relief.
However, I will try to review not the season, which most of the other reviews deal with, but the DVD boxset itself. Attractively produced as always, it is however a great disappointment once the discs enter your DVD player. Crystal clear sound and picture quality do not make up for some unfortunate changes and omissions.
The main problem is the music. I thought, having not watched the episodes since they were on TV a few years ago, that I wouldn't notice any changes to the music. This was not the case. Not only is much of the music replaced, but it is often replaced with completely irrelevant songs which destroy the mood of the scene. This was so jarring in many places that I became extremely frustrated, my attention drawn to the soundtrack when I should have been absorbed in a typical Joey-Dawson dilemma.
For example, at the end of the second episode, where Joey and Dawson stand in the airport, the future of their relationship hanging in the balance, Dawson having asked Joey an important question, the original song used was the beautiful 'Question' by Old 97s. In the DVD edition it is replaced by a too-loud, too-rocky song which ruins the moment. Typical episodes have just under half of the songs used in them replaced by different ones - some have more like three quarters of them replaced.
Finally, the lack of extras is extremely disappointing - to release a boxset to fans as loyal as those of Dawson's Creek, with absolutely NO extras on it, verges on being insulting.
So all in all, it's worth buying but could have been so much better with a little effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great with lots of twists, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
great keeps on the end of your seat a recommend to anyone who watched back i n the late 90s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
this was easy to find, was what i was looking for, was good quality with no hassels what so ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Great service. Quick and the product was of good quality - no problem's playing the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not great not terrible..., 18 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This series isnt that bad... yes it isnt the best (SERIES 3) but the characters develop and Chad playing the character of Charlie is perfect. The best episodes of the series are the ones with him in it. The death of Mitch is sad and moving and I think this series manages to bring all the characters together regardless of them beign in different places. Not to mention Joeys roomate Audrey is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't ask for better service!, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
No problems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005]
Dawson's Creek: Season 5 [DVD] [2005] by James Van der Beek (DVD - 2005)
£14.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews