Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tru-ly great value entertainment.
When I first heard that Eliza Dushku had passed on a Buffy spin-off in order to try something new, I was hugely dissapointed. However, having finally seen that "something new" I am really glad that she did. Tru Calling is a fantastic show: Pacy, twisty and utterly captivating.
The show reminds me a lot of Quantum Leap. Each new episode brings new characters that...
Published on 8 Aug 2005 by Paul Bacon

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, yes, great, no
Eliza Dushku is a genuine talent, as fans of her previous work well know, and she brings the expected energy but also some subtlety to her role. There is nothing wrong with the supporting cast either. The weaknesses with the show are off-camera. The directing is 'shooting by numbers' stuff. Although the show develops some neat motifs, like the phone-ringing, the directing...
Published on 11 Sep 2007 by Mad about Religion


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tru-ly great value entertainment., 8 Aug 2005
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
When I first heard that Eliza Dushku had passed on a Buffy spin-off in order to try something new, I was hugely dissapointed. However, having finally seen that "something new" I am really glad that she did. Tru Calling is a fantastic show: Pacy, twisty and utterly captivating.
The show reminds me a lot of Quantum Leap. Each new episode brings new characters that Tru must engage with in order to, effectively, save the day. The introduction of Tru's nemesis (and opposite) towards the end of the First Season cemented this feeling. However, Tru Calling is by no means a Quantum Leap clone. The show is as much about Tru and her life as it is about the people she must save.
A word of warning: The last two discs of this set contain the second season, which was cancelled after only six episodes. These six episodes are, in my opinion, some of the best in the entire series. However, be prepared to be very disappointed by the lack of closure that the last episode of Season Two brings. So many loose ends are left untied. It's not quite as frustrating as the last episode of Twin Peaks, but it's nearly there.
This DVD set is brilliant value for money. 8 discs for half the price I paid for most of my (6 disc) Buffy box sets when they were released! The special features are entertaning. The deleted scenes don't really add anything new (do they ever?!?) but are fun to watch. Similarly the 4 documentaries (3 about Season one and 1 about Season Two) are fairly standard, but also highly watchable. You also get a music video of the show's theme tune and audio commentaries. All this for less than 30!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help Me!, 27 Feb 2005
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Tru Calling is an excellent example of a television show that was given the chance to flourish. The first season starts of quite slow yet interesting with some stand out episodes like "Daddy's Girl" and "The Longest Day". Eliza Dushku fabulously makes Tru seem loveable and sympathetic, whilst Shawn Reeves's character(Harrsion)lights up every episode with his often halarius antics! The first season takes a while to get 'into the swing of things' but the introduction of Jack Harper (played by the haunting Jason Priestly) stirs the plot to the nth degree! - From his initial introduction Jack and Tru have a boiling chemistry that sizzles on screen. The Season finale is a real shocker. From the moment the opening credits begin to the beautiful cover of "In the Air Tonight" the show presents to the world the magnitude of it strength! This episode left me waiting on the edge of my seat, begging for more! - Overall sealing my entire opinion of the show : brilliance.
Upon hearing of the DVD release it was already 'set in stone'that i would buy it the day it came out! Boasting Tru in widescreen not to mention commentaries(ED,SR & JP), 23 deleted scenes, featurettes and easter eggs pretty much sealed the deal for Tru all the way!
The saddening news of the shows cancelation is only lessened by the notion of this DVD including the 6 Season 2 episodes produced! - After all the American DVD is Called TRU CALLING : THE COMPLETE FIRST SEASON whilst ours is called TRU CALLING : THE COMPLETE SERIES. - So theres always hope! All i can say is choose this DVD by its merits - Great show, loads of extras(*cough*charmed*cough*)and fantastic value!
- Tru can save me anyday, let her save you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tru Calling - One of the Best!, 6 Aug 2005
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Tru Davies (Dushku) is a University graduate who is aiming at medical school, after her internship falls through she gets a job at the morgue to impress prospective schools. Davis (Galifianakis) is the doctor in charge of the morgue who takes on Tru. During her first evening at work, she discovers she has a very strange ability.... Bodies ask her for help and she then relives the day. The series then follows Tru's attempts to save the people who ask for her help with the assistance of Davis and her younger, mischievous brother Harrison (Reaves). All the while she struggles to keep the rest of her life together, including trying to keep her successful but druggie sister Meredith
(Collins) on the wagon.
Tru Calling™ is one of the best series I have ever seen. The stories are excellent with the characters learning, and growing throughout the series in an organic fashion. A synthesis of high calibre writing and top notch acting make the characters relationships of the most believable type, especially those between Tru and Davis and Tru and Harrison. All of the component elements from wardrobe & lighting through to make up and set dressing / design are of level rarely seen in television and of a level only seen in the crème de la crème of Hollywood films.
The acting quality throughout the series is of the highest quality, from the regular cast through the guest stars everyone does an excellent job. Eliza Dushku does a brilliant job from the get go, leading a series for the first time and having such an intense schedule (she is on screen for 38 mins of every 41 min episode) and further cements her reputation as one of the most talented young actresses in Hollywood. The remainder of the regular cast, especially Galifianakis and Reaves are also very good actors and thrive on the quality of the writing.
As the season develops and we become more familiar with Tru's talents. Feldman and the writing staff have no problem playing with format and are always introducing ideas to keep the format fresh. With the introduction of Jack (Priestley) in the latter half of the season, a further story device is added which once again adds to the excellence of the show.
Further, it is a travesty that this series was culled from the schedules after just a season and a , as had it been marketed correctly and given the timeslot it deserved, it could have easily been fighting with The O.C, Alias, 24 and The West Wing as one of the highest rated shows on TV and should have been a springboard for both, Feldman, to join Joss Whedon and J.J. Abrahms in the group of creative talents whose abilities are positively encouraged by the networks and Dushku, who would have been able to use Tru Calling™ to launch her career into the A list as Sarah Michelle Gellar did with Buffy and Jennifer Garner did with Alias .
In conclusion, Tru Calling is an excellent series, with a highly talented and gorgeous leading lady, a brilliant supporting cast, the best writing around and movie quality values. It manages to combine drama, mystery, science fiction and hints of comedy in way that is very rare on TV. It is a must for all fans of quality television everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled in its prime, 6 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Tru Calling is an entertaining premise. Tru, played by the talented Eliza Dusku (Faith of Buffy The Vampire Slayer) works the evening shift in a morgue whilst waiting to apply to Medical School. It is while she is there that she realises that she has a unique ability, whereby people who died before thier time ask for her help and the day rewinds in order that she can alter events and save them.
The first season set up the dynamics of the relationships with Tru having witnessed her mothers death as a child, being detached from her father who has remarried and is closer to his new children than his old, her sister is an career woman with a coke habit and her brother has a gambling habit and is constantly in trouble and mixing with the wrong crowd. We also get to see Tru struggle to come to terms with her gift but eventually receive the assistance of Harrison her brother and Davis her boss (who has excellent comedic timing and plays his role perfectly), whom she confides in.
The main theme of the show however is whether Tru's ability is the right course of action. If people are fated to die, then should she go back in time to save them? What are the consequences for the future caused by someone destined to die living? And this is where the series really picks up towards the end of season one.
We are introduced to Jack, who without giving away too much of the plot, is effectively Tru's opposite. She goes back in time to save lives, but he goes back to keep events from changing and ensure that destiny is fulfilled as it was meant to be. There on we are treated to many plot twists and far more exciting episodes as Tru has not only the challenge of saving the deceased, but also someone trying to stop her.
So why only 4 stars for this series? Well in part due to the abrupt cancellation of the series six epsiodes into season two. For me it had really hit its stride and when watching the dvd you really are left stranded and full of frustration at not knowing what the intention was with these chararcters and the over riding plot. I was actually starting to question whether Tru was in fact doing the right thing.
The DVD was well packaged, but it could have had some form of feature by its creator to give the fans some sort of insight as to where they would have gone with the series - some form of satisfying closure, which is what it is missing.
The special features were also lacking, some good commentries and a few deleted scences, however I do accept that with a cancelled series we can only be offered limted extras and should be grateful that we received the DVD issue at all.
I would recommend this series, it really does hook you in by the mid to end of seaon one and the writing, particularly on the relationships of the core characters, for me was excellent.
If you are a fan of Buffy, Angel, Alias, Charmed or even Quantam Leap - then this series is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Pleasant Surprise, 25 Aug 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
After another day over-spending on films on Amazon I was looking for something to watch while eating my microwave dinners and I came across Tru Calling.But I had my doubts.

A show that gets cancelled after a season or so can't be very good right? Plus it crossed my mind maybe in my mid thirties I may be a bit old for this fantasy lark.And Eliza Dushku I thought at the time I had only seen in Bring It On (I didn't make the connection with the girl in True Lies and This Boys Life!).V pretty but could she really carry a show?
But at the end of the day the price of under a tenner was too hard to resist.

Of course my first concern should have been immediately discounted as studio executives famously don't have a clue.As proved yet again by this show!As for my second you are never too old for well written,well directed and well acted drama and Tru Calling is all three.A word for the support cast who are all very good and very very watchable, especially Shawn Reaves who I thought worked superbly well with Eliza as her wayward brother.
But it is Ms Dushku's show.As another reviewer noted she is on screen for virtually the entire running time yet she never hits a false note which requires a lot more than good looks and charm,though of course she has both.
All in all quality U.S. television.
Not sure if its the best ten pounds I ever spent but certainly the best ten pounds I ever spent online!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She has the power to change the future by reliving the past, 14 Jun 2005
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Her destiny is calling.....
What if you had the power to change the future.....
by reliving the past?
For Tru Davies,it's not just a possibility.......it's a calling
Tru Calling is a fantastic paranormal series in which the beautiful and talented rising star Eliza Dushku plays Tru Davies who takes on a job working the graveyard shift at the city morgue when her internship at the local hospital falls through.On the anniversary of her mother's death Tru is alone in the morgue and is shocked when a dead woman opens her eyes and says 'Help me',Tru is then propelled back through time to her waking moment that same day,only now she possesses the ability to change the fate of those wheeled into the morgue the night before - if she can
find them before tragedy strikes.
Tru Calling is a unique series full of twists and turns,shocks and thrills,and great storylines to keep you guessing.
Throughout the first season Tru comes to terms with her ability and is guided by her mentor and boss,Davis.Calling or curse,love it or hate it,Davis assures her she's the right person for the job,she was chosen for a reason.Tru's other ally is her brother Harrison who takes a while to come to terms with her 'gift'. In the second season Tru and Jack battle against each other to compete for people's lives,involving a new nemesis whom Davis and Tru are unaware of.Tru begins med school and starts to wonder if she can balance her life,can she cope with med school and her secret job?

Unfortunately the second season was cut short due to the show's cancellation in the US.Thirteen episodes were originally ordered but was then cut back to six.In the six episodes produced the writing has improved dramatically and proves itself as a worthy TV show but were shelved before even given a chance.
Towards the end of the first season,in a late season twist Tru's 'opposite' makes an appearance to put a stop to Tru's meddling,to 'preserve fate'.Tru's nemesis Jack believes those who are fated to die should stay that way.She saves lives,and he.....takes them.Aswell as the shocking revelations of not only Jack and matters within her family,Tru is devasted as the season finale ends in tragedy as she goes head to head with Jack.But as the season reaches a dramatic climax we see that Jack's meddling has only made her stronger.
The series is amazing and is well written with fantastic opening credits and a great theme tune and a great cast.Buffy fans will be enthralled as we see such a contrast of characters from the character of Faith which Eliza played in the Buffy and Angel saga in which she was portrayed as a bad-ass vampire slayer with attitude and a lust for the kill to Tru Davies a young caring,intelligent woman who not only will do anything for her loved one's,but will stop at nothing to save those who were once fated to die.
There are 26 episodes in total and are spread out across eight discs containing 23 deleted scenes with optional commentary by creator Jon Harmon Feldman,optional episode commentary by crew and cast,'Somebody Help Me' music video and four featurettes.The set is nicely presented featuring Eliza Dushku on the spine and Jason Prestley and Eliza Dushku on the front cover of the set.

Featurettes include 'Finding The Calling - The pilot','The Tru Path - Season One','Evil Comes Calling - A Late Season Twist','Tru Calling - Opposing Forces'.
Exceptional episodes include Pilot,Star-crossed,Morning After,Murder In The Morgue,Reunion,The Longest Day,Valentine,Daddy's Girl,D.O.A.,Two Weddings and A Funeral,Grace,In The Dark,The Last Good Day and Enough.
This one in a million show will leave you DYING for more!
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tru Calling - a True Gem, 23 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Tru calling is a rare suprise - a TV series that entertains consistently show after show. I bought the series after reading the description and although I had never seen it, it has a similar premise to 'Early Edition' a show that we also enjoyed.
Tru Calling is great family viewing and our teenage children and 'the oldies' sit down and watch it together. A real treat you should not miss (none of us can understand why the series was pulled).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminally cut down in its prime, 10 Aug 2007
By 
Kermit (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant show with something for everyone.

I got this box set for my birthday knowing very little about the show other than it having the wonderful Eliza Dushku as the star and watched the first episode with my partner. Usually we have completley different tastes in telly and disagree on what makes a good show but with this show we were both completley blown away!

The first is a brilliant start that keeps you on the edge of your seat all the way through. The story lines are generally of a high quality with only a couple of episodes being below the grade (they are still good episodes just not the really high quality that you get used to with this show.

The acting in this show is the strongest i have ever seen in a show! ALL of the regular characters are brilliant with no exceptions! Eliza Dushku plays the 22 year old Tru brilliantly and you really empathise with her life and struggles caused by her 'gift'. Shawn Reaves provides a great counterpoint to eliza and brings alot of the laughs to the show (without ever spoiling the atmosphere of the episode) Zach Galifianakis is truly inspired as the geeky morgue boss Davis who helps Tru to save people and Jason Priestley who comes in to the show late in the first series plays the part of jack brilliantly and steals a lot of the scenes he shares with Eliza.

That this show was cut before really finding its format is criminal i have watched all the first season and the first 3 of the 6 season 2 episodes and the 3 episodes from season 2 are the strongest of them all so far (barring maybe season one's finale.

I urge everyone to buy this box set and after you have contact FOX and beg them to get it back on the air!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that US TV controllers understand NOTHING, 9 Aug 2006
By 
John Wyant (Romsey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This series proves that talent, good ideas, good writing, all count for absolutely NOTHING as far as the people who control US TV are concerned. I suppose we should be "grateful" that they even commissioned a second series - think of all the excellent US TV series that didn't even make it that far: Brimstone, Firefly, Odyssey 5, Wonderfalls, to name but a few. But the really cruel thing about this series is that, based on the 6 episodes from the second season that we get on this DVD set, things were getting even better.

The first season was immediately engaging - how many of us have wished we could re-live a day and do things differently? And of course the stakes are much higher for Tru - by the rules of the show, someone's life is always on the line. But not content with that (after all, the '7 Days' series covered pretty much similar ground), they had the master stroke of introducing Jack, who does everything in his power to retain the status quo and undo Tru's good work.

This truly (no pun intended!) pushes the series into new areas, not least because it blurs the line between good and evil - Jack comes up with some interesting questions as to whether Tru is actually helping by intervening, or simply messing up the natural order of things. Not that we're in any doubt that Tru is the heroine - it's just that I can't remember any other series where you can so fully understand, and even sympathise with, the 'baddie's motives.

The first season ends with a suitable showdown, and then we get those precious 6 episodes of season 2. This is the real tragedy of this series. Personally, I would say that each of these episodes exceeds the best of the first season. The writers are obviously having fun, playing around with the format, bursting with ideas. The tension between Tru and Jack increases, the 'conspiracy' that links Jack to Tru's father comes to the fore, you get to REALLY sympathise with Jack at one point, and then - it ends. I cannot understand how the TV controllers could see these episodes and not want the series to continue. I really want to know how the writers would have developed the storyline further, because, on the strength of what we see here, there were plenty of places still to go.

To add insult to injury, the featurettes that you get with this set, show the producers and actors having a genuine enthusiasm for the whole project. Just like Joss Whedon and the cast of 'Firefly', you can see that everyone was committed to it, having fun, wanting it to succeed.

Even the deleted scenes are worth watching, if only for the optional commentaries that give reasons why the scenes were cut - these also show how much care and attention went into making the series.

So - buy the DVD, enjoy it, but be prepared to shake your fist in anger at the end of the last episode, saying 'why, why, why did it have to end?'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% pure Tru Eliza Dushku goodness!!!, 12 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I was sceptical as anyone would be when it comes to buying the DVD to a show that was AXED! My original and shallow reason was I love Eliza Dushku, but upon buying this and watching it I got to love the show and curse those FOX WANKERS! who axed this. The series starts out a bit slow echoing shows like Quantum Leap, First Edition and movies like Groundhog Day but after this feeling has gone you get to see how smart and clever the episode are. If nothing else this is really good value, the complete season one and the first and last episodes of the second season and series. Try out these shows that were unjustly axed:
FIREFLY, THE LONE GUNMEN, ANGEL, POINT PLEASANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD]
Tru Calling - The Complete Series [DVD] by Eliza Dushku (DVD - 2005)
18.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews