Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sensational taste
A trully marvellous film that I watched by accident on a plane to the States. I love this film and can watch it repeatedly. Mid-life crisis meets road-movie meets stag weekend, all with the sophisticated backdrop of a wine-tasting trip. It is quite hilarious in parts but also dry as a bone. The groom to be having to make up an excuse for his broken nose decides his best...
Published on 27 July 2009 by Re Shepherd

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... player had blown up so that I didnt just waste 121 minutes of my life watching yet another highly ...
I wish that my dvd player had blown up so that I didnt just waste 121 minutes of my life watching yet another highly rated pile of dross.
"the funniest film of the year " by GQ magazine ?
I didnt find anything funny at all.
"Truly unmissable " Daily Mirror
Obviously a fake review.
"corker" the independant
WHAT ARE THEY...
Published 13 days ago by Mr Underhill


‹ Previous | 115 16 1720 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sideways (Amazon Instant Video)
Watch then watch again and again ;food (and wine) for thought ; on many levels .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sideways [DVD] (DVD)
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Silvio (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sideways [DVD] (DVD)
Ok so I'm aware that I only paid a total of £1.27 for this DVD, and £1.26 of that was p&p, and maybe that should've set my expectations accordingly, but the fact remains that the DVD supplied played for 21minutes before going into the whole skip/ freeze/ skip routine, and despite repeated wiping of the disc with an approved DVD-cleaning cloth the problem remained. Fast forwarding past the affected part didn't solve it either as the same thing occurred a few minutes later. Film was unwatchable. Could probably have put it down to experience but since contacting the seller via Amazon the following day i have received no reply from them whatsoever. Presumably the profit margin on a one penny DVD doesn't leave a lot over to cover customer service... Overall pretty unfulfilling experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable film., 16 Feb. 2006
By 
George (Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sideways [DVD] (DVD)
What a great film. Its one of those types of films where you do not need to exert too much effort to watch. This rolls along in a comical and actually quite sad way.
Very enjoyable believable characters. Great film. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype., 8 May 2006
This review is from: Sideways [DVD] (DVD)
I so looked forward to seeing this film, having heard and read good things about it. However, like coffee, no matter how hard I tried to like it, I just couldn't. The 'road trip' friendship theme was neither thought-provoking or interesting enough to capture my imagination. The storyline had nothing to offer apart from two guys driving around vineyards, meeting equally dull people and tasting wine. I feel that this film could have been so much better had the characters had more depth and a better script to work with. As disappointing as opening a corked bottle of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars yeah not bad but, 24 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Sideways [DVD] (DVD)
its not that great either. there are a few home truths and chuckle moments but I think it's over rated and certainly doesnt deserve the 5 star on the top. a film about some wine drinking old guys that doesn't really have any great poignancy or humour, kind of flat like some of the wine they prattle on about!!
oh come on, cheer up, have a biscuit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These are people you don't care about, 31 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sideways [DVD] (DVD)
This film was highly recommended to me and so I was really looking forward to watching it. The two men in the film were boring, pretentious and selfish. One who plays around, and proud of it. We are expected to sympathise with him because he's a nice guy. But he isn't. He's sloppy, self-interested and boorish. His fiancé would be better off without him. His smaller and emotionally damaged friend needs a good kick up the axxx. The women were slightly better, but it’s such a slow, slow, slow film. I did not care about the characters at all. I'm interested in wine, but even this feature of the film did nothing to haul it up out of the depths of utter tedium. Not funny. Not anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't wake me until its over, 23 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Sideways [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because of the reviews on the cover. It looked funny. I swear I actually checked the right film was in the box after watching it. It's pretentious rubbish, and the only laugh it gets is when it resorts to slapstick. Not funny, not good, wildly overrated. Waste your money elsewhere.

I was just trawling through some films I'd watched when I chanced upon this review that I wrote a few years ago! I loathed this film so much, I just wanted to say it all over again. Pretentious tripe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Relate to the characters or simply regret your choice!!, 18 July 2006
By 
R. Pooley "Movie Lover" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sideways [DVD] (DVD)
As a young man that takes quite a keen interest in film, reading reviews of Sideways led me to be quite excited by the time I sat down to watch it at the cinema...I have not been less impressed with a film since the release of Titanic (which contrary to popular opinion i thought was too full of holes to even entertain). The two main characters were empty and lifeless and I really cannot believe that anybody under the age of 40 would find most of their exploits even remotely amusing. BEWARE of good reviews of this film, it is very much a matter of experience: if you can understand what the characters are going through, you might like it...you might even love it! But unless this is the case, don't expect a barrel of laughs, in fact don't even expect to stay awake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big disappointment, 5 July 2006
This review is from: Sideways [DVD] (DVD)
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the book I was really looking forward to this film. The actors were well cast, and I loved Jack's Californian accent but the film completely missed the spirit of the book, which was fun, wild, cynical and full of life. The film was too low key, and full of emotional angst which just wasn't there in such an obvious fashion on reading the book. Even if I hadn't been so disppointed about how this movie measured up, it was still rubbish. Not funny. Mildly depressing without any poignancy. Corny stuff, not recommended at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1720 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sideways [DVD]
Sideways [DVD] by Alexander Payne (DVD - 2005)
£3.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews